We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sandals resort!!.. Very personal service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $335 Air Credit!
Ranked #3 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Sandals resort!!.. Very personal service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been to many of the sandals resorts, this was the best so far. We went for our anniversary, we even got married at a different sandals, it was a great stay. The butlers do everything and leave you more time to enjoy your trip. We loved the jamaican people.. So fun and friendly. The beaches are small but adequate. This resort is the height of luxury for a chain resort, great service. A guy even comes by to spritz you while on the beach!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. At Sandals Resorts, we take pride in providing a luxurious and relaxing environment for all of our guests. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Sandals Royal Plantation did just that, especially our "spritz" guy! :-)

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,089
    169
    55
    24
    13
See reviews for
19
1061
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days for our honeymoon. It was a fantastic place to go, I'd definitely recommend it. It was a very relaxing environment. We spent a lot of time lounging on the beach. The butlers were very eager to help, and quite helpful. We were just sad that it all went by so fast, we didn't want to leave.

We tried out most of the water sports they offer there: sea kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boarding, and the catamaran. They were all a lot of fun.

The food at all of the restaurants we tried was all very good, very high quality. A slight inconvenience we found was that sometimes it took quite a while to get served your food, we started using the room service more to help with this. We did start getting a little tired of the room service lunch menu selection because of this, but it was a minor thing.

We had a nice view from our room, although it wasn't in the quietest location, we could hear quite a bit that was going on outside our door.

Pros: Great area, very relaxing quiet resort, nice beach, helpful butlers
Cons: Coconut grove room was a little noisy, and service at the restaurants could be a bit slow

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My fiancé and I eloped at the Sandals Royal Plantation on May 6th, and it was the best decision we ever made. Our wedding, and for the rest of our stay - our Honeymoon, was nothing like I thought it would be. It was better. I knew it would be good because we've heard great things about SRP and Jamaica in general, but its not until you actually go and experience it yourself do you truly understand the gravity of excellence they strive for - and exceed!

There are far too many little things (and big things) to list that SRP did for us to make our WeddingMoon exceptional. Our wedding was seamless and absolutely perfect, I will forever remember my wedding day with joy in my heart and the Jamaican sun on my face (with Bob Marley in the background, of course!). Danette made sure that everything went perfectly, and to her I am grateful. I was totally at ease knowing she was handling all the details and orchastrating the event. Delgardo served us our private candlelit dinner on our wedding night and was an absolute delight, the level of service he provided us was top notch. Dwayne, our photographer got some amazing shots of us and I do not say that lightly. I am very picky! From the bottom of our hearts, thanks to everyone who made our wedding so beautiful and so memorable.

Our butlers were Marvin & Jermaine. ASK FOR THEM!!!!! Words cannot describe how these two truly made us feel, but Royalty comes to mind. Jermaine has the most infectious smile that never leaves his face, and both of them so genuinely wanted to make our stay as comfortable and pampered as possible. Well done, I was thoroughly spoiled and coming home to reality was exceptionally difficult LOL.

Our social hosts, Jason and Oshane were an absolute riot!! They made the simplest thing in the world, like looping a metal ring onto an empty wine glass on the beach, the funnest thing ever. They brought a great energy to everything they did, and we loved hanging out with those guys. Adrian and Cleon on the beach were fantastic as well, they took such good care of us - they were on point every single day without fail.

The other Sandals nearby kept things interesting for us, we really enjoyed having access to the other properties and especially enjoyed the fact that they didn't have access to us. Go party on their side, and stay more low-key on our side. If we wanted to visit the other pools and check out the grounds, go dancing, eat out, we could and we did. And it was only a short walk along the beach, or you could take the shuttle too. Very well laid out.

I don't usually write reviews, and can go on and on about SRP for a while longer still. I can't say enough good things about it to make anyone really understand how amazing it was. You just have to go and experience it yourself. You won't be disappointed...well, maybe when you're vacation is over and you have to come back home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - each has an ocean view. Can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at RP. I have always wanted to go to Jamaica and I am glad we chose Sandals Royal Plantation. From pick up at the airport everything was fabulous. Everyone was so friendly and keen that you enjoyed their country to the full. Once we arrived at the resort it was late, but we were offered refreshment shown to our room given our 'butler mobile' and asked if there was anything we needed.
Our butlers Dacia and Derron where brilliant, before arriving we were worried about how this would work out, but they were excellent professionals checking in with us each day making sure all was well. They booked our restaurants, got a leaking sink fixed with no fuss and as I had managed to break a bottle of perfume whist getting ready for dinner they rganised the cleanup before we got back. Furthermore they even managed to get us a lock for our suitcases that US customs had removed and not replaced.
The beach butlers Adrian and Cleon were also efficient and friendly never had to leave my sun bed for a rum cocktail! In fact all the staff were really accommodating they would bring things to you and didn't want you to wait when you could be relaxing! The bar tenders, Andre, Sean and Aneil were all great and entertainment in themselves. Peter Fraser was around to ensure all his guest were having a good time, very hands on.
I can't say enough positives about this resort. What brought to all home for us, we went to the neighbouring resort Sandals Grande Riviera and though the staff there were friendly and helpful it was so much bigger, noisier, we were glad to get back.
Yes the beaches are small but never any problem to get a sun lounger or take part in any of the activities and why go round a pool when you have the Caribbean sea on your doorstep.
This is the place to go if you want complete relaxation in a friendly and non-instructive manner

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our fifth Sandals vacation, and absolutely the best yet. We spent ten days here and were surprised at how quickly it seemed to go. The resort is small enough that you get to know people, both guests and employees, and the employees get to know you. They will often anticipate what you want and have it ready for you before you ask.
All of the staff are positive, friendly and anxious to make sure you are having a good time. Any requests or concerns are taken care of in a professional, friendly way.
The food is outstanding. We tried all the restaurants and room service and never had anything we didn't think was great. Our favourite restaurant was the Papillion, try the grouper. Outstanding!
Our butlers, Ricardo and Orayne were excellent. They took care of reservations, made sure the room was always in good shape and the mini bar well stocked. The beach butlers Adrian and Cleon get rave reviews and they deserve them. It's almost impossible to have an empty glass once they get to know what you like.
It's obvious that Peter Fraser has put together a team of people who understand how to treat their guests and make you feel welcome and at home. Both he and hotel manager Caroline Cousins are visible to and interact with both the staff and guests. They set the tone for the team
If you want a relaxing, fun, fine food, great service resort, this is the one.

We don't return to many resorts because there are so many to visit, but Royal Plantation is on our "go back to " list

Room Tip: Room 359 on the west side has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had been to many Caribbean resorts in the past. I can't say enough about the property grounds and landscaping, the food, and the outstanding service. After being there for three days, out of seven, I signed up for another week in early December and also for next April. The food presentation and flavors were excellent. Our butler team of Neal and Kenroy were there when we called and not obtrusive. We were treated as honored guests and not just as customers. Oratio, the maitre'd, went out of his way to serve our needs and desires. Our Estate Suite was unlike any Junior Suite or luxury room we ever had at any other resort. We had never considered Sandals resorts before because of their size of 400 to 500 rooms. Sandals Royal Plantation has 72 rooms and a 3 Bedroom villa making this resort a very intimate and laid back version of what we have been searching for. Great food, great room, great clean beach and ocean, and very friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: We loved the balcony room on the second floor of the East wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was overall hesitant when booking as I am extremely picky and can be considered high maintenance. I'm not typically a huge fan of all inclusives since the food is not always quality. This place really exceeded all my expectations! From the moment we arrived at the airport to the moment we arrived back to fly home, the service, food and quality was first class! Neil and Kenroy were our butlers and both went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. Mr. Frasier was very friendly and it was obvious he runs a "tight ship" as everyone was definitely on their A game. If there was something you wanted to eat not on the menu and you let them know, the chef would accomodate your request. All you had to do was ask and your wish was granted.....Orlando, one of the waiters was outstanding as well...

The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is due to the room quality. While it was clean and the bed was comfy, the bathroom and tub were a bit dated.

Well done Royal Plantation....I will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.