We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference at Sunset Grande” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Conference at Sunset Grande”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Sunset Grande for a conference.

Let me start with the positives, the conference rooms were good and the breakout rooms were all close by. The beach is great and the water is very clean and clear. The pools are also good and the snorkelling was better than I expected.

Now the not so good parts. Our first room had a broken lock and was not a renovated room, you must ask (pay) for a renovated room. The final room we had was good and clean and was renovated, we stayed in room 1028 in the South Tower, it was right at the end and overlooked the lagoon. You need to ensure you are not on the 3rd floor as the roof of the dinning room is right outside your balcony and you can't see the views well.

The food at the buffet was average at best. The Italian restaurant was a bit better but again not something to rave about. You need to book the restaurants 2 days in advance as no one told us this. If you want to eat at one of the restaurants at short notice then I suggest you ask (pay) the people at the restaurant itself as they say they are fully booked but that was not the case.

The Internet access is poor, there is only access in the main lobby and the North Tower lobby, it is also slow. The business centre has computers that you can access the Internet but not with your own machine or pad. Some rooms have internet with and ethernet cable (no wifi) but you have to ask for that in your room specifically. The printer in Te business centre is broken and the fax and phone do not work.

You can only get bottled water from the gift shop and that is only open during business hours. The gift shop will only take credit cards for purchases over US$10.00 otherwise it is cash.

We lost water to the whole South Tower one afternoon and no one could shower until later that night, not good when you are at a conference and need to dress for dinner.


The bus ride from Montego Bay can take up to 2 hours as they will stop at other resorts on the way, regardless it is more than an hours drive to the resort.

In summary the resort is old and tired and needs a comprehensive makeover. If you go here then just be aware of the things listed above and at least you will be prepared.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and one that is away from the elevators on the beach side, it needs to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,687
    1,001
    564
    396
See reviews for
1,551
1,401
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went there for a convention on Sept 12, 2012. Most of the staff was nice enough, although not many went out of their way to say hello, good morning, etc. The rooms were nothing spectacular, but decent enough. The resort grounds were comfortable, the pools were clean, and there was bar at every turn. The biggest complaint we had was about the food. The joke was that you should fill up at breakfast because you won't be satisfied with lunch or dinner. Trying to get into their "specialty" restaurants was a joke. You can only make your reservations at specific times of the day even though they have the reservation books at the information desk. Then they tell you restaurant is booked and no reservations are available. If you go to the restaurant at the time you wanted the reservation, you'll see that it is half full. Seems like they have incentive to keep you at the cheapo buffet. On a positive note, the drinks were always flowing and they bacon never ran out at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's the second consecutive year we have opted to stay at Sunset Jamaica Grande. We had an amazing time there. We spent the first week there and moved on to another hotel in Montego Bay for the second week. We missed Sunset Jamaica Grande from the moment we left.

Sunset beach is a great place to vacation. The place has a great Jamaican soul about it, the rooms we had were clean and well maintained and the staff were first class. As Jamaicans living abroad it was great to enjoy the environment, the people and the facilities.

The things which stand out to me were the:
• Polite and friendly staff throughout the hotel
• Managers expert assistance in securing us superb rates while we stayed in Kingston at the Pegasus (part of the chain)
• Quality of the food and the menu variety
• Clean rooms with sea facing views
• Great SPA facilities reasonably priced
• Natural beach with perfect views across the horizon
• Early morning walks along the beach was magical as the fishes came to the shallow end of the beach and swam against our legs
• Lush and well attended gardens
• Evening entertainment including the meet the management team night. Superb!
• Beach bar-be-ques in the evenings
• Superb variety of reasonably priced planned excursions
• Great location in terms of the Town Centre and craft market, banks, shopping and the opportunity to meet the locals etc
We will be going back next year to experience sunset beach all over again. I found it to be cook food for the soul.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I Checked in for a week On Sept 9-16. Check in was fast a the people freindly and kind. When we got to our room in the south tower room 510, we were met by a mold like smell and a hot room. Thw A/C was st to 68 degrees and felt like a sauna. The Bed was sunken the middle. We asked for a new room and after about 30 min we got a new room on the 11th floor (rm 1111).

We stayed in that room for 3 days until the water went out for 5 hrs before dinner and the bathtup spout fell off and they couldn't fix it quick. We ended up in the north tower on the 11th floor and the room was great and the few fantastic. The only thing bad is that you hear all the loud music from downstairs at night until about 11 or 12.

All I can say about the food is cats, flies and blackbirds. They have stray cats that walk around the dinning room and beg for food. They have a fly problem because it is an open air area. The blackbirds fly from table to table and eat food left by hotel guest. The food is mostly Jamaican food so that did not bother me. You know what they say "When in Rome...".

Not to sound all negative, the resort grounds are beutiful and huge. The pools are cleaned nightly and the bartenders have a heavy hand. They have great beaches and the nightly activities are ok. Get used to things being in open air and humid. I will not go again but if you don't want to spend a lot of money this is the place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the south tower above the 9th floor or the private bungaloos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went with 68 people to this resort for my wedding! I have to say it seems people are more likely to review a hotel if they have something negative to say. I am here to give a rave review to sunset jamaica grande. We had a private transfer and check in, we were literally in our rooms 10 minutes after arriving. Although the trip to the resort is long we stopped for beer and jerk chicken on the way, which was fantastic. Anyone who was not happy with their rooms were immediately moved to a new room. Some parts of the resort may be outdated but it is clean and definitely worth it! We stayed in a cabana in the south tower and had a breathtaking view. Now I have stayed in 5 star high end hotels and 1 star hostels in 5 different continents and have to say this hotel was great. You're on an island so expect being on island time, Jamaica is especially laid back, and for us this made it even more enjoyable. The ocean/beach may not be the nicest I've seen but the water was warm, plenty of chairs available and rings to float on in the water. The only negative thing I can say about the ocean was it is jelly fish season, so a few got stung. The pools were fantastic, and swim up bars are always a plus. I recommend getting the jamaican lemonade made with vodka...less sweet than the rum. The service was amazing, there was always someone offering a drink, clearing your plate and friendly banter. Sonia was amazing in the buffet and always had a table ready for us. The A La Carts were awesome and never had a problem getting reservations. We did the bonfire as our rehearsal dinner and party night before the wedding. Basically a private beach party with a bonfire, bar, dj and dance floor. We did the cool runnings snorkel and Dunn's River falls catamaran with about 50 from our group and it was a huge hit. Fun for all ages, lots to do and only 4 hours. See Stacey for excursions, she was the best! As for the wedding it was amazing! I dealt with Shelly and Shaneika and everything we wanted happened. We had the one love package and it was worth every penny. Again they are very laid back so we did not have a rehearsal before the wedding and just winged it. All the girls had their hair done in the salon and we were quite happy. The minister was fantastic, a short and sweet ceremony that fit us perfectly. The flowers were beautiful and the private reception was great! A destination wedding at perfect for a laid back bride looking to have an amazing week with family and friends. I would recommend this hotel to any future bride or people looking for a great time!

Room Tip: We Loved the South tower Cabana...amazing views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed during the week of Super Bowl 2012 (and Bob Marley's birthday on the Monday)

* Bring lots of $1 US bills for beverages and that will go a long way in getting better mixed drinks.
* We did Dunn's Waterfalls, Bob Marley tour and both were worth your money. (bring water shoes for Dunn's)
* The beach sucks because there are always one or two cruise ships docks which ruins the view, however there are many other beaches with a short/cheap cab ride.
* The food was decent...no complaints/problems in our group of 5
* The town is a 5-10 minute walk from the resort where you can eat for very little money. (Take the beach as you won't get hassled as much as walking out of the front gate)
* If I return ... it will be to Negril.

Room Tip: Ask guest services for an upgrade before checking in...tips are appreciated :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After reading the reviews for the last few months for this resort, I was scared what our honeymoon was going to be like. After reading some of the other comments from people that stayed while I was there Sept 9-16, I am wondering, were we at the same place? We had a wonderful time. The beach and pools were practically deserted, I NEVER had to wait for a drink from any bartender, my room (2nd floor Cabana) was awesome, had a beach view, 2 second walk to anywhere, and I never took an elevator the whole time that I was there. Every staff member that we met was nice, some friendlier than others, but none were rude. I wonder if maybe rudeness was reciprocated? Anyway, the 3 a la carte restaurants were great. My favorite was Italian, and my husbands was the Jamaican. The buffet food was average, certianly not horrible. The entertainment was not very good, and the one night that I talked my husband down to the disco, I was disappointed, as for an hour there was just reggae music. I know we were in Jamaica, but I wanted to dance to some music that I knew. We took a boat trip with the company right next to the resort beach property line, and that was definately the highlight of my week. We rode by boat (alone just the two of us) to Dunn River Falls. We had the entire place to ourselves since we did not go with a tour group. It was soo AWESOME, then we went to a coral reef near the resort and went snorkeling with Jeremy the first mate. He showed me how to feed the fish, and it was just so beautiful. The trip for 3 hours was only 100 dollars for the two of us. Much cheaper than the chartered excursions, more intimate, and much quieter.
We walked down into downtown Ocho Rios to go shopping (much quicker via the beach) If you are looking for duty free jewelry, watches, or cologne, go to Mohan's. They treat you like kings & queens even if you don't have king & queen money. Opal and Shaun were the ones that helped us out. We wound up purchasing some fabulous deals. It is in the plaza closest to the resort, not the Taj Mahal plaza. Also THE BEST place for souveniers, Tortuga Rum Cake, and Rum Cream is Coco Joe's. They are not going to follow you around the shop and haggle with you. The lowest price is marked on the items in Jamaican and US dollars. EVERY other shop that we went to, raised the price 50% so that you could get a "deal or discount" They are located next to Burger King on the right hand side lower level. Also the resort allows outside vendors in on Tuesday evening and surprisingly they give better deals (with a bit of haggling) than the cloth markets and shops with similar items.

For the price that we paid for our weeks stay here it was a great deal and we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Cabana Room has easy access to everything and eliminates elevators. Also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort

Address: * The resort will be closed until March 2015, when it will reopen as a Palace Resort * | P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the all-inclusive splendor of the legendary 730-room Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios with its spectacular variety of amenities, divine dining, spa and stellar location. A beautiful white-sand beach fringes the resort while five lavish pools meander through this beachside complex, featuring waterfalls, plunge pools, Jacuzzis, swaying rope bridge and swim-up bars. Amenities include five restaurants, two beach grills, eight bars, two kids clubs, non-motorized water sports, full-service spa, air-conditioned fitness center, tennis, mini casino, nightly entertainment, disco, shops, business center, conference facilities, weddings and much more. Services abound, offering the ideal getaway for singles, couples, families and groups. The sensational Lighthouse Waterslide opened in April 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Jamaica Grande Ocho Rios
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa
Sunset Jamaica Grand Resort
Sunset Grande Jamaica
Sunset Jamaica Grande Hotel
Jamaica Grande Hotel
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.