We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Has potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

There are some amazing people working at this resort. Lineth Pryce made me feel like I was having breakfast at a family members home. Oneill at the bar made the extra effort of going to another bar to replenish my favorite drink when his bar was out. Steve Wright in the steak house deserves special recognition for NOT accepting a bribe to get into a seating. Instead he said if there is room I will seat you can you can tip if I do a good job for you. I hope that Riu realizes the special people they have and make their nametags larger so you can read the names.

The beach here is small but very convenient. It's a small bay that you can float in all day. The pool bar is just steps away. Jesse James on the jet skis will take you over to the Falls! A way better way to go then by bus! If you need any info on the area, look for Dr Feelgood with the gold tooth smile, he's been working that beach for over 20 years.

Unfortunately the bad outweigh the good here. The cleanliness in the public areas were not what i expected. Cups on the beach were only picked up once or twice a day. As others have reported, there are roaches around the bar areas, restaurants and restrooms.

I found Mandolay disappointing. Iit's an Asian venue that required reservations, but it's a buffet!
The food at the resort is plentiful, but bland. I never salt my plate at home, but found myself doing it at every meal here. Our best meals were the steak house and breakfasts.

This was my first stay at a Riu. Others guests said that they had been to other Rius in Mexico and they were much nicer. I think the layout and staff prove the potential is here, but the cleanliness issue is to big to ignore!

Room Tip: You can see the water from almost every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,147
    2,012
    879
    458
    267
See reviews for
1,486
2,200
76
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Innisfil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I believe you get what you make of it. The Riu is a wonderful place and the staff were all very friendly. The food is absolutely amazing, I'm sure even picky eaters could find something. The buffet has a wonderful variety and was never boring. We tried 2 of the al a cartes and were not disappointed with either one. The entertainment was wonderful and the shows were fun to watch, make sure you take in the preshows (very funny). The resort itself is beautiful and had just suffered through Sandy 2 days before we got there but the staff had done a great job of cleaning it up. Our room was spacious and clean and the maid was very efficient. We had more than enough towels and facecloths to do us. I never saw any cockroaches as others have stated, did see a few 1 mm ants in the bathroom but not any thing that I would complain to management about. The beach is beautiful and there is one of the nicest reefs to snorkle at about 300 feet off the beach. They were many excursions that you can partake in, almost something for anyone. Like I said before you get what you make of it. I was always pleasant and the staff was very pleasant back. I understand I'm not at home and I don't sweat the small stuff. A vacation is when you are supposed to relax and that's is just what we did at the Riu!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Seriously people you give this place bad reviews ? what is wrong with you ?? This place is paradise on earth !

Location : Amazing, the grounds are huge with many bars and restaraunts so you have lots to do every day

Food : Amazing ! I love food (im not fat haha) this place is unreal, fresh fruit every morning, food does not stop during the day, with all day chicken being BBQ'd on the chicken hut, the little itallian place knocking up spaghetti bolognese, the large dinner hall serving lots of fresh fruit
In the evening you have a choice of around 8 restaraunts, chinese, Japanese, steak house, etc.. as well as the self serve buffet which is actually really nice.

Staff : Very nice, everyone is just so happy !

Price : its all inclusive

rooms : very nice and spacious - oh and you get free drinks in the room, the all inclusive is 24/7

Entertainment : Really good, they have shows on of an evening, they have reggae on the beach during the day, if you dont want to watch any of the shows there are lots of bars you can go to instead (all free) and a nightclub, and sports bar

The Riu Ocho rios is perfect for couples familes or groups of friends

Ive been here twice now (last time was over new year) the new year party the Riu done was amazing, everyone got involved, best place on earth, DO NO LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'm not sure how this Resort has had such high reviews, because after spending 7 days there, I am certain I will not return and I will share my experience to deter others from having the same experience I had with my family.

Although impressive in size, Riu is not as glamorous as it may first appear to be. Excluding the front desk, the staff is mostly very friendly (probably because I'm a female and the bartenders are all male, which I can't say I minded). The front desk is the first sign of how disorganized the entire hotel is. When arriving at the front desk to check in, I was surprised that no one asked for our ID's or credit cards to confirm that we were who we claimed to be. No one even checked a computer, which is also odd. There was a clear sign that said checkin at 3pm. We arrived there after 4pm and our rooms were not ready. Once we were finally able to get to our rooms, we did not get the ocean-front room we were promised. We were promised a room change for the next day, but it was not even ready at that point. Calling the front desk to check up on anything was a nightmare. Maybe if our requests were noted in a computer like everyone else in the 21st century does, the different staff members we spoke to would know what I was asking about. Two days later, we were moved to our ocean-front room. Facilities in the room are not ideal. The beds are uncomfortable and good luck getting hot water every day. There was also not much pressure coming out of the shower head, which was faulty. When we notified the front desk, they said "everyone" was experiencing problems with water pressure and it was being remedied. I was also appalled when I noticed there were roaches present in the room as well as in some dining areas.

The food was hit or miss. The 2 days that were dedicated to Jamaican food were excellent, however there was not Jamaican food available every day. Being Jamaican born, I was looking forward to having ackee and sailfish whenever I wanted, however that was only available for the first 2 days. The rest of the days were filled with sub-par fried food. Who goes to Jamaica to get food that is available in any fast food restaurant anywhere in the states? The cooks should stick to what they know-- which is Jamaican food. They had a jerk hut station at the beach, but clearly that ran out quickly because it's the only constant place that has great Jamaican food, which is absurd to me. I also find it absurd that coffee is not made more easily available. Good luck if you have a room that's far from the eating quarters, because elevators are scarce and it's a heck of a walk.

Some of the restaurants you had to make reservations for, but don't bother. It's HORRID. The Asian restaurant and Mamee bay restaurant were the only 2 I tried and it was seriously disgusting. The buffet was a salad bar with lettuce sitting in water and the onion soup must have bean seasoned with the ocean water because it's the saltiest thing I ever tasted. The shrimp tasted like it was frozen shrimp that was thawed. It was falling apart. The steak is overcooked and the sides were undercooked and I believe the corn was cooked in butter and brown sugar and cinnamon. We left after taking 2 bites.

The pools are very nice, however they close waaaaay to early! This needs to be taken advantage of more. Who doesn't want to party and drink in a pool at night?

Apart from the troubles that were caused by poor management, I did manage to enjoy my time there-- unlimited booze does the that to you!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view, but elevators are very scarce so you'll most likely have to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family had two weeks here it was fantastic the staff were so helpful and friendly and the food was so good of all the places I've stayed in the Jamaica by far the best.
My wife and son were so sad when the holiday was up.
I went with first choice and it was so easy to deal with them and the rep at the hotel (Pauline) was the bomb!!! We done the mountain trip the best bit of the tour was cleave the bus driver tried hard to keep us entertained but the trip was poor!!
I booked a boat as I'd each time we go to Jamaica to do some deep sea fishing caught a 135kg marlin and a few dorado the crew really made the trip they were so helpful and the skipper (speedy)really new his stuff and that made it a great day out,
Anyway back to the hotel we got hit by sandy the hurricane and the staff at the hotel looked after everyone very professionals
The hotel was very clean and the staff tried so hard to make sure that we all had the best holiday ever! And they succeeded xxx much love to them all xx

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel was nice! Great beach- great entertainment- food ok and service not so much! This was my first time to Jamaica! The entire vacation was great minus the service, I felt that was a bit weak! So im not sure how to rate this vacation? I'd have to say try it out- we had a good time! Just don't tip too much because we tipped a lot and it got nothing except the maid turning her nose up because we asked for more then one towel and extra water! Other then that the hotel itself was very nice! I'm all for trying things twice- I'd definably go back to Jamaica one more time- but prob try another destination like Negril.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Dear Team of Hotel Riu,
my friend and I were seeking a little get away to regain energy and to explore a little bit of the culture Jamaica has to offer. We really appreciated the friendly and attentive Staff, the variety of the different buffets. You could really see and feel that they put their heart into everything they did. Daily changing Theme buffets and accordingly to season entertainment shows. The entertainment team were absolute spectacular!!! I have worked in the industry for numerous years and I have rarely met a team which is so alive and eager to involve the audience which they did effortlessly. During the day, there was staff which provided with information for daily tours, they inquired of our desire and advised us accordingly. we have made some great memories and would always return to this hotel. Thank you for a great time.

Room Tip: i would definitely recommend to choose min a junior suite. The lower quality rooms are a bit small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 846
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.