We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the location that makes the hotel, but the staff that makes my Vacation!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moon Palace Jamaica Grande to your Saves list
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Its the location that makes the hotel, but the staff that makes my Vacation!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

So this will be my first time ever writing about ANY resort I have visited. First off I would like to say I have been to Cuba 5 times, DR once, Barbados Twice and Jamaica 6 times! I have stayed at the J. Grande my last 5 trips. Long and short of it, it’s a great place. The resort could use some minor renovations, but the location can’t be beat. The service is pleasant and adequate. For me there are a few things that make a trip, but over all experience is number one. This is definitely made by the staff of J. Grande (not all staff are made equally), but there are a few names worth mentioning.

1. Sherika (I believe that’s how you spell it) from the breakfast buffet. She is pleasant, always remembers a face and very accommodating.

2. Andrew Campbell from the Terrace Restaurant. Goes the extra mile to make sure your needs are met. Very pleasant young man and fast!

3. Jerome McPherson from the Dinner Buffet. Every night we were well attended to, anything we needed was “not a problem”. He went the extra mile and was very helpful when we inquired about anything - food related or not! He has the biggest smile I have ever seen in my life! And to be honest, if Jerome were no longer at J. Grande – well neither am I!!!

As I said, the islands are lush, beautiful beaches and people, but without a select few that make your trip, you won’t return! These are my top picks.

Loyal Return Guest of Jamaica Grande!

Pebbles

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    1,692
    1,005
    567
    420
See reviews for
1,609
1,482
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

March 23 , 2013
1 week vacation

Jamaica
Sunset Grande in Ocho Rios

WESTJET
All air carriers could learn from WestJet, so easy to check in at Pearson,
and Montego Bay.
Unfortunately you can't upgrade, as we like to do with AirTransat, CanJet
and Sunwing, but you can reserve your seat, but only through your travel
agent. Our rep at Selloffvacations decided to charge us $25.00 to do this!
There is no food or alcohol included, but you can buy food, or take your
own.
We went to the Airport Lounge first, with online coupon, $25.00 each for 2
hours, all alcohol and food is included, with internet available, and a
great view of the airport. They told us if we had brought our AMEX card, it
would be free!
The transfer to the hotel is about an hour, but we considered it a free
scenic trip.

SUNQUEST
Lenore, our Sunquest rep, was one of the best we have ever had.
I gave her $20 and she bought me a yellow CoolRunnings baseball hat and
delivered it to me the day we left.
She also helped my daughter. who flew in from Edmonton with AirCanada, to
print off her missing hotel voucher.

RESTAURANTS
Sunquest and AirCanada have a la cartes resos set aside for each person, so
no lineups.
They fill up quickly.

TRIPS
If there is a problem with the weather, they will reschedule or refund your
money. As a family, we took the CoolRunnings full day catamaran trip, and
enjoyed it. Take cash, as they offer food and Tshirts and fabulous hats for
sale. Food in not included.
We took a few nutrition bars, but they sell delicious Jamaican patties for
$3.00. The rum bar does not open until you have snorkeled and climbed Dunns
Falls, a good idea!


RESORT
The elevators were no problem, and the room was fine. The balcony was very
small, but we spent our time at the beach.
The cruise ships are right in front of you on the beach, it's amazing to
watch them dock!
Snorkeling is in a designated area, due to jetskis and boat traffic.
The food and service at the a la cartes was 4 star in our opinion.
The buffet was fine, service was great, and we especially appreciated two
servers, Sharika and Wendy.
I found the red and white wine quite good, and available at all bars, not
just at meals
Drinks are served in acrylic glasses, but it's a good idea to bring your own
covered cup.
Can not comment on the entertainment, as we are early to bed.

OCHO RIOS
It is a short walk into town, left is the village, and right is the Straw
Market.

Enjoy!

Wendy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel has several pros & cons.

Pros:
-great location; about 10 mins drive to Dunn River Falls
-there are markets within walking distance from the resort where you can 'sight-see' and get a sense of the 'real' Jamaica
-seems like a family friendly hotel (if this is what you are looking for; we were looking for more of a party atmosphere, which we definitely did not find here)
-for the most part, hotel seems pretty sanitary; housekeepers came on a daily basis and were respectful if you put the 'do not disturb' sign
-it's a pretty good hotel if you want to relax, definitely a low key atmosphere, the beach was gorgeous and the weather was perfect!
-rooms were semi-upgraded with a flat screen tv with several cable channels (no ipod dock though)


Cons:
-honestly, about a 2 hour drive from montego bay airport; so if you're the type that wants to get your vacation started as quickly as possible, this may not be the location for you!
-all inclusive portion states that it includes in-room safe (however when you get there, they require a $100 deposit for the lock for the safe; they say they will return upon check-out; we were never able to find out as none of us trusted that feature)
-there is NO FREE WI-FI (they charge you $5/hr, $15/day or $30/week for wifi access; needless to say, we did not purchase any of these)
-they require a minimum cash deposit of $15 (US) per card towel; you are responsible for keeping and returning the card and upon returning the card towel at check-out; this (again) was another feature we did not use because we were lucky enough to encounter staff who handed us towels for free (which we held on to during our stay at the hotel - sanitary, no but economical, yes)
-in all honesty, the food was mediocre; the only decent meal we had was at the asian restaurant (Ginger Lily) located in the hotel. Other than that, if you went to the buffet 1/2 to 1 hour before closing, most of the food was gone!
-as opposed to advertisements, there weren't as many non-motorized as advertised. there were jet-skis and snorkeling excursions for additional fees.
-in order to call out of the country with a calling card (which you can purchase in the hotel lobby), the hotel charges you an additional $.30 service fee for each connection. that means if you try calling someone 3 different times and finally reach them the 3rd time, you end up paying $.90 just to place the call! I thought that was a total rip-off but it only costs $.10/min to call the US.
-some rooms did not come with a fridge/iron; it was a group of 6 of us with 3 rooms and there was only 1 room that came with both; the others had to call the desk to request to get these (guess this is a hit or miss with this hotel)
-the beds were not the most comfortable things to sleep on; be prepared to encounter hard beds!

HOPE THIS REVIEW HELPS!

Room Tip: South Pointe Tower had pretty nice views of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was a return visit to the Sunset Jamaica Grande in Ocho Rios, via an Air Canada Vacations. After a few days of relax and unwind, It was meetings and workshops with Jamaican teachers. It is a great spot for a conference. I like the place, because it is familiar to me, Jamaican owned and has a variety of activities for all ages. There is also a good mix of "sun-seekers", West Indian tourists and conference goers. The all-inclusive includes drinks, and It is a place where I agree with another reviewer that you "never go hungry or thirstly". I also like the fact that it is in Ocho Rios, rather than an isolated enclave.....but that might be everyone's cup of tea, or "bottle of Red Stripe". I rated sleep quality as average, only because Saturday nights are a bit "jump-up" noisy. It was all around good value for the cost of the AC package.

bmmOttawa

Room Tip: South tower gives "ocean views" but the "far" side view is the hills and bay are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset for two weeks - there were both great and not so great things - among the best part of the stay was the lady at the Palm Dining room - the regular buffet - this lady made us feel like we were the only important clients there!!! - wow what a feeling - she knew what we liked, remembered what we drank etc - her name is Sonia Foster - if you go to the Sunset - ask to sit in Sonia's section - she is amazing and a credit to her profession. The room in the hotel was just OK - but then we didn't spend much time there. There is a very limited number of palapa's on the beach so when it was hot it was too hot to stay on the beach for long - the pools were great and we had a great selection of tours. The poorest part was the evening entertainment - all but did not exist - we were there late in the season - April so maybe that could account - all in all we enjoyed our time there!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the cabana - direct beach access - would definitely recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this resort for five days last week while presenting at a workshop. It was my third time there. I stayed in an ocean-view room in the south tower.

Check-in was fine, although there was a little mix-up with the online check-in. Apparently when you check in online, you need to print the form when you do so, and bring it with you. That being said, they still gave us our half hour of free wifi, and no worries with our restaurant reservations as those were being taken care of by the AC Vacations rep.

Our rooms were ready upon arrival around 3:30 pm. When I got upstairs, I discovered some water dripping from the air conditioning vent. I called downstairs and someone was there within 5 minutes. It turned out someone had left the balcony door open, which causes condensation. This was explained, fixed, and one fellow went to get a mop to clean up, even though there wasn't much water on the floor at that point. Better service than I have gotten in other places when there was a problem by far.

The room was basic, but clean and functional. I was on the ninth floor facing the water, and yes, it did look out over the roof of the facilities below, but I still got that breathtaking view of the Caribbean every morning. The bed was fine - much better than the one I had in Brussels a couple of weeks earlier - and the room was kept clean. Water pressure in the bathroom was great and there was never a problem with hot water. The room came with a small walk-in closet, iron and ironing board, tea kettle, alarm clock, and small fridge. The only issues with the room were that it did face the side where the evening entertainment happened, so while I was well away from the disco, the evening entertainment went on until 11 pm and was loud. This likely would not be an issue for someone on holiday, but as I was working, it did keep me up longer than I would have liked. The other issue was kind of odd. When I arrived, there was no bath mat, but lots of towels. After the first day, a floor mat arrived, but the hand towel disappeared never to be seen again. No worries - this is Jamaica and I just used a wash cloth which was always replaced.

Bar service (when I had time) and meal service was fine. The servers in the buffet work very hard and I never had to wait for tea in the morning or water or drinks with other meals. There is a line-up for the omelet station, but it never took more than 10 minutes to get through it and there are lots of other options if one doesn't want to wait. I love a fresh omelet, so I waited. Food was plentiful, and reasonably good - as with any buffet, there are some things they do better and some things that just don't do well in a buffet setting. The lunches and evening meals were fine - there is always a choice of meats, fish, salads, fruit, and the dessert section is guaranteed to help you put on weight. Service was always very friendly, with servers greeting you with a smile and a cheery good morning or hello.

We did manage to try three of the four specialty restaurants. For some reason, the Grand Terrace was not listed as an option for us, so we didn't get in there. My favourite has always been the Italian place and this time was no exception. Both food and service were comparable to fine dining in lots of places in the world. And the wine in the specialty restaurants is a little better than what is available in the buffet (where it is not even palatable.) We also had very good meals in the Ginger Lily and South Beach restaurants. I love the South Beach because you are outside and because the food is more local.

I only spent a short time swimming one morning, so can't comment on all of the beach areas, but this resort is not one to come to for the beach. The pools seem to be lovely and well-used, and there is so much pool space that you should be able to find quiet if that's what you want, or fun if that is more your taste. I can't comment on activities or stuff for children as I was working most of the time I was there. It is a short walk from the resort into Ocho Rios. To the right as you leave the resort are the tourist areas and craft market, and to the left is the area where locals shop. One other thing I would highly recommend is getting off the resort for a tour or two, and not necessarily just the Dunns River Falls tour. The last time I was there we took a tour to a coffee plantation in the hills, and we also did a tour to see Noel Coward's home, Firefly, as well as a fruit plantation. Both tours were really interesting and a chance to see a less touristy side of Jamaica.

As I noted in my header, the staff here was always friendly. It was rare to pass someone anywhere in the resort without them greeting you, and the service from the restaurants to the bars (especially the lobby bar) to the front desk to my one visit to the towel hut was always friendly. I am not sure what happened with the folks who have reviewed this resort and noted unfriendly staff, as we never encountered this.

To sum up, if you are looking for luxury, then pay the money and go for it, but if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly resort where you can soak up the sun, I can recommend the Sunset Jamaica Grande.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Room was in the worst shape of any resort I've ever visited!!..The air conditoner was leaking from the ceiling, bathtubs were full of scum, mold was all over the walls, the sheets were dirty..The smell was just horrible!!..I ended up getting hospitalized after coming back to the states for a severe upper respiratory infection.. This was most likely due to sleeping in this moldy room..Beware!!..The rooms look nothing like the pictures that are advertised..The only nice thing about this resort was the beautiful beaches...I do not recommend this resort to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
47.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#12 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 stars 6,538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
44.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Jamaica Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Jamaica Grande 4.5*
Number of rooms: 705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande, is situated on the north coast of Jamaica, accessible from the Montego Bay airport. Following a multi-million dollar transformation of what was formerly the iconic Sunset Jamaica Grande, the soon to open Moon Palace Jamaica Grande will boast more than 700 guestrooms and suites with oceanfront views of the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moon Palace Jamaica Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Jamaica Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.