We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian & vegan food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Rody's Roadside Organic

Ras Rody's Roadside Organic
West End Road / One Love Drive, Negril, Jamaica
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 135 restaurants in Negril
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian & vegan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ras Rody's was great! We had been looking for some awesome Jamaican vegetarian food, and it was at Ras Rodys we found it!

It's a little roadside cafe in a makeshift shelter, where the food is cooked in front of you from entirely vegetarian ingredients. We had soup to start, then a container full of rice, veggie curry, and veggie stew, plus a few other vegetables that I don't recall the name of!

We sat at the 'bar' to eat our delicious lunch, watching the chef (I think she is Rody's daughter) prepare and cook her specialities. We left with full bellies! We plan on going again before we leave Jamaica.

If you are vegetarian or vegan, and have struggled to find food in Jamaica, then this is one place you'll be glad you found. We're from London, and if Rody's was in a London market, there'd be a massive line up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    78
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Been here twice and it never disappointing! Rody took care of us the first time out and the following his sin Shadrock took care of us. Best place for some sip and festival! i have made it a goal of mine to always come back to this spot whenever in Negril! Big ups and one love to all of the Ras Rody family!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So Glad We Stopped There!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a wonderful place for local vegetarian food. Shadrock, our cook and server the three times we ate there was so enjoyable to talk to. We learned about the food he cooked and how the different foods help our bodies. It was just so comfortable to sit and eat at the little roadside restaurant while visiting with the locals who stopped by. Ros Rody's was one of our very favorite places!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have wanted to try this place for over a year and finally did. It was good. The lady made a box sampler of everything she had that day along with a cup of soup for $8. It was all very good. Not sure if I would go back or not

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice people and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If there's a catagory for the smallest restauant in the world this place has to be in the top ten. We were staying at Banana Shout and Rodys was closed the first two days that we were there and we thought we might not get to try it, but on the third night they opened up. What a cool little place! Rody himself was in the states but he left it the very capable hands of his family. We ordered 2 samplers to go and sat with the family for a while sipping some of the best soup ever. His son explained everything about the food and loaded up two huge containers of food that we brought back to our room and devoured everything. I am far from a vegetarian but this was one of the best meals I've had and coupled with very gracious service. It's become one of our favorites among all of the great places on the West End.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ras Rody's Roadside Organic also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Ras Rody's Roadside Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Rody's Roadside Organic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.