We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Deal!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Deal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We booked a last minute trip a week before we went. We got an awesome price and after reading some of the reviews were not sure what to expect. I must say we were pleasantly surprised. Definitely a great value for the money. It met and exceeded our expectations. Service and staff were great, hotel was very clean, the public restrooms were always spotless. The food was great. For the people that complain about the food they should go to Cuba if they want to see what crappy food is. There was always plenty of selection at the buffet, the salads and fruit were great. The beach parties and bbq's were awesome. The shows weren't the greatest but I didn't go there for that. There are two beaches, the south beach is ok as long as you don't want to swim, the water is warm and a little questionable, lots of seaweed. They have floaty rings you can sit on so that helps. The north beach is small, but the water seems cleaner as it is more open to the ocean. There are sea erchins there tho so wear water shoes. The sailing with the hobbie cats was fun and the snorkelling was fun too. There were some kids there but we steered clear of them. There are 5 pools so lots of options. The pools seemed very clean and the waterfall was nice.

The disco at the resort is a bit lame, the dj a bit of an jerk as he likes to hear himself talk in the middle of a song and is not aways open to requests. If you go with some other people it can be fun though.

The room... everything you have read about the North tower is true, rooms there are not that nice unless you are lucky enough to get on the ocean side. Our first room was musty smelling and had a terrible view. We had a bit of a hard time getting a room in the south tower until we insisted that we were not leaving the front desk until we got one. Finally a manager was put in our face and they took care of us. We had to spend two nights in the musty room though till something opened up in the south tower. Once there we had a great room, clean, not musty and great view of the town in one direction and the beach area the other way. We were on the 15th floor so the view was awesome. The only pain is that the elevators are small and even though there are 3 of them, it seems they are really busy and slow. I would not have wanted to walk down the 15 flights during a fire alarm. There was one while we were there but we were still in the North tower at that time. As for the a la carte restaurants we heard they were great from people that went, but we chose not to be tied down to a time. Trust me we ate well, we even gained weight! The beach side grills are awesome for lunch with there jerk chicken, or if you just want a quick sandwhich or burger and they serve till 2:00am.

The spa is great, we went for a massage. Its a little on the expensive side, but it is very good. If you get a chance to go do it.

The location of the resort to town is great. Lots of bars & restaurants are walking distance. If you get a chance go to a bar called Ocean's Elevin for some local live reggae, or go tues nights to see the locals do karokee. Its amazing to see the talent. Its totally safe, lots of sercurity even walking at night. If you can go in a group. You might get some people on the street asking you to buy stuff during the daytime especially, simply say no thankyou and walk away. If you are into excursions everything is within very close proximity to this place, dunns falls, dolphin cove, zip lining, you name it.

Overall we had a great week and would definetly go back there. Anyone who complains is just being too picky. Jamaica is an awesome place to visit and the Jamaican people are so nice, all you need to do is talk to them and show them some respect and they will give you the biggest heart felt smile you've ever seen. And they have a great sense of humour.

The hotel says you are not suppose to tip, but if you do it on the sly its very much appreciated. We tried to tip the people the typically would not get tips, the man or lady that is keeping the main areas and washrooms so clean, I'm sure they get forgotten about. We also tipped the water sports guys and the maid of course. If you can sneak the sercurity guards a cold drink. They work 12 hour shifts and its a long boring day for them and they only get a half hour break.

One last thing, during the superbowl the hotel put on a huge superbowl party with big screen tv's and lots of food. I'm not into the superbowl, but I thought it was really cool they why they did that up. I'm hoping that they are doing the same thing for the Olympics. Maybe someone going during the Olympics can let us know.

The only negative for me was the flight on Sky Service. This is my second bad experience with them and I will never fly with them again. There planes are crappy and old and cramped. I spend extra money to book the exit aisle seats before going and then our plane broke down and was replaced with a smaller one. So my assigned seats were no longer exit aisle, and I was told too bad, you will have to write them a letter to get your money back. Yeah good luck with that. If you have to spend an extra couple of bucks to fly on another airline, do it.

No other negatives, would go back to this hotel and to Jamaica in a flash.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,017
    1,626
    962
    544
    383
See reviews for
1481
1351
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlyle, Sask.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this resort the first week of February 2010 and as this was our first winter holiday we don't have anything to compare it to but we certainly did enjoy our week.
The food at the buffet was very good each day with so many choices that it would be hard for a person not to find something to enjoy. We didn't try the A-la-carte restaurants for the simple reason that we couldn't fit them in with the rest of the activities, the tours and the phenomonal beach parties at the resort on Tuesday and Thursday nights. If we were to stay at this resort again we would definitely take in the beach parties!!!
There is always something going on somewhere in the resort at all times, you couldn't possibly be bored.
The staff was very attentive and they couldn't have been more friendly. We thought they did an amazing job.
Our room wasn't exactly what we hoped for but it was comfortable just the same. We had a beautiful view of the ocean, the pools and grounds. It would be nice to see a major reno of the guest rooms as they are very old and need some attention. We also had a problem with ants in our room. It wasn't a huge ant problem but you shouldn't expect to have any ants at all. We didn't have a mini fridge in our room and this was listed in the amenities on-line but apparently all we had to do was ask and they would have brought us one. We were expecting to have bottled water in our rooms and restocked each day but that didn't happen either.
The resort is in a great location. You are only a block from the markets and the shopping center. We felt very safe in the area and didn't hesitate to leave the resort to go "downtown". The other nice part about the location is the cruise ships dock in the harbour right in front of the resort so you get to watch them come and go throughout the week. We would go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

just returned from this hotel and it is fabulous, staff very helpful and friendly. Good room with views over pool and ocean. food excellent and a very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Disadvantages:
1. Terrible Beach - South side beach is man made, sand is imported and feels slimly in the water, the few umbrellas on the beach are in bad shape. The sand has many stones and some cigarette buds. The ship ports on the beach and blocks the view.

2. Safety - A man kept knocking on our door and asking if anyone was in the room, a man let himself into our room one night, and left when he realize we were sleeping in the room. We saw a male staff doing the same to another room, he let himself in, he did not have cleaning supplies or tools. He was roaming around the room, looking at himself in the mirror (it was weird) – we complained. On the positive side, nothing was stolen. Make sure u use the safe.

2. North Side Rooms - The first room we had was on the north side, it was awful, there was a loud noise from a generator, an ugly view, bathroom was awful, ceilings had water damage - 2 * quality. We asked to be moved to the south side which they kindly accommodated.

3. Keys - we had to go to reception and fix our keys each time we wanted to enter the room. The problem was corrected during the week, my key worked but my friend's did not.

4. Check In - If u arrive before 3pm u will not be able to check in. Pack your summer clothes in your carry on.

5. Fire Alarm Procedure - The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night - the situation was handled poorly, there was no guidance or communication from the hotel until the next day.

7. Beds are definately not 4* , bedding isn't too nice, sheets smell musky. I've been to the Rui Cancun in Mexico for the same price and * rating - the rooms and beds were much nicer.

8. Charge you to make local calls (maybe this is normal for a 4*).

Advantages:
1. Great pools and many bars
2. Kid friendly
3. Decent Food
4. Activities (Very nice dinner on the beach, fun activities during the day and night).
5. Location close to Market and Duns Falls (Cool Running’s is a great excursion)
7. Spa services (I had a really nice pedicure from Michelle).
8. Great Music
9. Did not charge us for losing the room key
10. Easy to book excursions

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

this hotel was lovely and really central in ocho rios the hotel had great facilities for children the kids club was really good and the kids loved it did not want to leave the entertainment on an evening was not so good but was not fussed about that the buffet restaurant was nice but the food was not replenished when it was gone so you had to be down there early we only tried the chinese restaurant but that was lovely the staff are very friendly and helpful anything is no problem at all the beach was lovely too we also went out on the pedalos which was nice if you do any trips barter your price with the rep you will get them cheaper also in ocho rios it was ok to go out but very stressful but when you got into the shopping malls it was great as the locals cant go in them unless they have business there i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

This is a great value for an all enclusive vacation,. The food was delicious, and a choice of local food everyn night. The hotel was beautiful, huge, and very clean. We were worried about noisy kids but they must have been kept pretty busy, because we didn,t see many of them. I likedm the resort because it was nso big, giving us a chance to move around.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

My husband & I have just returned having stayed a week at this hotel. We had read the reviews & were a little concerned however we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel was very clean & the staff on the whole were very friendly. Our room was spacious & the bed was very comfortable. We have visited the Carribean many times & the service overall is the best we have had. Unfortunatley the same could not be said for the food!! The main restaurant was fine for breakfast but the lunch & dinner menus were repetitive & boring, fine if you like stews on hot days!! However we tried the three specialty restaurants & these were much better particularly the South Beach restaurant & the Oriental Ginger Lilly, the Italian could have been better. The location was great with easy access to the town & the port for duty free shopping. The night club is fine for the youngsters but has nothing to offer the slightly older generation so it was to bed early most nights! Not sure we would recommend to our friends but for no other reason than than the food on offer was not to the standard we are used to. We were lucky with the weather though so this made all the difference!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#15 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.