We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
maple hts, ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Initially I had a few problems with this hotel in terms of being put in the north tower instead of the cabana that I had paid for. Once switched to the cabana, I had to move to another cabana because the pipes busted in the bathroom ceiling and the next morning water was everywhere!
To say the least, I was inconvenienced for a couple of days, however the staff at Jamaica Grande made up for the inconveniences. The staff is awesome, in particular are three people in the main dining room, Dwayne, Charmaine and Tenelle. They made me feel so welcome and were very accommodating. Also, the young ladies in the Spa, Novelette and Marsha did a fabulous job with my massage and mani/pedi. The food is very good, nice beach and lots of activities. I never had another thought of my inconveniences. I love the people of Jamaica and Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort!

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet, choose the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    1,677
    997
    564
    395
See reviews for
1,543
1,391
74
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Took a mini family vacation. We always stayed at the Montego Bay property(SJBR) and decide to try the sister property (SJG). It was a good deal. Food was always good. We all had a good time, the kids loved, though the smaller kids (5 & 6yrs) could not go on the water slide so that was a major disappointment for them, they wanted to go back to Montego Bay for this reason.

The property is close to alot of major attractions (Dunn's River, Dolplhin Cove, Mistic Mountains etc) so that is a huge plus for us too.

Overall good experience and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We read a lot of the reviews before we chose to go to the SJG and noticed that there were quite a few negative reviews. But having traveled to other locations it seems like there are always some people that just have to find something to complain about. Anyway here is our opinion:
CHECK IN
We arrived a day after Sandy so the communication systems were affected. As a result, the check in was longer than we are used to. It seemed quite disorganized and confusing. It took well over one hour. Having said that the front desk staff were doing the best they could and were very calm even with some upset people due to the waiting time.

ROOMS
We found the rooms typical of all-inclusives we have stayed at in Mexico and Cuba with one exception. The beds were excellent being really comfortable unlike Mexico and Cuba where they are like rocks. The room was clean and we have no complaints.

FOOD
The buffet did not have as great a selection as we are accustomed to but we thought the food was very good. We received excellent service as well. We want to make special mention of Sonia that works in the buffet. She remembered what we liked to drink at meals and she would set it up for us as soon as she saw us walk in.
The ala cartes are the best we have ever experienced - service and food. Great job!

ENTERTAINMENT
There was usually a singer performing just outside the buffet and he was very good. He sang older songs and was really enjoyable. The entertainment on the main stage was ok and on par with what we have experienced at other resorts.

RECREATIONAL FACILITIES
The gym was good. It was open 24 hours/day which was cool. We used it everyday and had no problems except sometimes the AC was not on and it could get very warm; but hey it is Jamaica. We don't have young kids but the facilities seemed to be very good for kids with the slides, programs, kids pool, etc etc. The slides only had one working while we were there.

OVERALL AND OTHER FACTORS
We strongly recommend this resort if you want a resort with great value. Overall the staff are very friendly and accommodating. It is close to some of the major attractions which is nice. You only have a short drive to Dunn's Falls or the Dolphin Cove. Also you can just walk off the resort and be in the town centre for shopping. One of the problems in Jamaica is all of the vendors and beggars who can be quite persistent. Don't be taken in by someone saying they want to help you - they are looking for money no matter how friendly they are. But all you need to do is acknowledge them and say no thank you. We walked for hours around Ocho Rios and never felt unsafe at any time.

DON'T BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS - THIS PLACE IS GREAT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed with a group of 10 at SJG for a week in January 2012... Okay....!! Upon arrival to the hotel checkin....The deal with the rooms seems......well they just need to be honest and say that they consistantly overbook the good rooms and not lie to people. Also, the food was excellent!!! Nice beach, but go out in the water and it gets mucky and stinky, like the bottom of a slough...and watch for sea urchins, wear aqua socks. You can find just about whatever you may think you need to enjoy yourself... But if you don't go thinking your the King and or Queen of England, then your gonna have a real good time. Enjoy your stay, but be ready to not get what you expected at first, so have a few drinks---YOUR ON VACATION!

Room Tip: South tower??? But don't get to excited if you don't get it right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in 98 and 99 and it was wonderful it wasl also under a different chain. The room I first checked in to was not up to standard it was the North Tower. The next day I moved to the South Tower a lot better. The service was great and Stacy Bennett in Guest Services AWESOME together we planned a birthday dinner for my cousin and it was fantastic she out did herself. She should be promoted

Room Tip: Choose the South Tower Only!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Before arriving I read through the reviews... I read the staff are rude? Food was crap? And the rooms are dirty? I am a very fussy person so this was a little worrying for me! DON'T listen to the negative reviews this place its amazing.... From the moment my sister (Jeffrey) and I arrived we was treated sooooo well. The staff are very friendly especially the life guards lol there very charming... Earl, Ian, Adrian & dorren. The spa staff were lovely & and all the barman went out of there way to make sure we enjoyed the cocktails! We had such a good time we didn't want to come home.

Room Tip: South tower was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days and found the food excellent. Besides the traditional buffet we booked for three separate restaurants with a full waiter service. One chinese, one caribbean and one italian. It was nice to eat with wine etc and not get a bill at the end of the meal! Good variety of food. Help yourself cold drinks at the buffet. Tea and coffee available 24 hours.

The hotel was more English inclined than some and the TV channel selection was excellent.

Staff were very helpful.

The printer in the business centre was out of action while we were there but Guest Services helped us print our document.

Although it wasn't a bother to us the pool slide was not available during our stay.

The gym was ok.

NO FRIDGE.

Good shopping just outside the main gate. Shops, market, Taj Mahal shopping area a short walk way or complementary shuttle from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in
#12 Top resorts Hotel in
#14 Spa Hotel in
#16 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.