We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“negril Palms resort (Not good)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Negril Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Negril Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 91 hotels in Negril
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“negril Palms resort (Not good)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have been going to Jamaica for many years and have seen some places improve and others take a catastrophic plunge downward. Unfortunately this one is not good, not good at all. Its dirty, the room on the first night was so bad the bugs and things that kept appearing were extremely sleep preventing. I changed into a room that resembled a prison cell at best. No tubs, just concrete bunker like showers, very primitive in every aspect even down to having mo electricity most afternoons. Having enquired about this electricity situation a member of staff told me it was the city and they did it to preserve power, the real story was they switched it off themselves to save money as they are low on funds. The food is actually not bad, but how bad can chicken rice and peas be ????

I travelled alone and can deal with a little of this and that but here the this and that got simply to much to bare. A little attitude is normal in Jamaica but here the people are just rude, unhelpful and seemingly bothered by genuine requests for help.

I hope they pull it together, they need to spend some money, change the team, and maybe market the place from scratch and see were it goes but i wont be staying there again until they do something.

travel safe,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    43
    32
    26
See reviews for
30
125
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Rooms were neat and tidy and cleanup was very thorough. The only issue I had was the hotel being under renovations so there was a lot of "soon to be beautiful work" going on throughout the resort. The hotel staff, bartenders, were all very friendsly and warming. I would advise in getting a room closer to the beach side and not the street side as you may hear traffic almost all night...sits really close to Norman Manley Boulevard. This was my my 2nd stay on 7 mile beach and would definitely come back to Palms, once the work is done. But again, who really stays in the hotel, it's Jamaica!!

http://asouldrivenmind.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/7-seven-mile-beach-follow-the-sun/




http://asouldrivenmind.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/7-seven-mile-beach-follow-the-sun/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We been there in january. first I want to say that its not 3*. In bathroom nothing... except soap. bedroom ... hmmm. NO fridge. doors not closing (fix) from inside. moscito.
And... its not safe:
1) do not leave your money in safe. almost all our group lose it from safe.
2) more for men!!! do not leave your jeans out from baggage - they can gone! AND WE SURE FOR 100% THAT IT WAS MADE SOMEONE FROM STUFF!!!!!!
3) sleep here can be dangerous. one night , some woman go into the 3 rooms with machete and stole the phones, Ipad, money. She was catched by one our guy. and, thanks God that his money was back. but stuff from others room was still in police.
So the plus is - SEA, SUN, BEACH.

Room Tip: If you want to be far from road choose rooms in second floor and from 406/7/8 It was nice rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this resort and upon arriving there the first night our shower was clogged and draining black water. The shower floors are made of wooden planks (very unsanitary) so there was mildew underneath turning the water black. Overall the bathroom was unclean. The towels are filthy and dirty with stains we asked for another set and they looked exactly the same. THERE WAS NO HOT WATER in our room, we asked other guests and they reported the same. The staff in the morning her name is Charmaine she is the rudest, saracastic person I've ever encountered. Only the night receptioist was nice and helpful. The actual grounds of the hotel is beautiful but the rooms are horrible and customer service is terrible. Right on the beach. It sucks that the room was so bad because the location was great but you get what you pay for with this hotel. Please go somewhere else. Oh yea and one plus is the restaurant was delicous, Flex is the cook, and he is great!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great. some of the reviews are true about maintenance. wasn't really a biggie to me. I didn't expect marble floors, blow dryers, coffee makers, 1000 count sheets. that isn't visiting Jamaica to me. the shower was less than warm. service for dinner was slow. every place was slow. you are on Jamaican time mon!! this place is an excellent value. beach is a few steps away!! if you are on vacation to relax and forget about home, go here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel was clean and relatively safe, the staff could have been friendlier and the food at the restaurant was sub pare. The price was good, and that's a plus. The location is great but didn't like the amount of vendors that seem to lounge about on the hotels beach chairs selling things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Clean and polynesian style rooms. Sometimes a loss of shower water pressure, but no big deal. Short walk to beach, pool and bar area.

Great location, because next door is a cool pool hall on one side, and "Annies Thrill Corner" on the other side.

Hotel employees very gracious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Negril Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Palms Hotel

Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Negril
Palms Hotel Negril
The Palms Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Negril Palms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Negril Palms Hotel is an intimate, tropical hideaway perfect for couples, families and singles, and centrally located on the world famous 7 mile beach in Negril. Negril Palms is just a short walking distance from all of Negril's well known beach attractions and entertainment hot-spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Negril Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.