We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yah, mon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Brampton, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yah, mon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Jan. 31-Feb.6.
We stayed in the cabana rooms. Excellent! well worth it! The beach is right there when you walk out of your room. There is the pool and South beach bar less than 2 minutes away. This side of the hotel is much quieter than the north. The north side is more for families and large groups. Some people staying in the north tower complained of noise but said it quieted down by 10pm. The view from the towers is said to be great. Especially when the cruise ships came in.
We had an amazing time. The staff were terrific!! Suzette was our house keeper she was amazing! Thanks to Claudette (the tennis instructor), I can now hit a ball over the net. Lol. And Mrs. Karen, at the buffet, always made sure to give us fantastic service. Bartenders were great. Sometimes a little slow but, hey we're on the island with nothing to do but relax.

The food was great! My scale is proof. Lol. Hitting the gym hard for next while to work it off. The Jamaican food was great! Always a line up for the jerk chicken. If you're not into trying different foods, they had a lot of traditional North American food. omelets, cereals, pasta, to name a few. Also, if you really need fast food. There are KFC and Burger King right outside the hotel.

The excursions were great. We did the botanical gardens, Dunns River, and Dolpin Cove. Don't leave Jamaica without doing the falls. It was fantastic. Deandrea, our tour guide was great.

Shopping was great. A lot of people trying to sell you stuff. A polite no thanks is all you need. Don't pay the selling price. Always negotiate. The small vendors on the side of the road are a lot cheaper and willing to negotiate than the stores.

All in all, we had a great trip. We're planning a trip back next year with our 8 year old son. This hotel is fantastic for couples as well as for families.

Room Tip: Cabana rooms for couples. South tower if you want less noise. ie. music. And north tower for the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    1,523
    922
    523
    367
See reviews for
1397
1295
68
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st.catharines
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

my husband and i had no problem with facility in general we were there feb.5-12 on departure day we were instructed to leave luggage in departure area while we waited an hour for the bus to airport my husband was overly generous in tipping everyone daily although it was all inclusive when returning for our luggage i noticed my bag half open i really didnt think much of it at the time but upon arriving home my brand new camera which was a gift was gone this saddens me to no end i know exactly which hotel employee took it check out time 915 i suggest they train theyre theiving employees

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I am not by any means suggesting that this is a cheap resort, but you can definitely expect to get more for the money you paid. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned everyday, although the furniture could use a bit of an upgrade (my trip was in 2008 so they may have upgraded the furniture already). The staff were always in a good mood and very helpful, and the restaurant staff were very professional - maybe it's a Jamaican thing because I experienced the same exceptional service at a different resort. Entertainment was better than I expected with local artists stopping by to perform and the entertainment staff really know how to engage the crowd with the fun games they have prepared.

Great place overall and I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I was actually here in April of 2008 - the dates on this site does not go that far back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

So lets start, we upgraded our room paid an extra $500.00 each to have the cabana rooms don't do it so not worth the money all it is is a different location with a worse view.
The service was terrible they had only one bartender at every bar so there is usually a 20 person line up. Also half way through the day they ran out of booze or mix or something. If there was two people at the bar it was because one of them was washing glasses by hand.
The pools are dirty and not kept up.
There is no beach service.
If they cannot accommodate you they just lie to you and tell u some story.
I will never go back there sorry, it was not worth the money they acted like you only paid $27.00 a night.
Even there buffet they would have a omelet or pasta or special chef but only one and the hotel have over 700 rooms so if u didn't plan on waiting for half an hour for something warm your out of luck.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia L, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our Resort. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience our services may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second time back to Sunset Jamaica Grande in four years. It seems to be a fine resort for a family. We stayed for a week the end of January. We had a room on the ninth floor of the North Tower. The room was clean, the water super hot, the view excellent. Plus, the north elevators are not over crowded like the South Tower. My grandson & I walked to the Cruise Docks every morning for exercise and were always greeted by friendly, respectful people.
The buffet food is decent and we especially loved the omelets made by Roderick every morning.He is such a friendly guy! We met Annadeen in the lobby and she is delightful. She makes you feel right at home. We did the river tubing this time and that was FUN and relaxing. Last time we went on the jeep into the hills and that too, was fun. We enjoyed our time at this resort. We enjoy the Jamaican culture & people. I know we will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Getting There:
We stayed at Sunset Jamaica Grande during the first week of February 2013. Our plane landed in Montego Bay and our bus ride was about 2 hours from the airport. Our bus driver was a pretty funny guy and did his best to give us an introduction about Jamaica. We even stopped by a Jerk Chicken place for a snack. Do note for those travelling with kids that cursing, sarcasm, drug references (and usage; mainly marijuana) is fairly common in Jamaica, so while it is all in good fun, those who are sensitive towards such things should be warned. One benefit of staying at this resort is that it is very close to the main attractions like Dunns Fall, Dolphin Cove, and Mystic Mountain. When we arrived, the lobby was pretty big and open, and had a nice view overlooking the pool area. They served drinks while you waited in line to check in.

Rooms:
We had originally asked for a room in the South Tower with a king-size bed with our agent, but we ended up in the North Tower with 2 double beds. North tower was the older building of the two. It was a bit of a trek to get there too; you have to go down an elevator from the main lobby, then into the North Tower lobby, then take an elevator to your floor. Comparatively, South tower was just one elevator ride up from the main lobby. The hallways were pretty messy (looked like no one had vacuumed it for a while). Our room was felt damp and had a musty smell. It looked like they did a recent paint job to the room, but it looked rushed (paint stains on the floor tiles). The balcony doors were also old and the locks were broken. They did have a nice 42 inch LCD TV with a good selection of channels (mainly in english).

We went back to the lobby and asked to switch rooms back to the South Tower, but they told us to come back around 9:00 AM to see if anyone checks out. Make sure you ask to them to put your name on a list so the next person can have something to refer to.

We ended up switching to South Tower the next day, and the rooms and hallways felt a bit newer and cleaner. We still did not get our king-size bed though. The south tower rooms did not have that damp musty feeling, though the furniture and TV are the same as North Tower. We later found out that our blowdryer did not work because of electrical issues, so they asked us to move to another room (3rd room in 3 days). However, our new room did not have a light-lamp post, so we had to request (several times) to get it moved. One thing I noticed for the South Tower was that it takes them longer to respond to your requests. They are also pretty conservative with their light bulbs (they took our closet light bulb from the first room to the second).

Last thing to note about the rooms is the washrooms; they do not have any ventilation! The ceiling is the same ceiling you see in offices, and they do get wet and moldy. The water extinguishers also just (barely) stick out of the side wall instead of the ceiling; not sure if it is going to do anything.

Food:
If you only like jerk chicken, steamed vegetables, and fried fish, then this may be the resort for you. However, don't expect any more variety than this in their main buffet. The lunch menu is pretty much the same as dinner. They do have a over night barbeque place where you can get your fix of burgers, hotdogs, grilled cheese, and fries (in some ways, this is better than the main buffet). They have 3 main a-la-cartes; Italian, Chinese, and Caribbean (and one more that essentially combines all 3). They are okay, and you will need to visit them to take a break from the buffet. Breakfast was better, with 2 omelette stations, lots of bread, french toasts, pancakes, bacon, sausage links, fruits etc.

Bars:
They do have a nice selection of bars, so it is pretty easy to get a drink. There was one night where they ran out of beer and some liquor, which I thought was embarrassing. The bar tenders are generally pretty friendly, but the lines can be long (lots of people). One advice is the bar in the main lobby can be very busy at night; if you only want a beer (or non-slush drinks), go down the hall to where the piano bar is and that bar is quieter). The drinks were okay (no real complaints here).

Resort:
I thought where Sunset Jamaica Grande shined was the layout of the resort. There are a few pools, each fairly decent size. There is a small lazy river that runs beside the restaurant. Little waterfalls really make the resort look nice. You will have fun exploring the different pools. There are two main beaches; the south beach is much bigger, has better sand, and less rocks. The north beach is smaller, has more rocks, but there is where the kayaks and sailboats are. Definitely worth signing up for a sailboat ride (small one that fits 2-3 people; all complimentary). There are enough beach chairs for people to sit and soak up the sun. The beach volleyball court though was awful; I think they just basically pour sand over concrete. They also do not maintain it, so there are small rocks everywhere. The nightly shows were okay; your typical talent shows, concerts, cultural dances etc.

Summary:
Sunset Jamaica Grande is more 3 star than 4 star, but since you can probably get it at a good price, it is not too bad. The rooms and food is less to be desired, but resort itself is quite scenic. It is also near the main attractions, so it cuts down the travel time. If you are just looking for a simple resort to escape to in Jamaica, then this place is recommended so long as you do not have high expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for South Tower if possible. If you get stuck in the North Tower, check with them in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just got back February 4th. We were there a week. No major mishaps only minor. We booked an oceanfront room king bed. We received two double beds. We were told to check back in the morning to see if a king was available. There wasn't. We tried the next day too and still none. We were in the south tower and the rooms were remodeled. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the room or the view (14th floor). On day 3 I wanted to unpack and we asked if the room was what we paid for. The clerk claimed it was better it was premier. Not sure what we paid for or what we actually got but there was absolutely nothing wrong with it. We stayed in the double room the rest of the time. I talked to a couple other people and they also didn't get what they booked. The only other things we could even think about complaining about and it was so minor was there was always a shortage of plates and glasses. You'd think that would be an easy thing to have stocked. The bar staff was slim and the lines were a little long but we just joke we were on Jamaica time and we needed to relax. The entertainment staff was great. The location is great. You can walk to the market. You can either take a cab to the Dunns River Falls or do an excursion where it is included. If you have not done Dunns River Falls, do it for sure. The buffet food was just that - buffet. Sometimes you like it, sometimes you might not. The restaurants were nice, food was good, service was fine. You are in the same cove as the cruise ship docks and it's kind of fun to watch them come in and out. They don't crowd you in any way. Some say they block the view. To me that particular view was ugly so they were enhancing it. (It was some old warehouses etc.) They don't block the beautiful mountainside. I read reviews on this hotel prior to leaving and after I got back, I really think it's what you make of it and what you like. It's definitely worth the price if you are getting a value discount provided in a vacation package (like Apple). Also, the beach was nice and there was never a shortage of chairs/lounges as there has been in other resorts that I have stayed in. We travel at least once per year. That was a huge pleasure and even if we went down at 10 or 11 we still found 4 loungers. It was my understanding the hotel was pretty full too.

Room Tip: I was told South tower is better. You would want to face the ocean if possible. Jamaica is somewha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande
Sunset Jamaica Grand
Jamaica Grande
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios
Address: P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Amex, Venere, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.