We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Royal Plantation was both, delightful and disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Plantation to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Plantation
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sandals Royal Plantation was both, delightful and disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I just returned from Sandals Royal Plantation, where we had a run-of-the-mill trip. My wife, having just returned home from her deployment to Afghanistan, and I was wanting a vacation that provided for intimacy, fun, good food, clean beaches, and an attentive staff. Having stayed at the Iberstar Grand Hotel Bavaro, DR, we considered the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall and Sandals Royal Plantation, and selected Sandals. While we were not totally disappointed, our expectations were not met. Unless you ate dinner in the main restaurant, the meals were not very good (we both have seafood allergies). We did the Dunn's River excursion offered by Sandals, and found ourselves being solicited to purchase CDs, and purchase other items to the point of harassment. After that experience, we decided to forego the other excursions. The pool and beaches were very small, and had limited lounge chairs. I think the allure for the Royal Plantation are the butlers, who are accomodating. I do not think we will do Sandals Royal Plantation again; however, will gather more information if we consider another Sandals location.

Room Tip: Ocean view suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello Stacey,

We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us about your recent stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We understand that this trip meant a lot to you and your spouse and we want nothing more than to create the perfect romantic setting for all of our guests. We were disappointed to hear that you felt that there were some aspects of your stay that did not quite meet your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible and your feedback is an integral part of perfecting our services. Therefore, your comments have been shared with the resort management team for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
We hope that after addressing your concerns and making the necessary adjustments, you will afford us an opportunity to showcase the true hospitality and beauty of our resort. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    207
    65
    24
    13
See reviews for
23
1,286
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We just returned from our 2nd visit to Royal Plantation and it was wonderful. The secret of this resort is obviously getting out as it was fully booked during our stay. The required the staff to be much busier than last time, but they still found time to make you feel at home and relaxed. We so many staff from our visit two years ago as well as some new folks that really help keep this hotel shinning and the best that we have been too.
The food is fantastic at this place and I like that they have opened up the Royal Cafe some nights for special dinners. It is so nice to sit by the water and relax to the sound of the ocean while eating a great meal. We ate at the main restaurant most days and tried to eat as many of the local dishes as we could.
Highlights of this visit were many and I know that I will miss some but I would encourage you to participate with Oshane or Jason whenever they are doing some kind of activity. Our favorites were the mixology challanges and the Cook off featuring the guests rather than the staff. Reunion week was this week and they had all sorts of cool activities. The highlight though was the chance to read and meet local school kids through the Sandals Foundation. If your traveling there soon please look at the Sandals foundation site and see what you can pack to donate to the local schools. The kids are wonderful and it was a blessing to be with them.
Staff shout outs to Cleon, Sheldon in water sports, Kelly Ann, Ieshia, Jason, Oshane, Hushane, Donard, Shelly Anne, Jermaine, Marvin, Lisa Gay, Chevel, and to Caroline who gave us so much of her time. You are all so special
The only slight issue that we had this time was that the Spa people were on the beach everyday trying to drum up business. The Red Land spa is fantastic and we used it while we were there. Those who want to use it know where it is and how to find it so I don't know that the girls need to be asking everyday. They were polite but that did not occur on our last visit.
In any case we are already booked to return and can't wait to come back home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a special property. Elegant, small and intimate. Very much a plantation style mansion. Beautiful grounds. Excellent and attentive staff. Comfortable and well appointed rooms. The food and service were very good. Two neat but small beaches. Pool is very small. Wood beach lounge chairs are "period" but heavy and impractical. Spa small but services excellent. Butlers a plus. Very responsive. For some reason our caviar and champaign order at the French restaurant was screwed up and delayed for a half hour.

Three negatives.

First, we arrived mid-afternoon after a long day and wanted a drink and a snack. We didn't want bar food, just some nuts or pretzels before dinner. The bar was offering heavy bar food and nothing else. We thought that odd that there no snacks available in public spaces or in the rooms.

Second, the commitment to tennis totally betrays the elegant nature and thoughtful commitment to service. The courts are beyond neglect, overdue for resurfacing and poorly maintained. Holes, cracks, debris, vines growing onto court. There are online resources that could give the maintenance staff the skill and resources to fix. We ran into other couple frustrated with same and miffed when the pro didn't show up at the advertised time for lessons.

Third, the SUP boards were pretty beat up. One had the fin broken off. As with tennis, it is almost as if these issues were not as important to management as the cosmetics of the resort.

Not a perfect resort by any means, but good enough to say we'll return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego Wi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful vacation at Sandals Royal Plantation. Everything was wonderful! We met many great people, enjoyed the best food you could ever want and had so much fun. The White Party was unbelievable. Our butlers, Richard, Sheldon and Oratio all made sure that we wanted for nothing. They drew baths, filled our drink cooler with all of our favorites each day. Oshane and Jason made sure we were always entertained. Breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner were all of the utmost quality. My favorite bartender, Daniello, always made sure he had my favorite beer chilled for me. Water sports took us out on a fun boat cruise and hobbie cat ride. You could do nothing and relax or join in and have fun. You couldn't lose at this resort during Reunion Week. The staff is very attentive and the manager, Caroline, is so genuinely concerned about all of her guests. She was always there checking on everyone, along with Kelly-Ann. This is a top notch resort and hard to top!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. It depends which beach you prefer East or West. All rooms are waterfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Just for back from Sandals Royal Plantation. We had a great trip. We went for some R&R and the hubby wanted to do some golfing. Perfect spot to pick for us.
Our butlers Tafari and Audell were great. Always helpful and doing some special things. Snack in our rooms, beautifully decorated warm baths waiting for us after the beach, buckets of cold red stripe light at the beach and arranging a room for us for the day we left since our flight was very late. Audell was the first person we saw when we arrived and he waved us goodbye when we left.
Beach is small but awesome. Water was warm and the color was gorgeous. You do have to get up early for a lounger but my hubby is an early riser so he took care of that. The beach butlers are all great. We tipped them once daily.
Food was awesome. Coconut shrimp and lamb kabobs for lunch. Loved the French restaurant. Had the same waiter both times and he was great. We ate next door at the Italian and loved the meal and the service. We also had room service which was very good. The only thing I was disappointed in was we couldn't find authentic jerk anywhere. They had a jerk barbecue sauce but it just isn't the same.
Our room was good. French balcony worked fine. We were in the west building. Great views. The bathroom is dated compared to a lot of Secrets Resorts we have been to so they could look into some reno's there.
We got MoBay club coming and going. Was a waste arriving cause the airport was dead but the lounge when your departing is worth it alone never mind skipping security lines.
The staff here is great. Always helpful and smiling and we met the management team at the returning guest cocktail hour. The team works well together and you can tell cause when the staff is happy so are the guests.
We have already booked Sandals Emerald Bay for next April but we will definitely be back here. Possibly the following year. Enjoy:)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Myself and my wife went here looking for a relaxing week away. Our first vacation together in years. We are both very busy and were looking for a do-nothing week away. That's exactly what we got!

People write about everything. But the best thing about the whole experience is that after you pass through Jamaican Customs you are literally taken care of for the week. Sandals has a lounge in the airport. Self serve. Then onto your drive and the resort.

The resort is stunning. No doubt. And the history behind this place is very nostalgic. Look it up before your trip. But the best part of our week was the staff. From cleaners up to Hotel Manager Caroline they are there to please. As one staff member said to us "We leave our problems at the door. We are here to serve and please you!" Special shout out to our Butler team Chadworth and Ashpole. Terrific service. As I say say to people on our trip was basically flawless. Accommodations,food,drinks,beach,grounds and of course SERVICE is extraordinary. We also say to people we may never see a resort like this again unless we go back there. God willing it will happen again soon. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sandals royal plantation was a beautiful resort. My husband and I were a little overwhelmed when trying to find the perfect honeymoon resort. Mitch, from trip guy travel helped us make our decision and all his advice and suggestions were spot on!He was very helpful through the whole process and helped us book excursions during our trip.The food was delicious ( especially the private dinner on the pier during the last night of our stay) , the staff was very friendly and professional. The island was beautiful. During our honeymoon search, my husband and I wanted a resort that was low key, yet fun; and that's exactly what we found at sandals royal plantation. It was also entertaining at night when the resort would have live bands playing music. We also enjoyed Jamacian night at the terrace restaurant and ,Italian night too! Our butlers were wonderful and were there to make us feel at home and special .Most importantly, as we were leaving to go home, the staff waited outside and waved goodbye as our car service left for the airport. It was a great experience and we would highly suggest Sandals Royal Plantation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! It was truly an honor hosting you at Sandals Royal Plantation and we're pleased to see that we were able to offer you an amazing honeymoon stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.