We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for a week...September 9 to 13...and had a pleasant stay.

Room
After some debate with the front desk, we were assigned a room in the deluxe wing. Make sure your reservation paperwork clearly states what you paid for(Ours didn't). With some insistence we were moved to the deluxe wing. In room free wifi, flat screen tv, key card, white fluffy towels, lovely bedding... Which is not the case on the other side. I burst into tears after seeing our room on the older side of the hotel and then returned to the front desk to request a change to the deluxe side. Fortunately we were moved. The junior suite is beautiful with ocean view from the balcony. Nice touch with the in room liquor. Rum, whiskey, beers...

Beach
Beautiful!!!!! Clear beautiful water!!!! Warm yet refreshing!!! Loved the beach!!!

People,Bar, Food
Some staff are friendly. Our housekeeper was so pleasant! However the majority of staff across the resort just seem mad with the world... Little or no smile... Just a mean demeanor. The steak and gourmet restaurants offer great food and service with a smile.
Some bartenders are simply mean, with poor attitudes despite tipping. We tried to avoid the bar by the pool on the deluxe side as they were the meanest. We walked over to the bar on the beach next to the gift shop for drinks. Breakfast was ok. Only a few smiles from a few... Food seem to be reheated and re-served sometimes...I had oxtail sat the Italian restaurant for lunch as it was not warm. Seem it was taken from the refrigerator and not heated properly. The restaurant by the pool offered great food... Great Jamaican food for lunch! OMG!!! The jerk hut had the best jerk chicken ever! My husband loved it!

Entertainment
After dinner there were many bars to hang out. A great show then disco. The entertainment was great. We saw the steel drum band from Kingston. These young people are talented. Apparently they are the best in the world! Beach party, a tribute to Jamaica music history etc. The live band seem so sad/mad... No smiles or jamming to the beats of the music they were playing. But they sounded melodious just not pleasant to watch play.

The Beach Illegal Jet Skiers
Wow! They were like vultures on the beach. Selling rides, weed and whatever. Apparently the law cannot stop them from soliciting as long as they are in the water and not on the hotel property. I guess they have to make a living too. Just wish they were not so intrusive.

Transportation
Must give a accolades to Donovan, our transport. Very comfortable, safe ride to airport.

Overall we had a good stay. Really enjoyed the beach. Probably will explore another resort or return to Iberostar next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,276
    2,186
    971
    477
    288
See reviews for
1,605
2,375
79
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castelo Branco, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice and kind people workink.
Food was very good! Any time we wanted to eat, we had lot´s of differents kinds of food!
I love to eat fruit, every days it was diversified, we could chose many differents natural juice!
People who likes to walk on the beach have enought space...
At the end of the day, stay in beach, was like to be in paradise...all so quiet...
I miss the wonderfulls pina colada with rhum!!
the swimingpools were always clean.

Room Tip: Rooms near the gardens are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just at the airport killing time so thought I would make a review of the hotel Club Riu. We stayed here for two weeks September 06 to September 20 2013 in a Deluxe Suite in the Deluxe wing of the hotel Had a great time and thought it worthy of a review.

Weather - Was mostly very warm and sunny, but while we were there it was very rainy in the afternoon. We are early risers, so usually on the beach by 0730 so not a problem.

Hotel

Large complex but easy to get around. Grounds very well kept as were the pool areas. All very green and colourful which, considering the amount of rain we had, it is no surprise! Two main pool areas. The one in the Deluxe wing was the smaller of the two, and was quieter. The larger one located in the other wing was larger, and actually the nicer of the two pools but a lot of children there. Loads of sunbeds available all through the day.

Room - Usual standard. Two double beds pushed together to make one large unit. Refridgerator in room, and optics topped up regularly. Also soft drinks and beers in fridge topped up as required. Large balcony, sitting area, dressing area, large bathroom. No issue with towels or flannels (where do these people get off complaining?) No problems with hot water at any time of day, or water pressure. Rooms kept very clean.

Food - Buffet standard was very good, but get there early! We heard reports of items running out at breakfast by 1000 and not replaced. We didn’t experience this as usually there when the doors opened. Breakfast my personal favourite. Loads of choices to suit most/all appetites.

Alternative restaurants. I know these reviews are quite subjective, but the only thing that sets these aside for me is the fact that majority of them are waiter service which makes a change from the buffet. Very hard to get a reservation, though. We thought that you could only book on the day you wanted to eat; not the case, you can book several days in advance.

Mandaly Asian Restaurant - Totally self service. Food OK. Wine very good.
Steak House - Main course waiter service. Devine steaks but service VERY slow. Wine just drinkable.
Japanese - All waiter service. Food great, sushi especially. Wine very good.
Sir Richard - Food OK, all waiter service. Wine very good.

Entertainment. Didnt go to any, so cannot comment. Guests said it was good, especially the steel band nights.

Bars - Very good, but no place to retire to for a quiet drink in the evening. Main bar serves branded drinks if you want them. If you want stronger measures, just ask. Not a problem at all. Bar staff very friendly and entertaining.

Staff - All we met were VERY friendly and a credit to the hotel. The way some guests, however, speak to them, I am surprised they didn’t end up with a fist in the gob. Some guests are so downright rude!!

Beach - Stunning. Very quiet in the mornings and plenty of loungers available all day. Vendors were mildly entertaining on the first day, but extremely irritating on the second! They would just go away if you said no thank you, but it was the continual shouting from the waterline to attract punters, and the arguing with hotel security staff that really got on my nerves. Just ignore them and they will go away unless you want to engage in conversation or buy cocaine, heroin, cannabis, etc.

One of reasons for going was to do some snorkelling, but the reef is quite a distance from the beach, and had to navigate the vendors whizzing up and down on jet skis all day. Not a good idea as the later in the day it was the higher the jet ski riders were. Not a good combination.

Jamaican departure tax. We didn’t go to the Welcome Meeting so missed out on the advice that tax was payable on departure, in cash, no cards allowed. As we had no cash left it was a bit of a shock to have to withdraw $1,800 Jamaican dollars each in order to check in. Our own fault, but something we could have done without on the way home.

Tipping - We tipped regularly. Room maid, bar staff, buffet staff. They work very hard for next to nothing. We did not feel obliged to tip at all, and cannot say we get better or worse service for not doing so. Tips were VERY well received. A couple of $US per drinks round, same for the daily maid service. All subjective but we felt it was deserved.

Would we go back? Probably. We usually cruise the Caribbean so it was a novelty to stay at one hotel for this length of time. For the price it is very good value for money. Not Five Star UK Standards, but not UK Five Star prices, either! You get what you pay for.

All in all a very nice break, in beautiful location, with very friendly people and staff. Chill out, relax, and enjoy. Not the place for a romantic break, but fun regardless.

Oh yes. Saw once cockroach (Deceased) and two cats (Alive) Guess we were “lucky”

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view. We did this with Thompson, and got an upgrade to the Deluxe Wing which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Travelled May 2012 for a friend's wedding. We had some confusion at check-in but Stacey was such a great help resolving this issue. Throughout our stay we were more that pleased with the quality of the service provided to us.

The room we stayed in was gorgeous!...The Jerk Chicken on he beach was AMAZING! but nothing made my stay better than the warmth of the staff. Of all my experience in hotels this has been the best of all. Forget the petty complaints of bugs and ants this is what you find when you travel to a warm company "BUGGSSS!!" there is no avoiding them its the Caribbean. This place is exceptionally clean and well maintained.

Thanks for all the staff that made our experience so memorable.

Only issue I had; money was stolen and security was useless. Better to cut my losses than waste time going in circles trying to rectify the issue.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view its worth the price! Building behind the Front Desk (not sure of its direction ) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I went for a wonderful "girls" vacation for a week and we were not disappointed by our choice.
The rooms could use a little rennovation, but we had a fabulous view from our balcony, and spent quite a bit of time there, especially during the rainy times of the day.
Altho there are lots of lounges at the pools/beach, we still got out early to get a good spot, plus it rained most afternoons, so was good to be out early while the sun shined.
This was my 1st "all-inclusive" of this kind....I'm not usually a big buffet person, but the food was very good....however I definately ate too often and too much - lol!
The drinks ae pleantiful, and they will mix them as strong a you wish....but the bartending abilities are a bit lacking. Definately not a place to order a margarita! It's pretty much basic rum drinks.
The service in the restaurants is great, but no service at the pools/bach, except self-service.
The nightly entertainment was ok, but very crowded, since this is a huge resort, so if you're not into crowds, probably not the best place to vacation. We passed on it most nites.
We went into Ocho Rios one afternoon. the taxis are more money from the hotel, but if you start walking out to the street, you can bargain for a better price. Once in town we found a great taxi driver who drove us all around and waited patiently, for $20.00 including tip. We paid the 1st driver $10.00 for the trip into town. We felt safe in the afternoon, and Ocho Rios is very clean....however we were warned not to go in alone at night.
Be sure to pack toiletries, they only supply soap, and a dispenser in the shower/tub....I didn't have shampoo, and used the dispenser, which wasn't very good shampoo!! Also you need to bring body lotion, as well.

Room Tip: Stay in Building #2, high floor. this building is the most convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

At first glance you will fall in love with this resort. The grounds and pools are expansive, beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The views of the ocean are breathtaking from just about anyplace in the resort and the constant tropical breezes are glorious. Check in was easy and even included a cold beverage. Immediately upon arrival I attempted to make a reservation for one of the restaurants, I knew I did not want the same buffet for 5 nights in a row. I was initially told they had no reservations available during my stay, but she then changed her mind and gave me one for the Steak House for Friday evening. I was very much looking forward to a nice dinner with great service. Unfortunately, I received neither! Our waiter seemed very put out by our very existence and the food was terrible. We ordered our steaks medium well and received butterflied and dried out shoe leather. We ended up leaving and going to the buffett, at least that food was edible and the staff was friendly. I went to the same restaurant the very next evening as part of a wedding party and the food and staff were wonderful!! However, the lack of consistency would make me avoid Rui for future trips. As far as the other meals, they were decent, the jerk chicken was good, but not as good as the Couples resort. Coffee may or may not be available in the morning,and they do not have cream available for coffee until the restaurants opens at 7:00. I don't think it is too much to ask to have coffee, with cream, prior to 7:00 am. Some of us are early risers. There were terrible odors throughout the resort, and I am not talking about mildew, I am talking about sewer smells between the lobby bar and building 1. The odor in the sports bar was so bad, we left before we could even order a drink. The hallway in building 2, near my room, was littered with dirty dishes and plates and smells of garbage. One of the members of our party had a RAT in their room...............not just an unconfirmed story............., they chased it and locked it in their bathroom for management. It took 2 hours for management to even go to their room and remedy the situation. Everyone in our party (27 people) agreed the beds were uncomfortable, all of the pillows need to be replaced, and the bedspreads were of a quality you would expect at a Motel 8. I really wanted to love this place, but even for the lower price, as compared to Couples, it was not a good experience.

Room Tip: Oceanview room was beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Couldnt fault this holiday best yet entertainment team and food excellent definitely sticking to riu hotels been to several in carribean and have not been dissapointed the holiday for everybody even children.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 846
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.