We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Negril Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Negril Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was great. some of the reviews are true about maintenance. wasn't really a biggie to me. I didn't expect marble floors, blow dryers, coffee makers, 1000 count sheets. that isn't visiting Jamaica to me. the shower was less than warm. service for dinner was slow. every place was slow. you are on Jamaican time mon!! this place is an excellent value. beach is a few steps away!! if you are on vacation to relax and forget about home, go here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    128
    81
    41
    32
See reviews for
43
191
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel was clean and relatively safe, the staff could have been friendlier and the food at the restaurant was sub pare. The price was good, and that's a plus. The location is great but didn't like the amount of vendors that seem to lounge about on the hotels beach chairs selling things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Clean and polynesian style rooms. Sometimes a loss of shower water pressure, but no big deal. Short walk to beach, pool and bar area.

Great location, because next door is a cool pool hall on one side, and "Annies Thrill Corner" on the other side.

Hotel employees very gracious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room was basic and comfortable. The restaurant food was good and average priced for the area and the service staff there were very nice. Our bartenders were personable and for island standards they did things at a faster pace than most. This is not a luxury hotel so if you want golden faucets and down comforters, this is not the place. But if you want a nice beachfront hotel for an affordable rate, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

the rooms were very basic no chairs in room but two chairs on balcony we stayed in room 101 very noisy would not stay there again. bathroom did not even have a hook to put robe on etc. it was aslo extemely noisy at day and night. you could here all the traffic and noise from local bar that was open until about 3.00am or later could not get a good night sleep there. we booked until the thursday but moved out the tuesday. no refund through so read small print.

Room Tip: make sure you bring own shower gel not supplied just soap available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Unfortunately this seems to have gone down hill since we stayed there three years ago when we had treated ourselves to a night of luxury. This time round however it was a real let down was overpriced and our room was very moldy. We stayed here over Valentines and felt let down as it is no way of a standard equivalent to its star rating.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw in
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel was average by Negril standards, pretty much like most of the others of this size.We had room 303. It was cleaned daily, and we always had fresh towels, but the water wasnt hot unless you waited till about 10 at night for your shower. The sink never did anything but dribble water out. The room needed a few things. We had a closet but no hangers, and there was no dresser at all in the room, only a desk that the TV sat on, so there was nowhere to put things. No ceiling fan, but the air worked fine after maintenence worked on it. The bed lacked any blankets or comforter. only white sheets. We were provided with blankets after asking for them.
The room really needed some color!. Everything was white!. No decor in the room at all.
The staff, however, was wonderful. Mr Smith, take care of them! Everyone from the bartenders, to the waitresses, the cleaning service, everyone did everything they could to accomodate us in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.3 mi away
Legends Resort
Legends Resort
#47 of 90 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#43 of 90 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach House Villas
Beach House Villas
#24 of 90 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seastar Inn
Seastar Inn
#11 of 90 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#26 of 90 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#40 of 90 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Palms Hotel

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Negril Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Negril Palms Hotel is an intimate, tropical hideaway perfect for couples, families and singles, and centrally located on the world famous 7 mile beach in Negril. Negril Palms is just a short walking distance from all of Negril's well known beach attractions and entertainment hot-spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Negril Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Negril
Palms Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.