We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Friends & Family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Group Friends & Family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the time of booking I had problems with their accounting errors, they didn't follow-up on emails and extremely slow in responding. My group was small 21 people and it was a nighmare.
In every which way possible, this hotel demonstrated poor communication, poor customer service and poor follow-up skills. I would never recommend this hotel to any group. Also I have never visited any hotel and see so many cats and crows in the main restaurant eating off discarded plates; this was sure a HUGE turn off. I mention this to the manager and he said it was a problem they are working on it but I never saw one of the workers trying to chase them away.
We made the best of a bad situation. We all enjoyed ourselves and were able to do some excursions, not through the hotel. I wasn’t about to give them any more business.

Room Tip: Some rooms the smell was bad. We stayed on the South side which I heard was better. My room was OK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,025
    1,662
    982
    558
    390
See reviews for
1517
1378
74
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well it was a wonderful celebration on the weekend of our wedding anniversary!
I shudder to think about the difficulty of catering to full capacity of such a large hotel but overall things were quite good at this wonderful property. Everything wasn't perfect and our room needed maintenance but service response was acceptable and overall service compensated! Thanks Jamaica Grande!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food was excellent and amazing. They had a nice range of food to choose from. Sunset Jamaica Grande resort: the staff was very nice and helpful. they helped with everything. The swimming pools were very clean and I really enjoyed it there. I went there on the 12th of September 2012 it was a great holiday. Only 1 day it was raining but it was only for 5 minutes or less I recommend this hotel it was amazing and the best one so far i'm off to Cuba in October and i'm looking forward to that. The rooms were clean and the beds were brilliant and we asked for more pillows and we got them. they have a ice cream machine you can go and help yourself too its brilliant and cool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First off, I should never have used Book it.com to plan this vacation. Their error cost me a lot of stress and money. Showed up to the airport at 4 a.m. on the day of departure, only to find out that " someone"( I'm guessing the booking agent) inadvertantly cancelled our plane tickets within 2 hours of my booking the vacation package. Of course they showed up on my " bookit" itinerary, so I had no idea. Needless to say, while " Bookit" was busy avoiding blame, Airtran was busy finding us another flight. The next available was 2 hours away and the next day so we stayed in that city and flew out the next day. Next problem, wasn't able to print a flight itinerary so JTL transportation from airport to Sunset Jamaica Grande gave me a hard time about my return transportation. Not to mention had to make up a flight number for customs!! Got to the hotel and because we came a day late ( I had the Bookit rep notify in advance) we couldn't get a room in the south tower as I had requested. We also missed an excursion we booked but luckily got a refund. I then bought internet access for a week to print my flight itinerary as the JTL rep at the hotel insisted I needed ( would not take my word), and found out the hotel didn't have a business center as they advertise. I had to send my itinerary to their email to be printed. I wasted half a day on this crap and was near tears. The rooms in the north tower were not bad but the entertainment in the north hall next to the hotel is usually a loud band and lasts until 11 p.m. pools close at 6 p.m. which is annoying, and sunset was around 6:40. Most of the pop machines ran out of ice, and most mealtimes you had to scrounge for a cup. The ginger lily is the best restaurant and you can call the night or 2 before you arrive and make reservations for your first night. Tipping is huge in this country and everyone who assists you will want one. There are guards at the fences on each end of the resort to keep the locals from bothering the resort guests with jet ski, merchandise, or illegal substance peddling. The gift shop prices for souvenirs are surprisingly lower than the tajmahal's prices except on t shirts. The Tajmahal shops will deal, the gift shop won't. Overall, it was a good experience. I had read every review on trip advisor before we went, and had good insight about the trip. Would definitely recommend the Blue Hole tour and the Chukka catamaran dunn river tour. Both excursions were lead by competant and humorous people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are looking for high luxury, this is not the place, but it is a very nice place. However, we never intended to stay in room or on site all day. We do excursions - at least one a day.
If you want loud, party atmosphere stay in the North Tower. For the quieter stay, stay in South Tower or Cabanas. We had requested the South Tower when booking and during online check-in. When we got there, only North Tower rooms were available. It took 2 days but they finally got us moved to the cabanas. Check in is long and the same forms I completed online, I still had to do in person. Only encountered 1 rude person (staff and excursions) on entire trip and that was during check-in.
Food was good but not great. They are cooking for all guest so food can be blander. Drinks were good - enough alcohol but not too much. Many from other hotels complained of weak drinks. Recommend the Caribbean restaurant for dinner. They request men to wear long pants for non-buffet restaurants. Many do not follow and are seated.
Non-water sports are included. Take the Hobie cat ride. Waterslide is fun even for an adult. Snorkeling is hit or miss. Beach is shallower so do not be afraid. Excursions are available for booking at hotel. Recommend seeing Phillicia at the Apple Vacations desk. Shops\market are right outside of hotel. We never made it to them, but if you like the market\haggle experience, it is right outside of the gates.
For those that cannot do without there electronics, WiFi is a pay service and is only available in the lobby. Just buy the $30 for the week package.
Tips are included in price so you can don't need anything on site. However, we tipped because honestly the staff bust their butts for you. Staff are conditioned not to take it and many did not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

July 2013, just got back and had to make sure I spun my review from the perspective of service. Yes, the hotel, beach and food are all wonderful. Nuff said -- the staff is what makes this place super! From the front desk staff, bartender, risk management, bell hop, pool manager and chef -- these are the ones who make SUPERIOR SERVICE ring true! SUPERIOR service in entertainment as well - could not post without a big up to DJ Shell who saved the night! The local clubs are nice, but why leave when you have the best dj right on property. He took the house back with old school 80/90's reggae and brought us around again. He was generous with guest shout outs and special requests -- forget about M---ville; my drinks were inclusive and my time with DJ Shell exclusive! Made my last yad night perfect. Back to reality in the good ole USA. See you soon bless up!

Room Tip: Cabana's are it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice, my first stay was excellent despite there was a discrepancy with the room upon check in, neverthless i had a wonderful time. My second stay was disappointing, the food on the buffet was not good, however the entertainment was great and i dined at the italian restaurant , which made my trip, sadly I cannot remember the name of my server but he was extremly professional and the food was amazing

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.