We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Well the staff were just out of this world from the house keeping to bar staff not to forget the beach staff as well. Got really friendly with certain members of the staff and they made us feel special.

  • Liked — The view from my bedroom window
  • Disliked — polystyrene cups for our tea in our room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,687
    1,001
    564
    396
See reviews for
1,551
1,400
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

We arrived there on Saturday and stayed for 8 days. Being around Mexico and staying at a five star resort we heard this was the best Jamaica had to offer. We booked the Cabana rooms which are extremely over priced, but due to the beach front location it was understandable.

The resort is spread out throughout the carribean sea front where there is entertainment for all ages. The staff is friendly, but at times it is hard to locate housekeeping. Housekeeping did great with maintaining the rooms, but the room service for both our rooms were horrific. BRING YOUR OWN TOLIETRIES!! The salt water will do a number on you!

As far as the entertainment staff went. We were pleased with Nordia, Krystal, Adrianne, and Sasha!! They did a great job entertaining the guest in shows, music, and side events. The team worked great together and would make sure that all guests were truly having a vacation at the resort!

Hospitality and bell service was good as well, I would recommend going outside the hotel to get better prices on transportation to the other cities. Remember that if you plan to travel outside Ocho Rios (Ochie) you will have to spend a good $100.00US in any taxi. A few must sees are: Dunn River Falls (Ocho Rios Area) Ricks Cafe and the Lighthouse (Negril). I didn't bother going to Kingston, and if you get a chance just go back early to Montego Bay and cruise the city their.

It was a great stay, and the staff at the Grande made it worthwhile to stay in and enjoy entertainment on the property!

Yeh Mon

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We booked with Virgin holidays we were planning a visit to go and see my father-in-law grave and suddenly my Mother in law
died.
What a start to a holiday
Having read numerous review on hotels in Jamica the Sunset ja grande and the Grande bhia stood out .

I settled for the sunset grande as a number of friends from JA
had visited and friends of friends in Jamica go there for weekend and Xmas and special occasions etc

Let me say the speicality restaurants are outstanding the staff are friendly ever so helpful and from the security guards who are plentiful the cleaners the entertainmnet crew and the management you all can take a bow.
Having worked in the English hotel business for 7years I was most impressed .

The every day buffet bar the food was tasty and do try the local JA dishes the breakfast ones as well they are great.
The cocktails and bar which had local as well as branded drinks where tried any and every cocktail imaginable.

The rooms were a great size nicely decorated but a litlte dated
however the views and all of the above was simply a base to sleep.
Daily maid serve meant lovely clean rooms I did not go to the Grande Bahia to spy but our Virgin rep had us stop off .
I must say the entrance did look amazing . How pound for pound the Sunset Ja grande has the thumbs up.
Book up for a great vacations with wonderful food brilliant staff
and the guest were great too.

Well done long may the sunshine on the Sunset Jamician Grande.
Bearing in mind it rained everyday all 7 of the days we stayed we still had bays of fun the Jamicians were all friendly on the days we ventured out.
I can honestly say I have always rated South Africa as a place for great food and great service and breathtaking scenery . Having done CHina THialand most of Europe Dubai and the States numerous times
TOured the Carribean I can say I saved the best till last Jamicia
is fun wether you are young or old have fun .
Hope you enjoyed my reviewl
Thanks to everyone who takes time to write them I for one am grateful.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Hi to all who is thinking of staying at the Sunset Jamaica Grande

This hotel is wicked we have travelled to the caribbean several times but Jamaica has to be one of the best. The hotel is wonderful and the staff are just fantastic RICARDO IS THE BEST!!

we went there to get married and couldn't have wished for a better day Patricia was my wedding planner she was wonderful and can't thank her enough if you are planning to get married there don't worry about your hair and make-up has they do that for you too and the staff at the spa are wonderful, sheldon was the photographer and was just amazing the photos where out of this world.

The hotel is massive and has great view of ochio rios every week or so a large cruise ship docks in right at the side of the hotel.

we went on 2 trips including the cool runnnigs cruise to the Dunns river falls which if you go this is something you need to do i thought it was amazing and good fun we also went on the 9 mile trip to Bob marleys resting place which was good but the coach trip was longer than the actual tour.

The shopping is great go to island village the coach is free and you get money off vouchers for the stores.

The food is just wonderful with a wide variety of meals the buffet is great the italian is just wonderful and the beach bar is the best .

The beach is great and the swimming pools are cleaned and well looked after.

you could also borrow books and games if you forget your books

if i was to knock this hotel for anything i would have to say it's the entertainment has it's quite repetative.

would return to Jamica with out a doubt and would also return to the same hotel.

All i can say now is if your thinking of going don't be put off by the bad reviews
just go for it and make up your own minds and enjoy your time there.
SHARON & JOHN ROCHE

  • Liked — The Location,Cleanliness and the Staff
  • Disliked — The Entertainment
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

This was a wonderful trip. We had a great time. The entertainment staff was fabulous! They had a spectacular kids program and events. We enjoyed every activity they planned. The food was great. The variety and service was excellent.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

we just got back from sjg. I have to say i was very supprised of the good reveiws for this hotel. our wedding was of below average. there was many prob with the wedding and we had no appologies from the wedding co-ord at all. we asked for 2 doves and was given 2 pigeons, when i got to the gazebo i saw my wife ready to walk down the isle and the steel band was still setting up. when we were having our photos done after the wedding, all our pics have bright red chairs in them because the white and gold covers we paid alot of money for were taken off the second i said i do. good things were photographer and video were excellent.

getting onto the hotel. the male staff were very friendly but 90% of women staff were extreamly rude. for 10 days we were there we was not aloud any activitys eg catermarans/cayaks out at all. a different excuse made every day. we were told not to go into the sea as there was to many dangerous fish on the ground. the beach had jamaicans pestering us for smoke or jet ski all day. the beach and the sea is discusting from all the rubbish turned up from the cruise ships.

the food is exactly the same all day every day and is awfull.
appart from that the junior suit we had was lovely and very clean.
nigrel is much nicer go there.

  • Liked — swimm pool, rooms excelent
  • Disliked — most staff, food, weather, wedding, beach and sea
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Well what can i say, we booked the holiday with Thomsons and the flight was very good. When we arrived in Montego bay there was some serious 'liquid sunshine' coming down, but no problem mon as we were finally in Jamaica. Everything at the airport ran very smoothly and we were soon on our coach on our way to resort. The bus drive is long but you do get to see a lot of sights so its not too bad. 2 hours later we arrived at the SJG and was very grateful of the welcoming fruit punch drink waiting for us. Check in was very quick and the ladies there were very pleasent. The open air lobby is breath-taking and superbly cleaned (i will get to this later). We booked 2 excursions with Thomsons, the bamboo river rafting followed by a trip to the dunns and the horse riding. The coach was late for both trips and was almost an hour late for the horse riding so beware!

The main buffet at the SJG is very much the same as any other all inclusive carribean resort i have been to, after a while the selection does become a bit repetitive. However the 3 other restaurants at the hotel are incredible. We only ate at the main buffet for dinner 3 times out of 14. The hotel tells you that you can only visit each of the restaurants once each week but this is not true. Ginger Lily (chinese), we ate here 6 times and the food is lovely. Be warned the starters are very small so order 2 of them, for the mains one each is plenty but make sure that 1 of you orders rice and 1 orders a chow mein.

La Diva (italian), we ate here 2 times and again the food is lovely. They start by giving you some sort of tomato and cheese bread with a garlic dip which is so yummy, you can ask for more of this!. Also my fiance didnt really like any of the starters that they had on the menu so he asked if he could have a smaller portion of one of the pastas that was on the main course menu and the waiters said no problem. The mains were delicious and so were the puddings.

South Beach (steaks!!), we ate here 2 and my god it is the best piece of steak i have had in ages. Again food was lovely

POOLS - my there are so many pools here all of which were great. Big hi to Rhandie on the south pool bar, he was a top man. The jacuzzi was lovely just luke warm but no bubbles!! The hot tub so nice but very very hot so be careful. And the slide was a blast, saw more adults on it then kids whilst we were there.

We were on the 15th floor of the south tower and our room was fine, didnt smell at all and the view we had was breath taking. Our maid was so lovely and made animals out of towels on our beds. On our last night she had made 2 swans with their heads in a heart shape and put petals all over the bed, its the little touches like that, that make this place so wonderful.

Barstaff - oh my god these guys totally made this holiday - Steve, Ricardo and Ralston on the main lobby bar. Best guys ever, made the lobby bar the place to be EVERY night.

Be sure to ask for a famous flaming bob marley!!

oh and the hummingbirds are soooo good too.

Lastly big shout out to Augustus who cleans the main lobby. He works from 4pm to 11pm everyday except Wednesdays and my what a job he does. He is the hardest working guy there and so so nice. If you see him just a simple 'yeah mon' to him adn he will be smiling for the rest of the night. The lobby is the first impression people get of the hotel when they arrive and he makes sure that it is always spotless so show the man a little love.
I would def recommend this hotel to anyone, however if your looking for a 5 star resort dont come here. Just keep an open mind and everything will be IRIE MON

  • Liked — The staff cannot do enough for you
  • Disliked — The towels in the rooms are a little on the small side
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.