We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Plantation to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Plantation
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Travel Award!
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Oshawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you are looking for a true relaxing getaway, this is the place. There is an activities sheet delivered every morning, but I never saw any activity, excellent! The service is impeccable, in every restaurant, on the beach, every where. If you need a little more action you can walk next door to the grande, but if you wAnt to kick back and relax, be pampered, then the plantation is for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms have butler service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    183
    57
    24
    13
See reviews for
20
1,153
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and i have just returned from spending 6 nights (not the planned 7) at the Royal Plantation after travelling approx 90 minuutes on a good highway from Montego Bay. Upon arrival we were eventually escorted by our butler to a room on the ground level corner of the west wing. The good size room was thouroughly beautiful offering nice furnishings, an older bathtub and french balconie. Unfortunately much to our dismay upon opening the curtained windows we found ourselves looking at the main busy pathway from the upper terrace to the beach below and the washrooms at the top of the stairs all of which were direct view. Adding to this disappointment the terrace restaurant towered overhead with outside tables that could allow persons sittinng there full view of whatever was going on in your room IF your curtains remained open. The view of the water was also obstructed. Having travelled so far it was not our intention to be satisfied with hiding ourselves behind closed doors or windows and so we indicated that we would not, could not stay in this room. Unfortuantely, as the hotel was at full capacity there were no other rooms available that evening but we were assured that come the next day something would open up. In the meantime we were offered transport to the Sandals next door which was excepted and we were placed in a beautiful butler villa for the evening. Returning the next day we were again met by our butler and escorted to a gorgous ground level central corner 1 bedroom suite in the east wing. There was a full and private balcony which directly overlooked beautiful flowers, lush greenery and trees and a direct view to the beautiful waters below in front of the east beach. The large room was nicely furnished, had 2 bathrooms (1 of which offered a standard bathtub). In the other was a lovely corner jacuzzi tub with bifold windows that opened fully to the outside, equipped with a separate stand alone shower, a lounge chair with another opening bifold window. This became a favorite room for us and yes while there were no curtains in this particular room we had complete privacy, outside the occasional security guard that periodically made rounds around the back of the building. Laying in the hot sudsy waters, a glass of wine to the side with the windows open to the sounds of the surf, tree frogs, clear star and moon lit skies was like heaven on earth to be honest..sooo relaxing! The resort has 2 small beaches , west & east...with 3 piers stretched between. The west tended to be the busiest (chair to chair) and it is located directly in front of the beach bar/restaurant and is in front of the west wing. The east beach is where the water sports is located and it is a designated smoking area. Although non-smokers we preferred this beach as it was quieter and less packed, In fact we spent most days at the end of the pier in lounge chairs with unobstructed views of the waters ahead and the beach behind and to the side of us. Occasionally one of the boats would tie up, either loading or off loading persons from the various snorkling, glass bottom boat tours all of which didnt bother us in the least. The waters here are extremely clear and warm and while it rained a part of most days and evenings it was extremely hot during our stay. The beach butlers who normally started coming around at about 0900am were there to serve you with whatever premium drink you preferred, (bar opens at 10) and were fairly quick for the most part in getting back to you. They were also quite quick to point out their preference in serving you as opposed to you walking the beach to get your own drinks, a practice of theirs that I personnally do not necessarily agree with. We ate at both the terrace andd french restaurants with the french being our favorite..french onion soup and steaks and rack of lamb delightfully declicious. (breakfast was room service on the balcony each morning). Evening entertainment in our view was spotty at best to be honest and should be reviewed. As well the idea of everone having a butler (in our view) diminishes in a way that very special experience of being one of a few that is pampered by a professional butler(s)
In closing this resort is a classy place no doubt about it and one that Sandals should be proud of. We have been to the majority of their properties now and this is by far one of the best (if not the best) keeping in mind that some properties stand out for their distinct differences as well. I would not hesitate recommending the Royal Plantation to anyone; giving due consideration to your choice of rooms. The Ochos Rios coastal area is extremely lush and beautiful..well worth the visit!

Tramper

Room Tip: West wing offers better sea, sunrise views but half the building is open to those looking in..East W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Can't say enough good things about Sandals Royal Plantation. It was our first visit to Sandals and we decided on Royal Plantation. We enjoy smaller/boutique hotels and with 74 rooms this place did not disappoint. We have found a new second home. The food and drink was excellent, but high praise goes to the management and staff. We have never had such great service and attention. All suites provide butler service which is a real treat. Our butlers, Jermaine and Shelly were fantastic. GM Mark really goes out of his way to make you feel special. Looking forward to next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms in this 3 storey resort offer ocean views. Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Kraig and Lora, thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to read that your first stay at Sandals Royal Plantation was nothing short of amazing. We hope this won't be your last. We look forward to welcoming you back for more wonderful experiences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The Sandals Royal Plantation is a fantastic resort for a relaxing get away. It is a small boutique resort on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. It is classy and upscale yet totally laid back and unassuming. It was built in the 50's and attracted some well known guests such as Winston Churchill and Richard Nixon. We went for a one week stay in early December 2013.

All of the suites come with butler service. Our butlers Audell and Tafari couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

The resort has two beautiful beaches and a small pool and hot tub area. We never had a problem finding a lounge chair. There were always staff around to offer you drinks.

We went for two wonderful spa treatments and even had an amazing foot massage on the beach.

The restaurants were very nice and the food was amazing. The French restaurant was elegant and you had a choice of inside or outside seating. There was a great piano player entertaining us. The terrace restaurant also offered inside and outside seating and was more casual. The restaurant on the beach was fantastic for lunch. (No pizza and hotdogs here, quality food, not junk). A proper afternoon tea is also served.

If you stay at the Royal Plantation, you have access to the larger Sandals resort next door if you want to try more restaurants or swim in a gigantic Sandals pool with a swim up bar. We decided to try Kelly's Dockside at the larger resort one evening. Not only did Audell make our reservation, he escorted us on the shuttle, seated us at the best table in the restaurant, and poured our first glass of wine!

We were so impressed with the Royal Plantation that we booked our next stay while we were still at the resort.

This was our first experience at a Sandals resort. It was actually our first experience at an all inclusive resort. The Royal Plantation spoiled us and has to be one of Sandals' top resorts.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We're so glad to read that you were spoiled at Sandals Royal Plantation. We love to hear our guests boast about what incredible vacations they had at our resort. Thank you so much for your review. We certainly hope to see you back here in the near future for another relaxing stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Sandals Royal Plantation Dec. 3-11, 2013

The service was fabulous. Special kudos for Sean the bartender, Oshane, and Romaine, as
well as butlers Ricardo and Aaron, and GM Mark. Everyone was extremely
friendly and helpful; the staff was a delight. Ricardo took care of a
somewhat unusually complex set of dining requirements with us and our
friends, and went out of his way to set up a ping pong table for
us. Aaron kindly agreed to play me for an hour, something I had
especially asked for.

The food: Papillon and the Royal Grill / dinner were fabulous. The
rotating menus at the Terrace were great. We especially appreciated
the fact that for breakfast and lunch at Terrace, we could order from
the menu and also use the buffet. The Palette of Small Plates was
great. The variety of choices on the beach grill menu was also
fabulous; we loved the lobster BLTs and the spare ribs.

Complaints about food/service: at Terrace, one night
(International night) the service was abysmal. It took us 1 hour 45
minutes just to get the soup course. It took over 3 hours to get
dessert and we gave up waiting for coffee.

Although it's not an RP issue, our appetizers at Soy at SGR were
fabulous but the food and ambiance at Kimonos were disappointing, and
the noise level was so high we were tempted to leave and go back to
Soy. If a butler is going to recommend Kimonos, it might be good to
give an accompanying warning about the din.

Entertainment: we loved the Jamaican night -- both the buffet and the
entertainment. We also loved the piano music at the Wobbly Peacock, but found
that when there was a DJ the music was a negative, not a positive --
too loud. Fortunately the games room was nearby because the DJ music
drove us from the bar.

We also loved the live entertainment during lunchtime -- both the
steel drum band at the beach grill, and the trio of guys with banjo
and bass box and guitar, at both the Grill and the Terrace. They were
wonderful and it was delightful being serenaded at lunch, with
acoustic music that didn't drown out conversations.

Mangos all the time was a wonderful touch -- fresh mangos at
breakfast, mango daiquiris, and mangosas were all very much
appreciated. Also we loved the fact that the Wobbly Peacock stocked
Glenlivet!

The special luncheon for diamond level guests was a great idea. And it
was especially classy that a group photo and copy of the menu appeared
in our room when we returned from lunch.

It was also delightful to have Mark give such excellent attention to
his guests, chatting with them on the beach or in the restaurant. He
was unusually approachable, which was a delightful surprise.

We really loved this resort and would happily return to it.

Also let me add that our Travel Agent, Ruth DeMuth of TripGuyTravel gave us absolutely outstanding service. We live in Boston and had to change flights in Miami. She kept track of our flights in case we had a problem and she had to help us change the connecting flight. Her attention to detail is way above the call of duty, and her knowledge of all Sandals resorts is unsurpassed!

Feel free to ask me any questions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I love Sandals Royal Plantation.

It's a small Boutique type hotel with an all Butler Service.

The ambiance of this hotel is quite different from all other Sandals Resorts I've visited. It's quaint, quiet and a perfect place for a couple to escape for either a short getaway or a week.

The Butlers are extremely professional and almost anticipate your every need before you've even thought of it.

The resort has wonderful Peacocks as residents and are amazing to experience their beauty.

I enjoyed every aspect of this resort.

The beach is small but given the small resort size it's great.

Sandals offers stay at one play at Grand Riviera and other resorts in Jamaica.

Room Tip: Since this hotel is an all butler resort, even the lead in and least expensive room allows you to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! It was truly an honor hosting you at Sandals Royal Plantation and we're pleased to see that we were able to offer you an amazing stay. We pride ourselves on our top notch service and attention to detail.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our 2nd stay since our last stay in 2009. About the only thing that has changed is Sandals has it's name on it and all the rooms have butlers. The butler service was pretty neat. We really didn't use their services very much but when you needed something from the gift shop or reservations, they did it. Sheldon and Richard were great. The only thing that I missed was the floating platform you used to could swim up to. They said a hurricane washed it away. The food was amazing. Not a big buffet experience. Thank goodness. La Papilion was amazing. The dessert and French pressed blue mountain coffee was the best here. Also, this resort has quality drinks that aren't watered down like similar resorts. Charming and quaint and will come again soon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Plantation. It sounds like you truly had an amazing stay with us. You enjoyed our great property and especially the genuine hospitality of our incredible staff.

We look forward to you visiting again with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.