We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alittle be of Italy in Negril” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Da Gino

Ristorante Da Gino
Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
18769574918
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 166 Restaurants in Negril
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Alittle be of Italy in Negril”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We first went to Ristorante in 2010 and were amazed with the Italian food. Sitting outside feeling the sea breeze and enjoying one of the best Italian meals I have ever had. We went there 2 in 2010 and 2 in 2011 and we be heading there again next month. You know you are on the 7 Mile Beach in Negril but you also feel like you are in one amazing Italian Restaurants in the States. Sit back enjoy the wine the breeze and the friendly service you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    7
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time on this one!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Horrible food - the linguine with lobster was spaghetti, the "cream sauce" was watered milk and the rigatoni was hard. The side dish of linguine had no sauce at all. Service was equal to the food. We had to ask for ice cubes for the "warm" water. We have no problem paying for a good meal but the patties for $1 down the beach are fine cuisine compared to this restaurant! Also, for an outdoor restaurant, very smokey.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivi148, Owner at Ristorante Da Gino, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
We Thank you for your review and we are terribly sorry for the experience. However because of this review we were able to correct the problems that you had encountered. I do assure you that when you return, We promise a better value for your money. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stunning Atmosphere - Forgettable Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Stopped by this restaurant for dinner. It is located right on the beach and the atmosphere is romantic and pretty. We literally sat at tables in the sand looking out at the ocean. I loved that. Unfortunately, I had the ravioli which was undercooked and completely forgettable. The pinot gregio I had was not good either. The restaurant is overpriced and relies heavily on its atmosphere to compensate. I am sure there are better places for Italian (even in Negril).

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We went to this is restaurant the other night and really enjoyed our food. Great Italian dishes! We especially loved our waitress, Denise! She is so kind. Now we hated the white man who was running the restaurant. He was so rude to the staff, especially Denise! The restaurant was also deserted and very pricey. But food was great!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We were advised to try Gino by the manager of the place we were staying. It was so good, we ate breakfast here twice and dinner three times! It was reasonably price and we were given huge portions. Unfortunately, there is no advertising, very little road or beach visability and would've been hard to find without the recommendation. It's too bad they can't get themselves "out there" because they were fantastic! And our night waitress, Denise was the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Gino also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Ristorante Da Gino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Da Gino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.