We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice, my first stay was excellent despite there was a discrepancy with the room upon check in, neverthless i had a wonderful time. My second stay was disappointing, the food on the buffet was not good, however the entertainment was great and i dined at the italian restaurant , which made my trip, sadly I cannot remember the name of my server but he was extremly professional and the food was amazing

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    1,675
    995
    564
    395
See reviews for
1,540
1,390
74
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I checked in at 5pm however the room was still not ready when we went by the room at 5:30pm. The housekeepers were still inside. Please not I checked in two days before online and called ahead stating what time I would reach. When they saw us they politely said they are finished now but the room was still not properly kept and it had a wet mouldy smell. On inspecting the room, the new shower curtains had fungus things like on them as if not washed properly and the soap residue built up had green like colours all over the curtain. we were assigned north point rm 850. I stripped the room and notified the housekeeper for them to be changed. they were changed and the room was cleaned more properly the remaining days and the mouldy smell went. Remember to keep your balcony door closed while ac is on The room was like 2out of 5. I was feeling a bit sick and couldn't spend much time outside but the room wasn't accommodating either. The outside was clean and had many fun activities to enjoy and keep you occupied and rocking. the buffet food was superb too and a lot although some items finished quickly. we dined at La Diva restaurant and the service was exceptional, the waiters were on top of things! food was good also. we also went South beach Caribbean grill and it seems to be popular because it was full which caused the service to be diminished because of a lack of waiters. it was slow and we decided to skip dessert because it was taking forever to reach. all in all its a wonderful place and would recommend. P.S Watersports activities are full and you have to sign up and wait for like twenty minutes

Room Tip: Rooms by south pointe are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Heights, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I took a group of 28 woman in May and I must say we was treated royally. I enjoyed the room, food, and entertainment. The beach was nice and Steve on the beach took us on excursion at a very reasonable price.( boot ride we got to drive boat, jet ski, swam with the dolphin and dunn river falls) very cheap.. I was nervous after reading reviews but glad I went. Drinks were great you have to ask them put more liquior in and they have top shelf . Will recommend this hotel. Plan on visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I wanted to be able to write a good review of this hotel. Food was excellent, good amenities, good entertainment, nice rooms and great locality in the centre of Ocho. However, I had a theft from my room and a number of other security breaches which put a downer on the holiday.

Also on arrival at the hotel my travelling partner and myself discovered that we had been allocated a double room instead of the twin room as booked. The hotel told us that they could not rectify this until the following day as the hotel was full.

On my second day, whilst I was resting in my hotel room and whilst ‘sparsely’ dressed, a couple walked in using a key card that had been given to them by staff at reception. Both I and they were ‘shocked and embarrassed’. Apparently they had been given the key card as the hotels records showed that the room was vacant! As well as the embarrassment, this was a total breach of security as if I had not been in the room, the couple could have stolen any of our belongings.

After speaking to the hotel manager, Mr Lindo, who was sympathetic and concerned, we were offered some Swedish massages for the inconvenience we had endured.

I had a second breach of security when finding that my key card was not working, one of the housekeepers let me in the room despite not knowing who I was or asking for any ID.

The third breach of security was more severe. On one occasion I left my IPhone 5 on my bedside table (forgetting to put it in the safe). At no time did I ever take it out of my room and I did not use it during my stay in Jamaica. My phone disappeared! I reported the theft to the hotel security who did an additional thorough search of my room. Myself and my roomie were then taken to Ocho Rios police station to report the theft and give statements which took 2 hot hours. The Police Officer (Constable Bryan) told me that he would deal with it by interviewing every member of staff who had been on duty during with access to my hotel room during the 5 days that it could have been taken. A very good proactive approach. I know that word got out amongst the staff that the Police were involved as I was not quiet about it and the next day, my phone ‘miraculously’ appeared in the room next door which beloinged to my travelling companions. I know that it had been planted there by someone who wanted to avoid any trouble, but because it had appeared there was nothing more I could do. (By the way the Police Officer informed me that in the past, personal items had been reported missing from hotel rooms at the Sunset Jamaica Grande).

Despite all of this, I would stay at the Jamaica Grande again because of the factors mentioned in my first paragragh but next time I would be more security conscious and less trusting of staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our second visit within 6 months to the resort. Check-in was smooth and as repeaters we got free WIFI. You have to have patience because the service can be really slow. We were housed in the North Tower overlooking the pool area but also had a nice ocean view. There were a couple of minor maintenance issues with the room but nothing upsetting because my husband and I spent most of our time on the beach or in the city. As long as the room was clean, there were no major problems and O.T. did a fine job.

When we go on vacation, our goal is to get R&R! Janease, at the South Grill, bar made sure that we had a nice drink that she called "Janease's Special". We usually ate lunch on the beach from the Jerk Chicken Station which was a good alternative to the dining area. For breakfast, I visited Roderick who prepared my omelets and always greeted me with a smile.

During the Manager's Meet & Greet, I had the pleasure of meeting a couple of new staff, Steven Pottinger, the social media manager, and D'Wana, an entertainer. I instantly fell in love with Steven as he is a sweetheart and funny! D'Wana was a sweety too. Two of my favorite entertainers were Colleen and Crazy Chris! You never knew what would happen when Chris was around. They always had the pool area rockin'.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention Mr. Reeder, the manager, who was leaving for his vacation as we arrived. He has always taken time to have a few words with us and that is appreciated.

We like Jamaica Grande for all of the positives mentioned above. In addition, you cannot beat the location. The resort is walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping. We saved a lot of money on cab fare and hung out with the locals! It is also minutes drive to Dunn's River Falls and Mystic Mountain from this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family last August and only have good memories about it. It took 2 hours from the airport on a coach to get to the hotel after being on a plane for 8 hours but the check in time was quick and easy with the staff being really friendly. The only thing is, if they carry your suitcases to the room for you, expect to have to give them a large tip!
The hotel is directly on the beach which was non crowded although quite small, as it was a bay, sandy and the sea was warm with plenty of deck chairs. We also tried some of the water sports like jet skiing, snorkeling and pedal boating which was fun. I didn't spend much time in the pool as I preferred to be in the sea, but they were large and cold (but not too cold) so perfect for cooling off. My brother took part in the pool volleyball which he really enjoyed.
The food was ok. Pretty much the same as all all inclusive hotels which was fine as we weren't too bothered about the food. The waiters were all really polite and friendly.
The rooms were good. They weren't massively fancy but that didn't matter as we were only there to sleep. The air conditioning worked brilliantly and it was very quiet at night. We did have a problem with our shower but the maintenance guy came and fixed it pretty quickly. I think that Some of the reviewers are being a bit picky about the rooms- yes the lamps were a bit wobbly and the balcony doors were stiff but if you're that uptight about little things like that, a holiday in Jamaica, where most people you meet are generally relaxed and easy going, probably isn't for you. And maybe just don't expect a 5 star hotel either- cause this isn't one. But it is definitely a 4 star one!
We went on a few excursions to Dunns river falls and a water tubing one which were both incredible and well worth going too.
The evening entertainment at the hotel was pretty awful tbh but again, most all inclusive hotels evening entertainment is aimed for little ones so I wasn't too bothered.
We did go out of the hotel into the town a few times which I found a little intimidating the first time due to the amount of people trying to get you to buy stuff. We learnt to just be polite and say no and to not shake their hands of fist pump them, as when my brother did that, they wouldn't leave him alone again!
Overall, an amazing holiday and a hotel where I would definitely return to in the future. The thing I loved most about it was the beach and the people- the Jamaican people on the excursions and the staff, and also the other guests at the hotel. It's the only hotel I've been to where there were no Chavs! Mainly American and Canadian guests and barely an British (I'm British by the way) which made a nice change. Genuinely an amazing holiday. Please don't be put off by some of the more negative reviews. It's amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was a great time

I did one weekend for work - it was a weekend seminar

Ms Alicia Lynch and the Guest relation team were excellent

Polite and friendly and very helpful and made me want to return with my family

Room Tip: I like the North Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.