We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Dance Cliffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moon Dance Cliffs to your Saves list
Moon Dance Cliffs
West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holiday Nights from $245
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Moon Dance Cliffs is absolutely amazing! Beautiful, quiet, romantic... The resort, the service, the quality, and even the food-was perfect. My fiance and I were warmly greeted with cocktails by Richard, the manager, and Clyde the butler, and escorted to our two story villa. The grounds are well maintained and covered in bright flowers so everywhere you look is beautiful. Our villa, Crystal Dawn, had all the amenities you could imagine, two floors, huge bathroom, private outdoor hot tub, and about 10 15 steps from the resort's pool. The decor was lovely. The staff was so kind and even in cleaning our rooms, left flowers, and Christine even put petals around the bath tub the day morning after we got engaged! We didn't do all inclusive; however, since the food was so good we ate mostly at the resort. The food was fresh and very well made. I'm a picky eater and every meal I had was delish!!

Clyde was awesome! He checked on us, got us a cell phone, brought us food, took us shopping, set up cars, and most of all planning the most amazing private dinner in the gazebo on the cliffs looking over the ocean at sunset. He put down flower petals, candles, and tiki torches leading the way from our villa to the gazebo. He made us personalized menus, set up music, and dimmed the lights during dinner making the proposal perfect! It was the best time of my life! The entire staff here is just so nice and cater to the guests. Everyone knew my fiance and I by name and were so kind.

The grounds are beyond heaven, the view from the villa bedroom was the ocean, the staff was kind, attentive, and personable. All in all this place was FANTASTIC!! It was so perfect We can't wait to go back! You really leave this place feeling like you're part of it.

Room Tip: Crystal Dawn Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    31
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
74
104
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hinsdale il.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Richard Warren and his staff made us feel like we were the only people there.
My whole family had a great time. The pool was great. The pool bar custom made virgin drinks to my kid's taste.
Rayan ,Randean and Trevor interacted with our children continuously. Playing pool connects, chess and draft. We quickly became family.
We could take a ride to the beach or just enjoy the cliffs.

Room Tip: for three kids get the suite with a connection. Plenty big
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had a great experience at MDC. We started working with Kerry months before to organize the wedding. I had no idea what sorts of details I needed, and she was really helpful- she organized an outline for the stay, questions about how the wedding/reception should flow, and recommendations around timing so we could get wedding photos at sunset. The staff was great- Titanya helped us organize excursions and made everything run so smoothly, and Douglas taught us a dance at the reception! The food was really good too- our family enjoyed the variety of choices and tried something different each time. The cliffs were awesome- we had fun jumping off different points and listening to the waves crash at night. I had my hair done for the wedding, and Ross did it so well that it stood up against a really windy day. When you go, make sure that Johnny Walker makes you a Moon Dance punch!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My fiance and I just returned from a 7-night all-inclusive stay at the beautiful Moon Dance Cliffs. We stayed in a second floor, non-jacuzzi room in the main hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a king bed. The view of the resort and ocean from our room was breathtaking, and we spent many wonderful hours enjoying it from the comforts of our spacious terrace. The resort was very quiet and calm, with a few people around the pool and a few dining at the outdoor restaurant at any time. The photos on the website are very accurate - we clocked dozens of hours just gazing at the sea from the cliffs and we watched the sunset every night. We enjoyed the all-inclusive food menu at all meals almost every day. The options for the meals were very good, not haute cuisine by any means, but filling and nutritious, more like home. There was a large variety of tropical drinks to choose from and the bartenders mix them well. The staff is excellent. They are attentive, plentiful and easy-going. No matter what our request was (breakfast poolside? midnight snack? cab to the beach?) it was their pleasure to help. The pace is slow of course, but this is what we crave on vacation and enjoyed the easy atmosphere immensely. We felt indeed very much at home at Moon Dance, especially towards the end and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We enjoyed second floor terrace of the hotel for the view. ALL rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

You want to love Moon Dance Cliffs, and for the most part you will. It has almost everything going for it, from the wonderful staff, the beautiful scenic grounds, the cliff site location, the hotel layout and the villa setup.

We were greeted at the airport by the hotel driver and we were out of the airport in less than 15 minutes. Although we would have liked to enjoy the scenic drive to the hotel (about 1.5 hours), we knew we had to sleep given the early morning wake up and the wedding ceremonies and festivities we would attend. Upon arrival we were promptly checked into our rooms, and welcomed with a rum punch, and several other drinks from our friends who had previously arrived.

We were here for a wedding which seems to be the case for the majority of people who travel here (also given previous reviews). The hotel was full up with the wedding guests, which was great. The wedding was fabulous, scenic overlooking the cliffs/sunset. The cocktail party was great with plenty of refreshments setup near the ceremony. Appetizers were passed and dinner served at Annie’s. I will discuss the food in a few paragraphs. Dancing ensued and the night was a smashing success.

One great benefit offered by the hotel was the ironing. After having spent 3 hours by the pool, I realized that my clothes were not ironed and the wedding started in 15 minutes. Well, full credit to Moon Dance, they rushed to our room, grab my clothes, had it pressed and returned in 10 minutes. Unbelievable!

The rooms at Moon Dance are five stars. We had a room in the main building, and each room overlooked the beautiful cliffs and ocean. This is where Moon Dance shines. There is no such thing as a bad view. The rooms are huge, with double vanity sinks, shower, bath tub, bath robes, etc. The rest of the room was just as good. King bed, full cable TV with Canadian and U.S. channels (they had CBC, and Hockey Night in Canada!). Another benefit is the veranda, with two chairs and a sofa, with extremely comfortable pillows! I woke up early, while my wife slept and would sit here with coffee, read and just enjoy the peacefulness of the place, the views and the sunshine.

A large number of our friends were in the villas, which we spent time in late night, for continued celebrations! I can’t say enough how great these are. Each villa has two hot tubs, one, just outside the main entrances and another on the second floor. Each villa had its own butler. On the wedding night, we had him order us a bunch of pizzas for delivery to our villa for post late night eating. They made it happen. Anything you need. Because we were consuming vast quantities of beverages, one of his roles during the day was to rotate the beers in and out of the freezer to keep them ice cold. Moon Dance excels on the villas and even better job on the service.

We spent most of our days hanging by the pool and pool bar and playing bean bag toss. Hours and hours of time was spent vacationing near the bean bag toss. There is also a ping pong table, and billiards table by the Sports Bar. The villas also have a billiards table. The pool bar is run by Ralston, whom did a great job, keeping us well hydrated! You can also order food to be delivered to your lounge chair.

The size of the resort is nice in that you can pop into your room/villa and be back by the pool in a matter of minutes. It’s perfectly setup for weddings and groups. We speculated that that was the primary purpose of the design and it would appear that this is the case. We decided to extend our holiday for a few extra days after our group left. Well, from the 33 rooms (including villas) at Moon Dance, there was only 4 other couples for 2 days, pending the arrival of the next wedding group. This make for eerily quiet grounds, but we which we enjoyed after 3 days of heavy socializing. Our discussion with the managers revealed that they essentially do a wedding a week, of various size. I personally think this is the perfect spot for a wedding. The Moon Dance is very private, has beautiful scenery and exceptional customer service by all staff. Within a few days, we knew all staff members and they knew our names. It was really relaxing.

It shouldn’t hold you back from coming here if you are not part of a wedding group. If you aren’t looking for a crowd and want to relax pool side for a week, this would be the place to go for sure. It is located on the cliffs, about a 15 minute taxi ride into Negril, and only a few minutes from the best restaurants in town. One afternoon, we took a taxi to Seven Mile beach. It was about a 20 minute drive. We arranged it through the front desk. I would recommend asking to go to a quiet part of the beach. We had decided on Margaritaville, so we could get drinks/food, but it was a crazy scene!

Which brings me to my next point, which is I would not recommend doing all-inclusive. There are too many good restaurants in the area to miss them which are far superior to Moon Dance.

Another rumour we heard about Moon Dance, is that it wasn’t designed for all-inclusive packages. It was designed for two reasons: To host weddings and for relaxation. In addition, it was meant for you to enjoy the local cuisine, hence its location near the top restaurants in Negril. We visited, Rick’s Café (for fun only, no eating), Ivan’s Bar, LTU Pub, Rockhouse and a few others. These were great places, with good local foods.

The food at Moon Dance is decent, but not great. There’s Annie’s, the open air main restaurant and the Sports Bar. Annie’s more of an open concept area that serves food, it’s not really a restaurant. There’s no kitchen. They truck in from the Sports Bar. You can order off any of the menus, no matter where you are. Breakfast was your standard fare, and lunch/dinner options were typical mix of local cuisine and North American. Again, it’s decent, the curry goat was good, but the rest was just your standard fare. Nothing wrong, just not what we were expecting. Thus, we would recommend not getting the all-inclusive package. Breakfast/lunch at Moon Dance, and head out to a local restaurant for dinner. You can arrange with the front desk to book a reservation, because you will need one, since most places are booked up each night. The restaurant will send a driver to pick you up and bring you there. Also, they have an abundance of drivers to bring you back, at a standard taxi cab fare. Most places weren’t more than a CDN$8-10 taxi ride away.

Overall, we would return here, it’s fabulous. The staff we met are pretty happy to be working here from what we could tell, and do a fabulous job. The grounds, and the shear serenity, guarantees you’ll feel relaxed and catch up on your rest. If you can’t standstill and need action, absolutely do not come here. Enjoy the hotel and enjoy Negril!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at Moon Dance Cliffs from Feb 17-22nd after changing hotels (we were previously at Blue Cave). This hotel is very nice, the staff incredible, and the food is very good. We'll definitely be back, it was sad to have to leave. The staff really goes out of their way to make sure you're comfortable and enjoying your stay. The views are amazing.

My only negative experience there was caused by a wedding party that happened to be there the same time that we were. They played country western music (you're in Jamaica!) very loud though the night and were totally unconcerned for the other hotel guests (not really the hotel's fault). In the future I'd recommend that those type of wedding parties be required to rent the whole resort, or cut the music a couple hours earlier. That was a downer for us, but it was only one night. Had it been our last night it would have been worse.

Having said that, the following morning we had several of the resort staff check in on us to make sure we were happy. I really can't say enough about how professional they are, and the overall quality of our stay. We will return.

Tim

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were at Moon Dance Cliffs for a week, Feb.18 to 25, for a wedding. Views of ocean were spectacular. Staff led by the Two Richards were polite and helpful. Jamaica is in a drought and shower water supply was intermittant for a couple of days .We were moved to a new room, and water supply problems were soon solved .Grounds are spacious and colourful with many types of flowering bushes and cacti. This is a boutique resort and quiet. It is a short walk down the road to Rick's and the lighthouse. Rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. Food was outstanding in quality and variety. We visited Moon Dance Villas in another location and it was more of a beach experience with entertainment ,lovely villas and beach. The Cliffs have plunge sites and many sites for sunbathing. My companion said it was the best vacation of her life. Weather was fanastic 28C days. Rooms had spacious balconies. Water swimming pools were extensive with swim/wade up bar. Small fishing boats could be seen daily off shore. Out door dining was a wonderful experience. We would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Dance Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Dance Cliffs

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. Moon Dance Cliffs has 2 restaurants, 3 bars, the world class Kamala spa, a 5,000+ square foot pool complex, and a plethora of other activities. Our friendly staff is available to you throughout your stay; from the concierge and the manager to the lifeguards and bartenders. With a 1:2 staff to guest ratio, the service at Moon Dance Cliffs is unmatched.Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Jamaica Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury boutique resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. All rooms are air-conditioned, with verandahs, spectacular views of the Caribbean and many have private, outdoor Jacuzzis. The Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs are located throughout the grounds of the resort. Ranging from one to five bedrooms, all the villas offer dramatic views of the Caribbean Sea from atop the cliffs. Each villa has the option of being staffed with a butler, who acts as a personal concierge. With full access to all the resort has to offer, the Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs offer an unbeatable experience. With two restaurants and three bars to choose from, Moon Dance Cliffs offers dining options for whatever you’re in the mood for. Annie’s Restaurant is fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere; an open air restaurant set at the very edge of the ocean, the sunset view from Annie’s is unmatched. A menu of fresh seafood, traditional Jamaican dishes, pastas, steaks, and homemade desserts is complimented by an extensive array of fine wines and cocktails. The Sports Bar offers casual dining with a full menu and an exciting array of cocktails and beverages. With satellite TVs, darts, a pool table, Nintendo Wii®, and other games, The Sports Bar will entertain you day or night. The Pool Bar offers snacks, our signature Moon Dance cocktails, and other beverages whether you’re in the pool or just lounging by it. With beautiful views wherever you look and the friendliest staff in the Caribbean, Moon Dance Cliffs offers a relaxing, indulgent getaway. All-Inclusive and Accommodations Only rates are both available. Please inquire for nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Moon Dance Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Dance Cliffs Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Dance Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.