We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Package Sale!
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Markham, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our first all inclusive family vacation. Middle aged couple with two teen aged kids. Kids loved the large selection of food. No one went hungry. The beach with its natural shade provided by plenty of coconut trees was a pleasure to the senses. We were all in agreement that a return trip is in order. Just make sure you stay at least 7 days.
DON'T EVER SIT AT THE FRONT OF THE PLANE. YOU WILL REGRET IT.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are closer to the beach and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,143
    2,010
    871
    457
    267
See reviews for
1,481
2,195
76
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just got back, we were there from 1-27-13 to 2-06-13. we love it!!!! Love it how the resort its all open, so you get to see the ocean from almost everywhere Great Staff!! That jerk chicken that they serve at the beach is horrible!!! We took a cab to a place very close cal Scottiesh and ate a real jerk chicken (its was delicious and cheap). The resort is huge, so be prepare to walk. The bar at the lobby and at the pool, had the best staff!!! the food was very good!! The best a restaurant as the gourmet, we ate in all of them. Didn't like too much the Chinese or the stake house, The Asian was ok, had better. The trip from the airport was 1 1/2 hour. We did the water tubing and the duns falls with the party boat, was great both.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We travelled to this resort from Jan 27,2013- February 6, 2103 on vacation with family members. My overall impression of this resort was excellent! The service was great, freindly staff, great rooms (sometimes smelt a little musty), food in the buffet was very good in comparison to some resorts we have visited.

We had private transportation arranged to our hotel and back to the airport upon return by a local taxi driver by the name of " Byron of Bryon's Taxi Service
He was recommended to us by my sister's travel agent and he was fabulous. One of the kindest, down to earth, person who'll ever meet. We also booked a couple of private excursions with him for rafting and Mystic Mountain as well as a private tour through Ocho Rios and the rain forest and explored some interesting places along the way- not your typical bus tour!!!! If you're going down to Jamaica I would recommended you get in touch with him, he travels the island. His cell number is 876-387-1019 and his E-mail is byrontaxiservice@hotmail.com

We did upgrade to the "Gold" side from the "Red side ( the color of band on your wrist) when we arrived. We paid an additional $220 for the upgrades to a slighter larger rooms and access to Free Internet and more a la carte restaurants.

We were most displeased to find that most of the time, the folks with the "Red bands" were on our side of the resort and taking all the pool and beach chairs while people with the upgraded " Gold" band had to wait to get a seat. You might as well save yourself some money and stay with the Red, if they are allowed to partake, without paying the price.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a larger balcony than others- be sure to ask for one with larger balcony and the jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is an awesome resort. We were there from 2-3-13 to 2-10-13. The only thing we found not to our liking was the noise level around the stage area. They would have entertainment at night, but also have wedding receptions only a couple hundred feet from the stage and the two would compete with the loudness of music. Depending on your seating location, it was very hard to enjoy one or the other. The food was enjoyable and plentiful. The drinks did not seem to be watered down. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. All the staff were very polite especially Terry Ann our waitress. She was great for breakfast & lunch. For dinner the man to see was James Bond our waiter. He did a great job. Our poolside waitress was Keneisha (spelling?) and she was very attentive. These are the kind of people who make your trip very enjoyable. We would return to this resort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port hope
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from riu Ocho rios great spot great staff, a few issues with some ignorant people who bud in front of u, other than that great.Keep an eye on the patio doors lock not the best we put in a price of cardboard to keep the lock from moving, it wiggles open if u shake the door.The trip from Montego bay is 1.5 hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived to a beautiful lobby with drinks waiting after a long ride from the airport. Keriane was fantastic, we had a quick check in and were upgraded to the deluxe wing. Enjoyed the restaurants, especially the steakhouse (Maumee Bay) and the Aisan (Mandalay). The plantation and jerk shack were great options for lunch. The staff, bartenders, waitresses and waiters, cleaning persons, were all so friendly and accommodating.
Verona was amazing. She was just a little more sunshine added to Jamaica.
There are two pools with swimup bars, one a little quieter and the other one included the entertainment. 3:30 was crazy games which usually ended with Brady and his Big Bamboo song.
For breakfast after 8 days can get monotonous, but that happens at every resort.
We have stayed at the RUI before and would recommend them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This resort was wonderful!! To sum up the whole experience: beautiful beach, exceptional ceremony, great staff and delicious food. All 50 of our guest were completely satisfied. Not one person had a complaint. The only thing I would suggest would be that the resort work on having better organizational skills when handling a wedding. Other than that the trip was perfect!!!

Room Tip: I you can, get an upgraded room. Its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 846
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.