We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-inclusive hotel-good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All-inclusive hotel-good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande in Ocho Rios is conveniently located in Ocho Rios - one is able to walk to the craft markets and shopping malls.
Our rooms were in the North Tower and could do with some updating, everything seems old and worn. The beach is quite nice, some sections had masses of seaweed though. The food was very good. We choose to have the Jamaican breakfast every day, lots of variety, something for everyone. Not a great choice of local fruits, due to the time of the year. Dinners and lunches were very good. Had dinners at most of the restaurants except the Italian.
The staff were very courteous and helpful and we would like to thank the housekeeper Nadine for doing a good job cleaning our rooms daily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    1,677
    998
    564
    395
See reviews for
1,543
1,391
74
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travelled with 2 couples to the SJG for our annual winter vacation. It was our first time in Jamaica and we were all pleasantly surprised. Our trip was booked through Air Canada Vacations which included a few extra perks including pre-booked al a carte restaurants which was a huge bonus. Our representative "Senior" at the hotel was helpful and always available. We wondered if he ever got a day off!
Positive's of this trip were, the beautiful warm waters, soft sandy beaches, good food and drinkable water.
On the negative side we travelled from Vancouver island via Toronto so it was a long trek. The lineups were long and they seemed to run out of glasses at the pool bars by late afternoon. That can be rectified by buying a thermal mug... Keeps the ice in your drink and the sand out!
The resort is clean but older, what we expected for the price we paid. We were surprised to hear complaints about the food. We all felt the buffet offerings were varied and flavourful. We heard complaints of too spicey and then in the same line too bland. It was obvious it is impossible to please everyone!
Hats off to the great service of Sonia at the buffet. She kept our coffee cups full in the morning and never forgot to bring one tea! I believe the egg man's name is Rodgrey he was so efficient always had a smile and a good morning despite the long lines. Kevin at the front desk was VERY helpful when we requested a room change to escape the elevator lineups. If you can, upgrade to a beachfront cabana. It is worth it! There were also the two Andres and Floyd. ...all gave great service
We will be back when we can get a direct flight out of Vancouver

Room Tip: Beachfront cabanas = no elevators, no noise from the disco and the late night revellers in the hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was there March 1st to 8th 2013 with my family (2 adults and two kids 8-12). I read negative commentary on this website but I tought at that moment it was exagerated. But it wasn't...
We were 4 in the room and the maid decided to give only 3 bath towel per day... I called twice at the guest service to have one more towel but no one came... They promoted kids activity by the DJ near the pool but when we wanted to participate there wasn't any acitivties... disaponting for a child of 8 years old. The food was ok but to much repetitive at the buffet. We only have the right to go 3 time for à la carte restaurant. There were a grill near the beach and they served every lunch the same thing: jerk chicken. On the site it was very difficult to get diet coke, One soft drink machine was out of order at the buffet and at the bar they didn't have any diet coke? For me this is not acceptable. We were there during the spring break... I am use to travel with my kids during that time for the past 4 years.It was not good for a family to be there with student from Georgetown University: drunk people, loud music at nightime, disturbing and no goods manners at all. For that I think the hotel might have more disciplinary during nightime. We also paid for those vacation and wanted to sleep before midnight with young children. I felt the student were more important than the other guest and at the spring break let me tell you the price is higher than ever$$$. Other thing the resort is big and can acomodate a lot of people but there is not enough staff to serve everyone there! This is anormal to have a waiter for 75-100 person at the buffet. Jamaican people are funny and want to serve you at there best but they only have 2 hands. It was ok vacation but I wont go back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in Sunset Grande in Feb13 for a week as a group of 9 in a family. We booked this independently on the website and got a reasonable deal on All-inclusive basis. This hotel is about 2.5hrs drive from Kingston airport and cost us $195 to get there using Jaital transfer services.
The hotel is located on the beach on the bay next to Cruise ship terminal. This hotel is practically in the centre of Ocho Rios, close to all shopping, restaurants, fast food and some of the main attractions, i.e. Dunns falls 10 mins away, White river tubing 10 mins away, Raggae beach 10 mins away cost £10pp to get in???
The hotel has an excellent property, 2 buildings, north and south tower, few swimming pools, water slide, 2 private beaches, large lobby, night club, few restaurants, wifi @ $30 per week, table tennis, beach volley ball, complimentary kids club and evening entertainment. The food was of good quality with good variety and Jamaican jerk chicken was served in the afternoon by the beach restaurant.
The staff was friendly overall especially Sonia who did her best to assist us in the restaurant. The property is kept well maintained and the security is present at all times. The water sports is available at the beach at a cost, few travel companies providing tours at high cost, best to arrange it yourself. Local taxis are available at the entrance at all times. The beach is well maintained, clear waters, few corals present and kept for hotels guests only. Some people might want to opt for South tower as North tower has the entertainment grounds that can be very noisy till midnight but did not bother us.
The rooms were very tidy, rooms were cleaned everyday, has led tv, clean bathroom with toiletries, AC and a balcony with chairs and table and had a good view of the ocean. I would recommend room at higher floor for the view and to keep away from the entertainment noise at night.
Overall we had a fabulous time and would go again.

Cons
Omllettes were not cooked properly as despite asking for well done we had omllettes prepared even by head chef that was runny/raw in the middle.

We asked the sandwich lady in the restaurant to prepare us a sandwich and her reply was, ‘why should I, you don’t look after me so why should I??? Because we paid for all-inclusive!!!!
They always ran out of bowls for cereal at breakfast time and glasses for drinks throughout the day.
But won’t stop us from going back.

Room Tip: south tower for people wanting peace, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

JamaicaNMecrazy Spring Breakers. Where do I start........LOL The flight from Toronto on West Jet was absolutely purrfect. The landing and check thru at the airport was so smooth that I was amazed. The bus trip was approxiamately 1 hour and 45 minutes of pure laughs, stops for beers and excitement as we approached the hotel. We were greeted with big smiles and great service to the room. We were in the North tower, 8th floor, with a STANDARD room. No extras of anything. LOL The beds were a sheet and thin blanket and small pillows. The balcony looked over the roofs, parking lot, water treatment and a small community of homes, however we did have a full view of the ocean. We are not room chics so the room was nothing to complain about, just standard.
We hit the pool everyday by 8:00 am, enjoying the breakfast buffet every morning, with our Baileys for the coffee, LOL The food was delicious every day, never had a complaint. All the servers were pleasant and took the time to stop, say hello, how's your vacation so far....etc. The ala cartes were to good.....we wanted seconds. Our favorite was the Italian. Nice to be waited on after 4 days of buffet.
The weather was overcast for most of the trip, that did not bother the three Canadian chics.
We did miss the water arobics ( they don't do it at this resort) and pool side fun that most resorts have. We found that the pool crew did one thing everyday and that was it. They let very young children get involved in the games, where I think that it was adult related. Perhaps they could of done kids things at other location and of age. One kid got trampled and a chair in the stomach ( by accident) while playing name that song with the adults. The bar crew were fabulous. Work their butts off and smiled all the day. Clayton and Nadine, aka Deena were A#1.
The WORSE part of our trip was the Spring Breakers......not a well mannered young adult in site. They CHARGED the bars in hoades of more that 10, each ONE ordering 10 drinks. Not only that, but consistently let their friends in line to do the same. No one said anything to them as u just never know where it will lead to. After a while it's Xhausting. One day I watched three very young boys stand at the Splash bar for near half an hour. I went up and ask Clayton to please serve them next. The young lad looked up at me and said, Thanks, those spring breakers are RUDE. Yup....out of the mouth of a babe. They invaded the resort by 600 new on the Friday so the weekend was, well, ..........The nights were even worse. Once the bars, club, closed, they headed back to the rooms ABOVE us and PARTIED til 4:35 one nite, and 4:36 the next. People were requesting to move to the South tower. We were leaving on Monday so we sucked it up....however the two girls with me 25 and 24 of age were more disgusted then I, whom is double in age...LOL So.........the resort, staff, surroundings, food, travel, drinks were GRAND.......The Spring Breakers were not so GRAND. Travel agents and or the web site should list this for ALL to know when Spring Breakers are invading.

Room Tip: Choose the south tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contoocook, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent last week at the resort with about eight-hundred spring break college students. My husband and I had a wonderful time. We tolerated the spring break kids (for he most part) and truly felt sorry for the staff. A few of the notable staff members were bartenders, Nadine and Tevin, bar tender in training Nicholas and security guard Abe. All of these people were professional, welcoming and informative. We had a wonderful cabana room far from the spring break stomping grounds! The resort was nice and for the most part clean. Tennis courts need work and we did have a night wihout hot water for our showers. Check-in/out was easy and quick. There were long lines at the bars pretty much all the time. It would be nice if there was a place to get your own water and/or beer at the bars to help alleviate the lines. The food was good. Buffet trays were not replenished as quickly as they should have been. Several times there was no lettuce for salads, scrambled eggs were runny pretty much every day (but you had the option to wait in the omelet line for some freshly made). Overall it was a nice vacation at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Cabana rooms were wonderful! Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a late review.. traveled feb. 12 seven days .. booked oceanfront room, asked for dining reservations as they were hard to get we "heard" . Arrived ok, resort has some good qualities, but unfortuantely our oceanfront room was in the North Tower, the older section and we had double beds instead of a queen or king. REALLY? we had reserved in November so it wasn't like they did not have all rooms assigned and we got there before check in. Disappointed, really disappointed. Dining: The concierge Alicia was suppose to have met us and given us our dining reservations at check in. We never saw her, and were never able to make reservations.. full we were told. Odd I thought, so we never got to capitalize on the restaurants, we heard from friends we met there that the food in restaurants was great. Can't comment on that.

The buffet was always stocked nicely, but food was average. WE found the bar service people sloppy and rude.

Good part, nice pools, good location, great weather and we made the most of the problems. Would I go back, to Jamaica yes, but here, mmmm.. probably not. Would stay at a Riu.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is NOT in the north tower, they put springbreakers there every yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in
#12 Top resorts Hotel in
#14 Spa Hotel in
#16 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.