We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, pleasant setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Bar

Canoe Bar
Opposite MX3 entertainment centre just past the Crystal Rose, Negril, Jamaica
+1 876-957-4814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 155 Restaurants in Negril
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Vegan, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Live entertainment every Monday and Thursday evening duringf season!!! Great happy hour 4-6pm with lots of 2 for 1 drink specials! Candlelit dinner on the sea! Great breakfast- try the canoe eggs and the caremleized banana french toast! Excellent snorkeling!
Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good meal, pleasant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This small restaurant and bar is perched on a small sand beach with a sunset view. My chili coconut shrimp were great, as were the sides that came with it. My dining companion had the butterfish and it was ok, not great. The rum cake dessert was delicious, very light (many Jamaican cakes tend to be heavy) and the French Press coffee was a perfect end to the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    69
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Something was missing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very much looked forward to returning. No band as not enough guest to pay for it, first disappointment. Ordered butter fish and very much looked forward to the coleslaw and rice neither were available. The rice that was serviced was horrible and not cooked all the way. The pasta tasted like cardboard. The waitress offered another side so we opted for salads which were good. Rum punch still had a nice kick and the fish was good. Won't return, too many options available.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful seaside reastaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Really nice place, good food and very reasonably priced. The highlight of our meal was the dirty banana cocktail we had at 241 between 2-6 and of course our server yanique was amazing such a laugh and very attentive will definetly be back. Love the 3 soaking wet Brits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have been to Negril 3 times and have visited the Canoe each time. This year we ate at the Canoe twice and like always our meal was great. The prices are moderate for the area. The restaurant sits right on the beach and the views are great. On some nights they have free entertainment at night. We had a front row seat for dinner with a very good steel band.

This is a hidden gem in Negril!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

mother great place in Negril! Great food, drinks, real cold Red Stripe beer and a smile in every single member of the staff!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Bar also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Canoe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.