We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Cove

Tranquility Cove
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocho Rios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Cove
5 Km East Of St Anns Bay | PO Box 757, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Tranquility Cove last winter through John and Elandra. The experience exceeded our expectations in every way. The location is peaceful and we were astounded at the generous size of the suite as well as the lush beauty of the surroundings. The property is maintained at a very high standard, safe and as the name implies, tranquil. John and Elandra were perfect hosts ensuring it would be a memorable vacation. We intend to return next year.
Reno
Toronto , Canada

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently came back from my second holiday staying at John and Elandra's apartment (6W) at Tranquility Cove. I absolutely love it! It was exactly what I was looking for in a holiday, away from the maddening crowds with a perfect blend of family hospitality and tranquil surroundings. Pat from Tranquility provided some magical meals for us, as well as being such a lovely lady to chat with. In fact, all of the staff on the property had smiles on their faces and were happy to help in any way from the moment we arrived. We always felt safe as there is 24-hour gated security, and the infiniti pool is to die for; a real piece of heaven.
Thank you John and Elandra for being so reachable and making the booking process so seamless. I rarely visit the same place twice, but I am happy to say that Tranquility has become somewhat of an oasis for me the last couple of years. I will be back next year! Highly recommended especially if you need a break from the usual all-inclusive factories out there, and for a much more authentic Jamaican experience. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this lovely resort. The apartments are all privately owned and rented out, so the standard of each one will vary depending on how the owner maintains it.
I must say however that we had experience of 3 different apartments and all 3 were very nice indeed. This is a self catering resort but housekeeping will cook if one desires.
The kitchens are excellently kitted out and the bathrooms are beautiful.
The design is open plan living, so kitchen, dinning and living area is open BUT don't worry the space is fabulous. A modern resort, housekeepers are lovely people and will help with anything you need.

If there is any negative it is the omission of air conditioning in the open plan area. This is fine during the day because the apartments all have wrap around terraces, so once the doors are opened it's great but come night time when we close up to keep mosquitoes out, the area is unbearably hot and the ceiling fans are just not adequate. Thank God bedrooms are air conditioned.
If you do not have access to a car then you will need a taxi into Ochi central as it is a good way out.

Saying all of that we can't wait to stay again when we next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the 1st or 2nd floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Like many of you, I'm a world traveller with many years of travel experiences. The experience at "Tranquility Cove" was one of the worst experiences of my life, travel or otherwise.

The property advertised that for the price the suites included a maid service. The maids (or 'helpers') would cook meals, do laundry, and do cleaning at no additional charge. It is false advertising.

On arrival, we asked the "helper" when laundry would be done. Her reply: "There are no arrangements to do your laundry". "If you want laundry done, it's an additional $US 15 per load". Uh? So now we were looking at an additional $US 45/week. Furthermore, to add insult to injury she said we had to provide our own laundry soap. It got worse - quickly. On returning to the suite the next day, we found our close wet hanging in a dark closet! The "helper" said: "The dryer is broken and we can't get the parts to fix it". So our clothes hung there in the dark closet getting stinky for two days. The property manager and booking agent did nothing.

We bought groceries for the "helper" to cook meals as advertised. We only got breakfast three days because she would show up for work after 9:00 AM or 9:30 AM. By then we were heading out the door. Her shift apparently starts at 8:00 AM. Dinner? The couple of times she cooked dinner, she cooked so much food, left-overs were certain. Not to waste food, we ate left-overs for dinner the following days. After she left a chicken thawed in the sink and went home without cooking the bird, we gave up on getting meals cooked. The property manager and booking agent did nothing.

We invited a few friends over one day for dinner. One of them, a master chef, wanted to bake a chicken. After he spent his timing preparing everything, we discovered the oven (like the dryer) was broken. Again, the property manager did nothing about the broken oven.

On another evening we came back to find a door to our suite open and the "helper" was gone home for the day! Fortunately, our passports and idle cash was still there. Again, the property manager and booking agent did nothing.

Finally, because of road conditions we were running late getting back to check out. I spoke to the booking agent telling her we would be later than expected. Her reply: "The owner is going to bill you an additional night stay." What! For a two hour delay checking out after all they put us through? And no, nobody was waiting to check into the suite.

When we got there, we found most of our belongings piled up in a corner of the guard house! The guard said the owner told him we had to collect our belongings from there. So after paying "Tranquility Cove" over $US 3,000 this is the treatment they gave us. Really sickening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This resort is a private resort with excellent security. There is a private pool for the guests and the ocean is it's backyard. The only drawback is that it is not an all inclusive. Housekeeping was excellent and the employees are very friendly. There is a grocery store across the street and you can grocery shop and have the maid cook for you. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tranquility Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Cove

Address: 5 Km East Of St Anns Bay | PO Box 757, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Also Known As:
Tranquility Cove Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tranquility Cove to your Saves list