We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The good and not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked with Air Canada and we were a bit worried about this as we have never had a great experience with this airline. Given it was last minute and the price was excellent we took a chance. The good – the flights were on time, did not lose our luggage and we got to sit together.

Not so good – the flight was not direct and the air Canada staff were not friendly and at times a bit grumpy. The flight to Toronto had a good choice of in-flight entertainment which helped with the four hour flight time. Unfortunately unless you downloaded the Air Canada App, Toronto to Jamaica there was not in-flight entertainment unless you had the app, or you could rent an IPAD for $10.00. This was not communicated in advance which would have been nice to have installed.

We will never book a trip this way again even with the great price as for the most part you lost two full days of the vacation in travel. Not to mention how tired and exhausted we were. In the past our direct flights we have been on the beach in half a day or so and seem to have more vacation time.

When we arrived in Montego Bay and we waiting for the bus to leave to the resort which is about 1.5 hours away, we purchased 12 beers for our group, we were shocked by the $75.00 price tag. So beware. That said, we were on vacation and the beer tasted so good.

We were greeted at the hotel by the staff with the typical rum punch. Smiles and warm greetings from all the staff which remained consistent through the trip. . Air Canada had a special check in line so we did not have to stand in the long line with the other guests.

When I booked the room on line I had requested two beds and a room far from the disco and noise. When inquired about it I was told he did not know if my request was honored and he could not change the room at this time.

The room was not as requested only one bed. We had a cot brought up. We selected not to move as another couple from our group was provided a room that was being renovated and they had to be shuffled around several times. Room service was a bit sketchy, sometimes we did not get towels.

The view was beautiful. Given that it was in the bay it was not as nice as Montego Bay.

We were not provided any information about the hotel, such as eating times, a map and services. It seems that the staff only know what is in their area and do not seem to know about the rest of the events going on throughout the resort.

One of the important aspects of this hotel is they offered wifi we thought was included. It was an additional $30.00 for the week and was fairly unstable. They did warn about this in advance.

The room was basic and clean. Fine for a trip such as this very little time is spent in the room. It had a TV and some good channels to choose from worked well. Our AC worked great but did drip making the floor fairly slippery, and one day I took a good tumble. Our balcony did not lock and we request for the repair which did not happen. Given we were on the ninth floor we were not so worried. In order to use the safe you had to provide a credit card and go the main desk for the key. It would have been nice to know that on check in so as to not have to go up and down to get settled in.

We had a fridge but did not find we needed or used it. Coffee was instant, good tasting as it was Blue Mountain coffee. Coffee was available around the resort.

The pillows were terrible and far too hard to get a decent sleep.

The food we found to be very good. The al la cart nights even better. Air Canada pre-books the nights and time for you which was great not to have to fuss with this each day.
They had two grills one with hamburgers and the other bbq jerk chicken which was divine. It took us several days to find that grill and ate lunch there the rest of the week.

The drinks were very sweet and get over whelming after some time. When I found a drink that was less sweet it usually was the bartender special and they don’t share their recipes with each other so it was a bit frustrating to find something that would work for the week.

One of the great things about this resort is you did not have to fight for a beach lounger. You could start on the beach and then move up to the pool and still find space through the day.
The beach was nice and very well protected from the aggressive actions of the locals selling things. A lot of people however stepped on sea urchins and a few jelly fish stings happened.
Remember to bring your water shoes.

There were several pools to choose from with two swim up bars. Not always a bartender available. They also have a smoking water slide that is very fast and lots of fun for the adults even.

The pools close a 6pm which was a bit early for our group.

We cannot comment on the night entertainment as we did not attend any of the evening shows.

The hotel is right in town a short walk just outside the resort gates. The locals are very aggressive, we found it overwhelming and as a result did not shop in the market but ended up in a few shops across the street. It was a bit better than the market. We love their coffee but to find authentic blue mountain coffee was challenging and even more to find a fair price.

Our Air Canada rep recommended book the Mobay Club at the airport. Totally worth it, drinks and food and comfort while waiting for your flight. They get you to the airport early with about 2 -3 hours in advance.

If they offer a direct flight from Edmonton we would consider going back, however still prefer Montego Bay as our first choice.

Room Tip: We were in room 930 south tower, quiet and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your very detailed review. We apologize for not meeting your room request and also for the hard pillow. We are however replacing our room furnishings under a renovation exercise and will use your comments to move in the right direction, so we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear that our staff was always warm and courteous to you and that you were comfortable and could find a lounge chair anytime you wanted one to relax. We hope to welcome you back to the resort for another opportunity to fall in love with the resort town of Ocho Rios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    1,677
    998
    564
    395
See reviews for
1,543
1,391
74
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande was amazing. Everyone was entertaining and the service was great. The shows were also very entertaining. The entertainment crew was probably the best. They're very fun to be around and fun to talk to. The pools, food, and activities were all great too. Lots of things to do at Sunset Jamaica Grande. I will definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We are very happy that you were well entertained and enjoyed your vacation as much as you did. We are eager to welcome you back for another helping of authentic Jamaican hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I visited sunset grande Oct 31- Nov 5. Check in was slow however, it seems it took long to check in due to paper work that needed to be filled out prior to receiving the room key. I'm a district manager for Hilton brand hotels in Toronto and that really irked me. Sunset should attempt to incorporate a system to make check in more efficient.

Food was decent. I'm of Jamaican background so I get lots of Jamaican dishes at home in Canada. I guess due to mass producing food items it seems the spices are not as prominent.
I had some nice food off the resorts. Had some nice ackee, fish, and an assortment of ground food.

Location was good. However, the Sunset needs to clean up the entrance of their hotel. The hotel has a long front entrance which spans about 200 meters before getting to the exact front. I was constantly bombarded with offers to purchase an item or taxi rides. It became very annoying, and I was reluctant to walk off the property at times.

Hotel is very clean. I was in room 1415. The cleaners did an excellent job of maintaining the room. Service was good, and the bar tenders were great.

In conclusion, I enjoyed my stay mainly because I met some great people. I'm not sure if I will visit again unless the above recommendations are met. I may continue to stay at grand Bahia in the future. However, the staff members were great. Some were unapproachable but what can I say.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your valuable comments. Firstly please allow us to apologize for the delays experienced at check in. We are reviewing our data collection mechanisms with a view of making the check in process quicker and more efficient. We have noted your comments on the roadway leading to the entrance of the resort and we are working with the local agencies to improve the situation with guests being approached. We are happy that you met some great team members who made your stay enjoyable. We are beefing up our customer training programmes to ensure that all our staff will be pleasant and approachable. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I loved this place because we were able to eat well at world-class level restaurants with: Italian, Chinese, Jamaican. They serve a nice red Pinot wine or a white Chardonney-delicious. You can have more than 1 entree with your meal. You can eat outside on terasse with beach view or inside.
Better than Cuba! This place is 20 minutes from the famous Dunn's River Falls- bring your rubber shoes(waterproof). You can do snorkling, sailing and kids get to go on a giant waterslide- I love it too! We also took the bike trek up the Blue Mountains-we recommend - a thrilling adventure in a amazon-like climate- really cool. Go to Dunn's River on the off days when there is no Cruise ship in Ocho Rios- you cannot miss them- they are spectacular to photograph.

Room Tip: Bring rubber waterproof shoes for Dunn's river, snorkling equipment is recommended but there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We are happy that you enjoyed dining in our restaurants and visiting the beautiful attractions of the island. Prospective visitors to the island will find your tips on visiting the attractions helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon for another enjoyable vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajax
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I just came back from staying at this hotel I stayed in the south block the food was excellent especially the ackee and saltfish the rooms were clean the only thing is the towels were not white they were dingy even the ones for the beach they should change all of them and get a new set pther than that it was ok do not compare it with the riu if you stayed at the riu before going to this hotel. they change the towels everyday.but I would not stay their again because I like the riu better.the A/C is too cold cannot adjust.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for taking time out to review your stay at this resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the food, especially the ackee and saltfish. We take note of your comments about the towels and are pleased to inform you that we have received new towels and are in the process of changing out the previous stock.
We are also planning to place in room instructions on how to adjust the in room AC to your personal comfort. The resort is undergoing a renovation exercise at the end of which we will be able to challenge the competition. We wish to encourage you to give us another chance to earn your return business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmore, Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I went to Sunset Jamaica on November 3 - 5,2013 and we really enjoyed our self. It was my first time but my husband third time.

The room was clean and comfortable.

The food was great and fresh everyday, there were so many food you could not go hungry.

I wanted to see more local dishes, but I hope that on my next trip we'll will be able to get a lot of local dishes.

The workers were very friendly and I really appreciate that.

I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your positive review. We are happy that our warm and courteous staff made it possible for you to really enjoy your first wedding anniversary. Glad you enjoyed the food and we will review our menus to include more local cuisine. We would love to welcome you back for another relaxing vacation where our staff looks forward to making your vacation unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed in south block. The whole block could do with a make over.
food was brilliant especially the ackee and saltfish jamaican breakfast. Reception and customer services were very helpfull.loads of sunbeds and little hideaways. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday. Only complaints were that the balcony doors could do with some wd40. all rooms should have a fridge has standard. Shelly anne our cleaner was lovelly. Rohan deserves a mention too. And a big thanks to Lance our mini bus driver who took us up to the Bob Marley museum.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your valuable comments; we are in the process of renovating the entire resort so that all our guests will enjoy more comfortable accommodations. We are happy that you enjoyed an authentic Jamaican breakfast while you were at the resort. We will pass on your commendations to our staff members and hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in
#12 Top resorts Hotel in
#14 Spa Hotel in
#16 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.