We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ochos rios is pretty trashy.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocho Rios Beach

Ocho Rios Beach
Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Update attraction details
Ranked #11 of 25 attractions in Ocho Rios
Type: Reefs, Beaches
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ochos rios is pretty trashy.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just going to be honest here... The city is not really a safe place for tourist, there's cops with no uniforms caring guns and rifles , cops would just ride around town with their siren on to travel. Locals are very pushy and aggressive, it makes you not want to shop. Outside the resorts the city is not very safe. I would never come back here again.

I spoke to many people that the locals would Hustle and rob.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    81
    45
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be Cautious!! Move to a protected area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

So, the beach shuttle driver told us that some guests stay on the beach for 5 minutes and call for him to retrieve them. When we entered the beach, I understood why!! It had nothing to do with the physical state of the beach. It had to do with being pursued for something. I just did not like being approached by so many aggressive "marketeers" the second you step foot on the sand
Unless you are on part of the beachfront of a resort or hotel that has staff protection, you will be approached by someone who wants something.. and even then, you may be approached, but not as much.
We rented chairs from a hotel beachfront(US$5) and camped there...then we enjoyed the beach. It really was not very crowded. The water has no waves, though.
Overall, it is a pretty beach, but the "marketeers" ( those selling themselves, or their products and services) was very concerning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overbrook, Kansas
2 reviews
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We never left the resort because there was scuba diving, para sailing, snorkeling, evening entertainment, etc. It was all wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A beach is a beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The water was beautifully coloured, but sand below was nice, overall not too rough. The area that I was in was pretty good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very touristic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was driving from Mobay myself and had a stay outside of Ocho Rios at a Hostel. I did not want to spend time in Ocho Rios which was very crowded and aggressive to me. I rather like the quietness. But it is beautiful beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocho Rios Beach also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Ocho Rios Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocho Rios Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.