We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An after thought on Ivan's upon my second visit two months later” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivan's Bar & Restaurant At Catcha Falling Star Hotel

Ivan's Bar & Restaurant At Catcha Falling Star Hotel
West End Road, Negril 3022, Jamaica
876-9570390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 166 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Baltimore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An after thought on Ivan's upon my second visit two months later”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I returned to Negril two months after my first trip in March. After many disappointing dining experiences I decided to return to Ivan's. The staff was just a friendly as the first time I visited. The place was empty and I learned that this was because they have entered their low season. I had the same server and this time I told her that my fish was overcooked on my first visit. She made every effort to make sure that it was cooked to my liking and indeed it was. I would return to Ivan's whenever I go back to Negril if not only for the service. Romain and Bradley at the bar remembered me from my visit in March which says a lot since hundreds of guests pass through their door. The above mediocre food is worth it when the service is respectful and kind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    223
    53
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A delightful romantic meal under the stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We considered doing the Night of 100 Candles but in the end we booked a table on the patio overlooking the water. I would recommend arriving closer to 5pm then we did as you will catch a beautiful sunset. We tend to find ot hard to get off the beach so early so arrived closer to 830 when it was already dark. I was disappointed with our table considering we had booked a month early and then followed up when we arrived in Negril. Make sure you are specific when booking a table and request one of the more romantic settings overlooking the water. We enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. Especially the cocktails, lobster thermidor and the curry dishes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had dinner here. This restaurant is all about the ambiance. Our table was over looking the beach. There is also a table that sits treetop. If possible, reserve that table. It was absolutely beautiful. Then there's the 100 candle table. We counted, and there were actually 100 candles.

The food was good but not the best we had in Negril.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Several people suggested Ivan's from our hotel so we went for dinner one night - although the service was good I would not recommend visiting. The quality of the food was poor, and it was not reflective of the Jamaican cuisine we were hoping for. Very disappointing

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great views and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My friend and I travel every year to Jamaica and one of our only negatives is finding restaurants that we both love. My friend has a more limited dining range than myself so we're always looking for places that she feels comfortable too. Ivan's Bar does this. She had the Jerk chicken skewer (which they will do in mild to hot). I had the mushroom chicken, Both were very good and you can't beat the views.We were not staying at Catcha so you can only do dinner after 5 pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivan's Bar & Restaurant At Catcha Falling Star Hotel also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Ivan's Bar & Restaurant At Catcha Falling Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivan's Bar & Restaurant At Catcha Falling Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.