We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Jamaica Grande” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moon Palace Jamaica Grande to your Saves list
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunset Jamaica Grande”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I just travelled to Jamaica February 2-10 with both of us being sad to leave to come home. The Sunset Jamaica Grande played home to us for our stay and we both thought it was fantastic.
We arrived from the airport around 9:00am and although we could not check into our rooms until 3:00pm we were still able to make use of all the resorts resources. Once it was time to check in, it went very smooth and quick.
Our room was in the Cabana section of the hotel. The room itself is nothing fancy but the location alone is worth the small extra amount you pay.
We ate at all but one A la Carte and enjoyed them all. The buffet always had fresh food and was very delicious for all 3 meals of the day. Both the Jerk Chicken snack bar and the other snack bar were great as well.
The entertainmetn staff at this resort, whether it is by the pool or a show at night, work their butts off and I have nothing but good things to say about the shows that we took in.
The staff at all of the bars are very busy and do their absolute best to keep everyone happy and full. While we did wait in soimewhat of long lines for a refill, we didn't complain, we wanted another drink and that's what we had to do to get it.
In the week that we were there, there were 2 cruiseships... they arrived before we were awake and left around supper time. We never noticed anymore people on the beach or on the tours we took in.

This resort was fantastic, we will be back to Jamaica and would stay at this resort again, although we would like to visit different parts of the island.

A BIG thank-you to the staff at The Sunser Jamaica Grande.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    1,692
    1,005
    567
    420
See reviews for
1,609
1,482
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Jan. 31-Feb.6.
We stayed in the cabana rooms. Excellent! well worth it! The beach is right there when you walk out of your room. There is the pool and South beach bar less than 2 minutes away. This side of the hotel is much quieter than the north. The north side is more for families and large groups. Some people staying in the north tower complained of noise but said it quieted down by 10pm. The view from the towers is said to be great. Especially when the cruise ships came in.
We had an amazing time. The staff were terrific!! Suzette was our house keeper she was amazing! Thanks to Claudette (the tennis instructor), I can now hit a ball over the net. Lol. And Mrs. Karen, at the buffet, always made sure to give us fantastic service. Bartenders were great. Sometimes a little slow but, hey we're on the island with nothing to do but relax.

The food was great! My scale is proof. Lol. Hitting the gym hard for next while to work it off. The Jamaican food was great! Always a line up for the jerk chicken. If you're not into trying different foods, they had a lot of traditional North American food. omelets, cereals, pasta, to name a few. Also, if you really need fast food. There are KFC and Burger King right outside the hotel.

The excursions were great. We did the botanical gardens, Dunns River, and Dolpin Cove. Don't leave Jamaica without doing the falls. It was fantastic. Deandrea, our tour guide was great.

Shopping was great. A lot of people trying to sell you stuff. A polite no thanks is all you need. Don't pay the selling price. Always negotiate. The small vendors on the side of the road are a lot cheaper and willing to negotiate than the stores.

All in all, we had a great trip. We're planning a trip back next year with our 8 year old son. This hotel is fantastic for couples as well as for families.

Room Tip: Cabana rooms for couples. South tower if you want less noise. ie. music. And north tower for the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.catharines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

my husband and i had no problem with facility in general we were there feb.5-12 on departure day we were instructed to leave luggage in departure area while we waited an hour for the bus to airport my husband was overly generous in tipping everyone daily although it was all inclusive when returning for our luggage i noticed my bag half open i really didnt think much of it at the time but upon arriving home my brand new camera which was a gift was gone this saddens me to no end i know exactly which hotel employee took it check out time 915 i suggest they train theyre theiving employees

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I am not by any means suggesting that this is a cheap resort, but you can definitely expect to get more for the money you paid. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned everyday, although the furniture could use a bit of an upgrade (my trip was in 2008 so they may have upgraded the furniture already). The staff were always in a good mood and very helpful, and the restaurant staff were very professional - maybe it's a Jamaican thing because I experienced the same exceptional service at a different resort. Entertainment was better than I expected with local artists stopping by to perform and the entertainment staff really know how to engage the crowd with the fun games they have prepared.

Great place overall and I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I was actually here in April of 2008 - the dates on this site does not go that far back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

So lets start, we upgraded our room paid an extra $500.00 each to have the cabana rooms don't do it so not worth the money all it is is a different location with a worse view.
The service was terrible they had only one bartender at every bar so there is usually a 20 person line up. Also half way through the day they ran out of booze or mix or something. If there was two people at the bar it was because one of them was washing glasses by hand.
The pools are dirty and not kept up.
There is no beach service.
If they cannot accommodate you they just lie to you and tell u some story.
I will never go back there sorry, it was not worth the money they acted like you only paid $27.00 a night.
Even there buffet they would have a omelet or pasta or special chef but only one and the hotel have over 700 rooms so if u didn't plan on waiting for half an hour for something warm your out of luck.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia L, Guest Relations Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica Grande, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our Resort. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience our services may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second time back to Sunset Jamaica Grande in four years. It seems to be a fine resort for a family. We stayed for a week the end of January. We had a room on the ninth floor of the North Tower. The room was clean, the water super hot, the view excellent. Plus, the north elevators are not over crowded like the South Tower. My grandson & I walked to the Cruise Docks every morning for exercise and were always greeted by friendly, respectful people.
The buffet food is decent and we especially loved the omelets made by Roderick every morning.He is such a friendly guy! We met Annadeen in the lobby and she is delightful. She makes you feel right at home. We did the river tubing this time and that was FUN and relaxing. Last time we went on the jeep into the hills and that too, was fun. We enjoyed our time at this resort. We enjoy the Jamaican culture & people. I know we will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Getting There:
We stayed at Sunset Jamaica Grande during the first week of February 2013. Our plane landed in Montego Bay and our bus ride was about 2 hours from the airport. Our bus driver was a pretty funny guy and did his best to give us an introduction about Jamaica. We even stopped by a Jerk Chicken place for a snack. Do note for those travelling with kids that cursing, sarcasm, drug references (and usage; mainly marijuana) is fairly common in Jamaica, so while it is all in good fun, those who are sensitive towards such things should be warned. One benefit of staying at this resort is that it is very close to the main attractions like Dunns Fall, Dolphin Cove, and Mystic Mountain. When we arrived, the lobby was pretty big and open, and had a nice view overlooking the pool area. They served drinks while you waited in line to check in.

Rooms:
We had originally asked for a room in the South Tower with a king-size bed with our agent, but we ended up in the North Tower with 2 double beds. North tower was the older building of the two. It was a bit of a trek to get there too; you have to go down an elevator from the main lobby, then into the North Tower lobby, then take an elevator to your floor. Comparatively, South tower was just one elevator ride up from the main lobby. The hallways were pretty messy (looked like no one had vacuumed it for a while). Our room was felt damp and had a musty smell. It looked like they did a recent paint job to the room, but it looked rushed (paint stains on the floor tiles). The balcony doors were also old and the locks were broken. They did have a nice 42 inch LCD TV with a good selection of channels (mainly in english).

We went back to the lobby and asked to switch rooms back to the South Tower, but they told us to come back around 9:00 AM to see if anyone checks out. Make sure you ask to them to put your name on a list so the next person can have something to refer to.

We ended up switching to South Tower the next day, and the rooms and hallways felt a bit newer and cleaner. We still did not get our king-size bed though. The south tower rooms did not have that damp musty feeling, though the furniture and TV are the same as North Tower. We later found out that our blowdryer did not work because of electrical issues, so they asked us to move to another room (3rd room in 3 days). However, our new room did not have a light-lamp post, so we had to request (several times) to get it moved. One thing I noticed for the South Tower was that it takes them longer to respond to your requests. They are also pretty conservative with their light bulbs (they took our closet light bulb from the first room to the second).

Last thing to note about the rooms is the washrooms; they do not have any ventilation! The ceiling is the same ceiling you see in offices, and they do get wet and moldy. The water extinguishers also just (barely) stick out of the side wall instead of the ceiling; not sure if it is going to do anything.

Food:
If you only like jerk chicken, steamed vegetables, and fried fish, then this may be the resort for you. However, don't expect any more variety than this in their main buffet. The lunch menu is pretty much the same as dinner. They do have a over night barbeque place where you can get your fix of burgers, hotdogs, grilled cheese, and fries (in some ways, this is better than the main buffet). They have 3 main a-la-cartes; Italian, Chinese, and Caribbean (and one more that essentially combines all 3). They are okay, and you will need to visit them to take a break from the buffet. Breakfast was better, with 2 omelette stations, lots of bread, french toasts, pancakes, bacon, sausage links, fruits etc.

Bars:
They do have a nice selection of bars, so it is pretty easy to get a drink. There was one night where they ran out of beer and some liquor, which I thought was embarrassing. The bar tenders are generally pretty friendly, but the lines can be long (lots of people). One advice is the bar in the main lobby can be very busy at night; if you only want a beer (or non-slush drinks), go down the hall to where the piano bar is and that bar is quieter). The drinks were okay (no real complaints here).

Resort:
I thought where Sunset Jamaica Grande shined was the layout of the resort. There are a few pools, each fairly decent size. There is a small lazy river that runs beside the restaurant. Little waterfalls really make the resort look nice. You will have fun exploring the different pools. There are two main beaches; the south beach is much bigger, has better sand, and less rocks. The north beach is smaller, has more rocks, but there is where the kayaks and sailboats are. Definitely worth signing up for a sailboat ride (small one that fits 2-3 people; all complimentary). There are enough beach chairs for people to sit and soak up the sun. The beach volleyball court though was awful; I think they just basically pour sand over concrete. They also do not maintain it, so there are small rocks everywhere. The nightly shows were okay; your typical talent shows, concerts, cultural dances etc.

Summary:
Sunset Jamaica Grande is more 3 star than 4 star, but since you can probably get it at a good price, it is not too bad. The rooms and food is less to be desired, but resort itself is quite scenic. It is also near the main attractions, so it cuts down the travel time. If you are just looking for a simple resort to escape to in Jamaica, then this place is recommended so long as you do not have high expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for South Tower if possible. If you get stuck in the North Tower, check with them in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
47.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#12 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 stars 6,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
44.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Jamaica Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Jamaica Grande 4.5*
Number of rooms: 705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande, is situated on the north coast of Jamaica, accessible from the Montego Bay airport. Following a multi-million dollar transformation of what was formerly the iconic Sunset Jamaica Grande, the soon to open Moon Palace Jamaica Grande will boast more than 700 guestrooms and suites with oceanfront views of the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moon Palace Jamaica Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Jamaica Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.