We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4 star, just some things to know before booking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD 2016 DEALS
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Mississauga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good 4 star, just some things to know before booking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This review is just an FYI for those travelers who frequent 5 star resorts. Compared to others, the RIU Ochos Rios was very nice but not necessarily a true five star if that is what you are seeking. This is our 9th trip to the Caribbean and our 4rd RIU vacation. The resort is clean and well kept, the rooms are decent but it seems to be missing some of the little touches that other resorts in this class have.

Here are a couple of things we noted missing which have been important to us in past travels:

1. Pool depths are 4 feet everywhere (except where the lounge chairs are located) which might be important if you have young ones who can’t swim.
2. There is not a place to get a real decent Cappuccino, Latte etc. There are a number of Nescafe instant machines around the pool/sport bars but no real baristas.
3. If you are allergic to bees/wasps stings, this is not the resort for you. This is the only resort we have been to where a significant amount bees where present (10-15 at any given time). They do sting the staff frequently (we only went to the deluxe pool, unsure if the 'party' pool is the same).
4. There is not a 24 hour snack/food location like other resorts (if you are travelling with kids this may be a challenge). You can grab cold sandwiches/ nachos in the sports bar if needed at any time.
5. The “Casino” is basically a number of slots in the sports bar.
6. There was no top shelf (or middle shelf) booze even for the deluxe section.

Here are a couple of things we found memorable:

1. The daily “Jerk” hut for lunch on the beach was very nice.
2. The entertainment staff and the staff in general are excellent and very friendly.
3. The Scuba Caribe Catamaran/Snorkeling/Dunn’s River trip was great and is approx $40 cheaper/ pp than the Cool Runnings equivalent.
4. The beach and in particular the Reef just beyond the buoyed markers was great with a variety of very nice coral and sea life.

Final Tip – The time of year

We went at the beginning of November, during the “rainy season” and true to form it rained quite a bit. This is due to the Blue Mountains which make a wonderful backdrop but also trap the moisture laden clouds. We would recommend going to Negril rather than Ochos Rios at this time of the year as they get less rain on the west side of the island.

Room Tip: Many helpful tips in this review
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    2,347
    1,050
    500
    314
See reviews for
1,760
2,521
85
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

why is so many people got there phone and other valued stolen,me and my wife went there last week,we went out and forgot over cell phone on the bed,on our return the phone went missing,we lodge a report to the manager but were told that they are not insured for phones,we got on the plane back to london without the phone,but luckely the person who took the phone didnt realise how sophisticated the phone was,what he did was go on what up remove my husband photo and replace it with his,as a go on whats up i shaw this guy and recognise that he was the mentain guy ,people be very careful with your value when you go to this place they only got the name and full of criminals( beware.)a got my phone back thanks to the tecnology.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Riu and loved it. This is a first class hotel with great staff on a terrific NATURAL CLEAN beach. The hotel is only 7-8 years old and looks good and is close to Dolphin Cove, Dunn's River and Mystic Mountain. The drinks are not as watered down as at the Jamaica Grande and the food, although comparable to the Grande, has much more variety. Almost impossible to get a specialty restaurant reservation which you should try to get AS SOON AS YOU CAN as the food, although generally good, is repetitive. Your kids may like the pizza but I am from New York and most frozen ones I get taste better but this restauraunt is right behind the desk and open all day so you can grab a bite if you get in at 3:00. (the other lunch places close at 4:00 and the regular buffet opens at 6:30 so keep that in mind if you arrive hungry.). The pool areas are very modern-plenty of chairs/shade and there are alot of bars if that is your thing. Need a card to exchange for towels and they still give keys that you may want to leave at the front desk to be safe. Agree with most of the positive reviews. We were able to wait a month before to book and got an OCEAN FRONT for only $ 235 a night. OUR room had a frige stocked with soda, "wata" and red stripes and liquer bottles. If you can get an ocean front (there are very few because of the layout of the hotel) for a good price, do it. The view is wonderful. This is a solid choice-a step up in a few ways from the Jamaica Grande which has an awful beach by comparison. Too bad it is so far from the airports. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Only a few Ocean Fronts but you will be closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We just returned from a one week stay at the hotel Riu Ocho Rios! We were four women getting away from our husbands and kids. We have never met such friendly and outgoing staff at any other all inclusive resort. They went out of their way to talk to you and get to know you.
Our weather was sometimes a little rainy but in sunny days there was always chairs to be had at the beach. The sand was great and the water was warm. Snorkeling not great off the beach though.
Rooms clean. Food was good with different theme nights and lots of variety. We would have liked to see a la carte menus instead of buffets in the specialty restaurants but that would be our only complaint. We'd definitely recommend this venue.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Trip Time: November 3 - 10, 2012

ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios was the choice of my daughter and fiance for their destination wedding. Our group arrived on Nov. 3rd. From the time we arrived at Montego Bay airport, we were greeted by friendly staff. The bus trip from the airport to Riu took approximately 1hr. 45 min. The driver told us that they do not stop anymore during the bus trip so the time traveling was not an issue. During the bus ride the driver told us a little bit about the island and then put on some Marley videos to get us in the mood for our week ahead.

Check in went fairly well. We were greeted with a tasty rum drink. Originally, we were given 2nd floor Ocean Front Suites but since we had requested 3rd or above when we made the reservations, our rooms were quickly changed to the 4th floor.

Rooms: Our daughter's room was not satisfactory (the one hiccup during the trip), but it was changed and upgraded the very next day to a beautiful ocean front suite with in-room jacuzzi! It was beautiful. We were all very pleased with the accommodations. The Ocean Front Junior Suites were lovely and accurate to the photos on the website. Personally, we found the beds a bit uncomfortable to our personal taste. The pillows were great but I guess it is true that when you are not sleeping in your own bed, it makes a difference!

Food: We did find the restaurant reservation process to be a bit daunting but by the end of our stay, we found that we were able to eat in all of the restaurants except one (which we found was just a duplicate of another we did try). Some of the meals were very good and it just depends on your personal taste. As Americans, we have different standards than others from different parts of the world just as they do and that must be taken into consideration. We loved the salmon at Tushima excellent, the lamb chops at Sir Richard wonderful and buffets (both breakfast and dinner) at St. Anne's full of a variety that would please all sorts of pallets. The smoothies at St. Anne's were great! Pizza at Piccola Italiana was great one time and just fair the next. The fruit did surprise us...not very tasteful. I do have to say though, if you walked away hungry, it was your own fault because there was always something available.

Drinks: Wonderful. A great variety. NOT weak at all...lol. In fact, I have to tell the bartenders to go easy on the rum! In room bars were well stocked and the fridge full of a variety of soda and water.

Room Service: Had a wonderful room service. Lots of towels. Room was spotless! The iron in our room did not work and it was replaced immediately! Our towels were delivered warm!

Resort Service: There were always people cleaning! They really kept all areas very clean. If it rained, they were mopping floors because they could get real slippery.

Pools: Very clean and well maintained. Acquatic Bar was fun! Wished the pools would be open in the evening. They close at 7 PM. I imagine it was for safety reasons and possibly because of the evening "bugs".

Beach: Allowances had to be made because the ocean was still washing up debris from Hurricane Sandy. I have to say that the beach staff was excellent in cleaning up as much as they could. By Wednesday it was really looking great. The staff would come and pick up emply drink containers, etc. constantly. There were no trash barrels on the beach. They kept it well cleaned.

Fun on the Beach: The staff would visit and encourage you to participate in activities, but they would not bug you too much. They were fun and friendly. Some of the vendors (who were not permitted on the beach but stood in the water), were willing to sell you trinkets (and you know what), but they did not push. We got excellent massages on the beach next to the Riu for less than the spa.

Shopping at Riu: Shops had a nice variety. Some prices were just as good as in town but it was all in what you were willing to spend. Really like the BEACH shop.

Entertainment: During our week we saw a variety of shows: Lion King (Africa), Mama Mia, Michael Jackson Tribute, Steel Drum Review, Jamaican Singer and in-house entertainers. They were all excellent. Their dancing abilities were awesome.

Tours: JTL offered great prices. Unfortunately, the day we wanted to go to Dunn's Falls, etc. the weather was really bad for climbing (rain and high winds), so we just opted to go into town.
People we spoke with loved the Dolphin Adventures. We found prices much better than what the cruise excursions are priced. Various water sports are offered...and no one is pushy.
SUGGESTION: Take the Shuttle into Towns to shop. Much better than expensive cabs!

Renova Spa: Daughter and fiance had massages and hot tub. Said the massages were intense. We had our hair and makeup done for the wedding and the woman were very nice and professional and did wonderful jobs on us all.

Wedding: Daughter was very pleased with the wedding coordinator. Everything done as requested. Wedding on the beach/gazebo was lovely. Minister was outstanding. Beautiful flowers. Photographer was great (Michael from the resort). Everything went just like clockwork. Reception dinner held at The Steak House was lovely...and service was excellent. Sweet Little Cake was a little disappointing. Could not figure out the consistency of it (looked fine but when you put it in your mouth it tasted like it was full of water...lol....but it was memorable to say the least! It was a simply beautiful day! The best day weather-wise the entire week!

SUGGESTION: Along with a good sunscreen, pack a bug spray that contains DEET. The bugs come out at night and if you are eating outside of the restaurants, or by the bars at night you will get bit! The Deet helps tremendously!

What We Took Back: The best thing I took back from Ocho Rios Jamaica was not anything material. It had to be the spirit of the people we encountered during our stay. Lovely people who call each and every day a blessing. We as Americans (and I am sure people of other countries who read this review will agree) take so much for granted where we live. The people of Jamaica do not complain about the "small stuff" like we tend to back home. We are truly rich in so many ways, and have more than so many of the people of Jamaica and yet in a most important of ways, we are the poor ones. I hope I never forget that indeed...every day is a blessing.

Room Tip: Request 3rd Floor or higher. Request a room with an open railed balcony so you can sit and enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed on the 5th floor from 11/6-11/13., rooms were very clean. The beds are hard, but not uncomfortable. We both slept really well. Hot water no problem. The staff was very friendly. Food, typical all inclusive food. If you can't get reservations for the restaurants, don't get upset, you aren't missing anything. The steakhouse only offers beef tenderloin, no other type of steak. The service was also lacking there but that is because it was one guy to about 10-12 tables. The gourmet restaurant was ok. The Asian restaurant was ok, but we were both in the mood for some sushi. Otherwise, we stuck to the buffet. The bartenders were very generous with the alcohol at the bars. We stuck to the beach over near the Mamee Restaurant. Otherwise, it is a bit loud when the entertainment is out and about trying to get people to participate in activities. The beach was absolutely wonderful. Beautiful, no lack of beach chairs or palm trees and the water was nice and warm. There was really not a problem with vendors in the water trying to sell their trinkets or getting you to rent the jetskis. If you ignore them, they don't bother you. It was a haul to get there from the airport (approximately 1 1/2 hours) and on the way there, the driver made a 'pit stop' to let people get a beer and smoke or use the restroom. We just stayed on the bus. We would definitely recommend this hotel to someone heading to Jamaica. We did not participate in the excursions outside the hotel, but don't think it is far from Dunns River Falls.
One of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Jamaica Nov 2-9th. The trip was ok- we are comparing it to our only other all inclusive which is Riu in Dominican Republic. The food was mass produced so it wasnt very tasty and it was always the same. We stayed on the delux side so our room was nice, double sink, seating area and ocean view. I think the rain had something to do with this vacation being a little less enjoyable than expected. The staff is very helpful, attentive and very hard working. Tip, tip, tip.... Try to stay in the delux section-much nicer and you can do all the reso dinners you want. Reso dinners were fabulous esp. Mandalay Bay- that was the best asian food I have ever had. We went to Dunns River Falls through the excursion company on the beach(Scuba Caribe) it was $60 US each VS $130 US each through Sunwing/Signature. It was ok- nice expierence climbing the falls and snorkelling.

Probably wouldnt visit this resort again- MIGHT try Negril one day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 stars 4,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
77.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#46 of 90 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 846
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel and Priceline so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.