We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet retreat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khus Khus Negril

Save Saved
You added Khus Khus Negril to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Khus Khus Negril
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Road | PO Box 3148, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 92 hotels in Negril
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“quiet retreat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

walking distance to the beach, conveniently located in between shops, beach and other recommended cafes. The rooms with the dark wood 4 poster beds are ideal, clean swimming pool and a very relaxed atmosphere, try the home made jerk chicken.
Breakfasts were excellent and staff were welcoming and friendly. Ideal for families, groups or couples who want privacy and a quiet retreat. Away from the commercial hustle and bustle but more real Jamaican culture can be experienced here - especially within a few minutes walk with live local music in the evenings.
The only Jamaican owned hotel in Negril.

Room Tip: Go for the 4 poster bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Khus Khusin Negril an intimate hotel, where the service is paramount to none was the place of our two week vacation. As a returning Jamaican who prefers to vacation in my Island home, staying at Khus Khus with my daughter and extended family was a trip that was worth it. The rooms and bathrooms were large and spacious, they were clean and well maintained, the beautiful flowers and various trees (breadfruit, mangoe, ackee) on the property made the space enchanting and our pictures come to life. I heard a breadfruit drop on the house top one morning and it brought back memories long forgotten.

Our food was made to order and the chef made us lick our fingers on many occassions. One evening after eating the banana and dumpling, we started talking about back in the day when left over food was fried and how good it used to be. Would you believe the next morning we had it. Chef keep it up.

The staff at Khus Khus understands the meaning of the word "service". Whether you wanted something to wet the appetite, kindled the spirit of adventure, soothe the soul or just wanted to hear what was going on on the Island some one knew the answer. Staff you have hit the jackpot with the service you provided to us. My sister in law is still talking about her birthday. We appreciated it.

We walked the community daily and had good experiences with the people. They offered us lifts on their taxi bikes, encouraged us to buy their mangoes, guineap, sweet sap, cain anything they were selling. We walked to the beach from Khus Khus in the mornings and enjoyed the exercise but most importantly enjoyed the seven miles stretch of white sand beach. There is none like it.

Khus Khus is not a large hotel that have the speed of lightening with no substance. They have service, peace, tranquility. They have a group of staff that will see to your needs. They have the personalized touch that one can miss when you are caught up in the daily hustle and bustle of where you call home. Go to Khus Khus and soothe your spirit, wet the appetite and calm your soul.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This was our first trip to Jamaica. Upon first arrival we were greeted by hotel security, the hotel chef, and the housekeeping staff. It was a nice feeling to have such personal attention and to be welcomed by name. I loved how Ms, Purnell greeted us in her pink uniform...something you rarely get here in the states. We were immediately offered a room upgrade by Heather, the general manager, upon check in and gladly accepted it... with no additional charge. We stayed there for a week and had a blast. The rooms are represented exactly the way that they are on the website. We had a very clean room that smelled wonderfully and was always just the right temperature with an air conditioner that adequately chilled the entire room. In addition to air conditioning, the rooms are equipped with refrigerators and in-room safes which we used daily when we left the hotel and happily returned to all of our belongings right where we left them. You shouldn't have a computer in Jamaica but if you have anal employees or employers that demand that you take it with you (like I did), there is wireless internet access in the common areas of the hotel that is free of charge. There are no phones in the room but upon check in we were offered a mobile phone (free of charge) that was programmed with phone numbers for the hotel and hotel manager and staff that was also capable of international calls. We were able to use it all over the island from Negril to Ocho Rios with no problems.

My fiance is a chef so we made it a point to try a lot of different food from a lot of different places: The Rockhouse, Rick's Cafe, Idle Awhile, Sweet Spice, Margaritaville, local vendors, etc. but found the best food right at the hotel's restaurant. The food is authentic and cooked fresh. The chef takes his time to cook each order with care so it is advisable to order in advance. We often put in our order for dinner at breakfast before we left the hotel for the day and it would be ready by the time we returned. Compared to the prices of the other restaurants, there is nothing pricey about this menu.

I strongly encourage you to find a taxi driver when you get there and get their card so that you can call them whenever you want transportation to the beach, cliffs or other restaurants. That way, you can make sure that you are paying reasonable prices. Also, you can always ask Paulette (or any other staff member) who will tell you just how much you should pay for each trip to wherever you want to go. Another option is to rent a moped, if you are feeling adventurous, or a car. Our next door neighbors rented a moped and they loved it and parked it right on the hotel grounds with no problems or fear that it would be stolen.

I highly recommend that you take advantage of the perk of their sister resort, Idle Awhile, and utilize their part of 7 mile beach. It's wonderful and that way you don't have to worry about hanging out at Margaritaville all day. The food and drinks at Idle Awhile are excellent. I highly recommend a Mango Colada or a Dirty Banana! Also, make sure you get some jerk chicken and/or jerk lobster from the stand across the street from Idle Awhile. The stand is called The Best in the West. Best Jerk (other than the Jerk chicken at Khus Khus) that I have tasted.

I am appalled to read the reviews of some of the guests that did not enjoy their stay, especially the guest Deanna. I DO NOT agree with her assessment of the hotel nor with the notion that any of the hotel employees are thieves. We felt very safe in the hotel and always saw at least 2 security guards on the grounds at night; one patrolling and one at the front gate. During our stay, the hotel was filled with guests - families with children and couples. Everyone was having a great time there while we were there. Nobody seemed to miss their TV because there was too much to do! Even some of the high end hotels like the Rockhouse located in the Cliffs don't have TVs.

The staff is excellent. I love the manager Heather, Ms. Purnell who pampered our room each day, both the day and night hotel security guards, Marcia (hope she had that baby!) and of course Paulette who mixed up our drinks and happily served our food whether at the restaurant or in our room and NEVER short changed us. We paid every way we could: credit card, US dollars, JA dollars, and travelers cheques and always received the right change back. As a matter of fact, we often paid with big bills so that we could get US dollars back to use for cabs and tips. The hotel even used an exchange rate that was higher than Rick's and Margaritaville.

It was great to be in an atmosphere where everybody knew your name and could give you the juice on the local flavor and the happening spots.

We would definitely stay here again and loved our trip so much that we are planning our wedding there next July!! So we will see you again soon Heather! :)

Lana and Bobby

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Very fine staff all around. Luv ya HEATHER. Your fine guest LaToya and Gavin Blackwood.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I went to Negril for a wedding, however only booked our accomodation last minute and came across Khus Khus Negril. Its not in the centre, but is in a good location within a short taxi ride to tourist destinations, however it is not within walking distance.

The staff are extremly friendly and polite and are willing to assist with anything. The rooms are cleaned every day with freshly washed bed linen. The only thing I can honestly fault the hotel for is the food, which unfortunately took ages to come - well we ordered a fry up (eggs, hash browns, toast) and it took an hour to come and wasn't worth the wait, so I wouldn't recommend it.

This hotel is an escape if you live in the City and want a relaxing break. Ideal for couples. For the overall package in terms of location, staff, cleanliness and price I would say it was worth giving it ago. It depends what you want out of a holiday and your budget.

I don't ever write reviews and have stayed in some amazing 5 star hotels, but the staff were so pleasant that I had to in this case!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The location and staff are the best. My daughter and I were treated like royalty. Close walk to the beach and a short cab ride to the cliffs. A great overall place to stay. We plan on returning in July and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

This place is really run down, gross and nasty. It is located in a shady part of Negril. no where near the beach or cliffs, you have to take cab anywhere you go, not within walkin distance. Negril is so pretty and there are other hotels right on the beach. Do yourself a favor and do not book your vaca here. Plus who writes back to the negative reviews? to me thats shady enough in itself...STAY AWAY FROM KHUS KHUS!! its awful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khus Khus Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khus Khus Negril

Also Known As:
Khus Khus Negril Hotel
Khus Khus Negril Hotel Negril
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3148, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Khus Khus Negril 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the trendy west end of Negril, where old fashioned meets new casual Jamaican environment. We offer 27 rooms stylishly decorated and moderately priced. There is a delectable gourmet restaurant, full service bar, Jamaican themed spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Khus Khus Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khus Khus Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.