We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suberb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Plantation to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Plantation
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$335 Instant Air Credit!
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“suberb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is an absolutely suberb resort. Just 74 suites and, by the second day of our stay, many of the staff including the general manager, Peter, knew our names and greeted us personally. The physical setting is a nice combination of elevated buildings, affording dramatic views of the ocean, and two beaches. The buildings themselves retain the charm of the original inn (circa 1957), but modernized and beautifully maintained and landscaped. The beverages are upscale (Gray Goose vodka, etc.) and the cuisine is the equal of some of our top restaurants here in Washington. Diving is a short walk down the beach (no long shuttle drive) and the golf course is very playable. Best of all is the staff, beginning with our butlers, Adrian and Donard -- well trained, friendly, attentive, competent, and quick.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    173
    55
    24
    13
See reviews for
20
1,112
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of the most relaxed holidays we have ever had, and we have had a few. Every room is a suite and you get butler service. My two butlers were magnificent, they were trained to English guide standard and were not only professional but friendly and funny with it, thank you Richard and Sheldon for making our stay one we will always remember. There are two beaches which provide plenty of water sports with friendly and helpful staff, you are also served drinks constantly by jovial waiters, all great fun. One knock back is the people who insist on going down at 6 am to reserve their sun bed, this only happened on the second week i was there.I think they need to put a time limit on beds that dont get used, some young girl reserved more than one bed for herself one in the shade and one in the sun, which i found particular annoying, but that was the only thing that caused very minor concern. We over spent in the SPA becuase it was so wonderful. i must make a special mention of my therapist who was absolutely fantastic, thanks Arita hopefully will return soon. Nearly everyone i spoke too said thay would return at one stage, we will certainly be amonst them. Yea Mon!

Room Tip: i would suggest take a second or third floor room on the west side for the views, but class of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Royal Plantation – gets it right. There’s not one thing you can complain about.
They sent a private driver to collect us at the Montego Bay airport. They have a lounge with free drinks and the rep is very helpful. The ride was 1.5 hours, but it went fast as the driver explained the island on the way - we had a private ride. We arrived and the entrance is just lovely. You drive up to a circular driveway, the greenery is magnificent and it’s like entering someone’s mansion. You are greeted at the doorway and there is a small sitting area where they check you in. Peter Fraser, GM, greets you as well. You are offered a cocktail and cold towel and they have all your information, so you just show your cc and sign.

You meet your butler and they escort you to lunch (she could have showed us around the resort as other butlers did, but she dropped the ball here)
You walk through to where there is a terrace and you have to walk down about 20 steps to reach the Grill, located just off the beach.
Lunch was the best – all kinds of seafood, expertly prepared. The Grill is located three steps off the beach and the view and breeze were amazing. We ate most of our lunches here.
After lunch, ourbutler came to get us and showed us to our room. The room is beautiful. We chose the Great House with a french balcony. You walk in and there is a huge walk in closet and an outside sink. You enter the bathroom from there where there is a huge jacquizi tub, walk in shower and toilet. You then proceed into the room and there is a 4 poster bed. There is an armoire, 42 inch flat screen TV and your sitting area. The sitting area is great and large - - there are two comfy chairs that face the ocean and there is your French balcony. You open the doors, move your chairs up and it’s like a balcony! Just beautiful. You don’t miss a walkout balcony at all. The bar was stocked with everything we requested. Grey Goose Vodka, Heinkenen, Amaretto, etc. All top brands. Paul likes a special beer that the property didn’t have and they got it for him. The butler also offered to unpack for us but we did it ourselves. They will press your clothes too!

Our dinner reservations were all reserved prior to us getting there. Reservations aren't required, but it made it easier to have a schedule. The first night we were escorted to the restaurant – we chose the French. It was beautiful and you can sit in or out. The food was delicious – escargot, crab cakes, salads, rack of Lamb, Lobster, Duck, Steaks. Service matched the quality of food. You can order as much as you like. The wines are all Beringer – which were very good or you can pay and get something better.

After dinner, there is a lounge, the Wobbly Peacock – they play music and people sing along. The bartenders; Aiken, & Jason; the entertainers Jason & OShane - are the best and very friendly. They do tricks, talk with the guests, sing, and just make you feel so welcome. They serve food in there as well until 12 am. Room service is 24 hours and you can get almost anything from there. Coconute shrimp to die for! If you don't see it on the menu you can ask them to get it for you and they make every effort to get it.
Breakfast and dinner in the Terrace Restaurant. Breakfast was always freshly prepared and delicious. Dinner menus changed each night at this venue and there was always a band with a singer playing. They changed the entertainment every night. We ate there for the rest of the week and always enjoyed it. Very high quality food in all categories – appetizers, main and dessert (although the desserts didn’t fascinate me ) You can have lobster for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you want it. Just ask!
The beach: The beach is small but they have one on each wing of the property. The West wing, where we were was closest to the grill. It is more convenient if you wanted to get lunch there. The beach butlers never left you thirsty. Adrian -love your color coordination of sunglasses, sneakers and shrits! Colin you're the best! They work harder than the room butlers in my opinion. They bring you drinks, fruit, cool towels, lunch. The stretch is very small, but it works. The water is a little on the cool side, there are no rocks whatsoever and the sand is smooth although not white. the pool is small, but very elegant and beautifully situated with views of the ocean.
The massage was very good. Not a big spa – nothing fancy, but very good.
The catamaran – was almost cancelled but ended up going out and was a lot of fun.
Service – I cannot tell you how great the service at this resort is. You make one phone call and your request is handled immediately and with a smile. To know the GM is available and concerned if you’re having a good time is remarkable to me. The culture was inspiring. To see how genuinely happy they are to work there. The teamwork the resort instills is wonderful to see. Many employees have worked at this resort for 10 years or longer. My husband and I travel 4-5 times a year. We have gone to Europe, taken cruises, visited several Caribbean Islands and Royal Plantation has been our favorite spot. Thank you Mr. Fraser for your efforts at this resort - - you know how to do it!
If you are looking for a small, elegant hotel - this is the place for you. We are going back next November and can't wait. Debbie & Paul

Room Tip: We liked the Great House - it had a larger bathroom and sitting area. The whirlppol tub had no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife of 25 years and I just returned from a trip here traveling with great friends. It's a great place for rest, relaxation, and quiet. No crazy parties by the pool or loud music blaring on the beach. The service is fantastic! They were wonderfully overstaffed by enthusiastic people wanting to please! We never had to wait for drinks, the waitstaff was very attentive, and our butlers were great! The food quality and quantity was terrific. We especially enjoyed the French restaurant. The grounds are beautiful and kept spotless. It is very intimate, the opposite of a mega resort. We would definitely return! My friend and I completed our open water tests for our scuba certification. We taken very good care of by the instructor, Ike. We are told by the other divers on the boat that it wasn't great diving, but we liked it for our first experience.

Room Tip: First floor room on the east section has more obstructions like palm trees, but still great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just got back from the Royal Plantation. What a great, laid back, scenic experience. The place never seems crowded even though fully occupied. The staff are super attentive and super nice right down the line. The rooms are richly appointed and comfortable. The butlers are really helpful and ensure that your every whim is accommodated. If you plan to golf take your clubs because it's $60 a day if you don't. The golf is well organized and easy to do anytime. Loved it and would go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon here and we could not have asked for a better experience. While it is about an hour and a half drive from the airport, it is completely worth it. Ocho Rios is definitely the place to stay in Jamaica if you plan on doing any excursions (horseback riding, Dunns River Falls, etc.) since all of these attractions are right near there. If you stay in other locations in Jamaica you may be traveling up to 2 hours just to get to your excursion for the day! When we stepped out of the shuttle we were greeted by an incredible ocean view and were immediately shown the hospitality and service that make this resort such a wonderful experience. Aside from our personal butlers (We love you Donard and Fiona!) the rest of the staff was also just as helpful and welcoming. Because the resort is small (only 74 rooms in total) you really feel that you are getting a personalized experience and after just a couple of days many of the staff members were acting like we had been there for months. Although the beach and pool area are relatively small, this really was not an issue since there are not that many guests. The beach butlers are also wonderful and made sure you always had a cold drink, fresh towels, or anything else you needed. At some all-inclusive resorts you find cheap food, cheap liquor, no wine, and limited access to all of these things. Not so at Royal Plantation. The food was amazing and we truly looked forward to every meal and anything you could have dreamed of to drink was available. I keep daydreaming about the Mangosas! I could go on and on but all you need to know is that you won't be disappointed by this beautiful, attentive, first-class resort. While we were there we booked a return trip just so we wouldn't feel so bad leaving! As we were driving away our butler, the hotel's manager as well as a few other staff members stood and waved until we were out of sight which just shows the kind of service you get there. We will be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great because they are all ocean view and near to everything so you never have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Let me first say that anybody who writes a negative review of this property, obviously did not read reviews on this site before they went. Please take them with a grain of salt. Yes the property is very small. If someone couldn't figure that out from the reviews or a brochure, then they can't read.

My wife and I just got back on February 23rd from our honeymoon and have already booked next year's trip to Royal Plantation.

Our trip did not start off great as we were bumped from our over booked flight out of Toronto and had to spend 18 hrs in Charlotte, NC because of a snow storm. When we did arrive, it was 24 hrs later! Because we missed our first night, Sandals offered to extend our stay by one night or give us a free room night the next time we book. We chose the latter.

We were greeted at the Sandals lounge and within 15 minutes were on our way in a private car. Once we arrived, everybody was expecting us and knew us by name! Marcia was terrific in helping us get checked in. This isn't your typical hotel where you stand in line with 25 other people trying to check in. Here you sit on a couch while they serve your drinks as you fill out some paperwork. We were taken to our room where they had balloons and a congratulations sign on our door (for our honeymoon).

Once we were settled, our butler, Aaron came to greet us and show us around the property.

We met our second butler, Shelly the following day and she was fantastic.

The resort itself, is very small. It took me a day or two get used to the fact that there aren't a lot of people, no swim up bar and no buffet - things that I realized I didn't need! The fact that the property is small makes the service level outstanding and the food even better.

The main restaurants are Le Papillon, which is a french restaurant; The Tearrace, which has a different theme every night and the Royal Grill, which serves lunch and dinner by the water. We ate mostly at Le Papillon where the food was outstanding. Keep in mind you are in Jamaica and if you order steak it isn't going to be a high end $60 steak you would get at Ruth's Chris or Morton's. But relatively speaking, the food was the best I have had in the Carribean (I have been to Cuba, Domincan and Bahamas).

The service staff are very friendly and get to know you by name. Adrian and Cleon will be taking care of you on the beach and are extremely friendly. Oshane and Jason are the entertainment and litterally know every guest by first name.

If you are looking for a big resort, daily entertainment by the pool, loud music and a party atmosphere, this is NOT the place for you. You can get this by going next door to Sandals Grande Riviera, but I guaruntee you will not spend much time there. My wife and I walked over and quickly came back to the Royal Plantation.

The two beaches are very small but nice. If you like to beach walk, go somewhere else, maybe Negril. We never had any issues getting paddle boards or kayaks. We just walked up to the desk, signed them out and we were on our way.

Our butlers were good but not great. They did everything we asked but never went out of their way to impress us.

Overall, if you want a quiet, exclusive getaway where the noise is at a minimum and you are treated like royalty, this is the place for you.

One tip: if you want your butlers to get some food for you, realize it takes them time to organize it as you aren't the only one they are waiting on. For example, we figured out that if we wanted some appetizers in our room everyday at 5:00 pm, we called our butler at 3:00. Just a little planning ahead makes everything go flawlessly.

The only complaint I have is sometimes the service at the restaurants was a little slow. I asked for extra kethup or another drink and waited several minutes or had to ask again. But this wasn't enough to keep my wife and I from booking next year's vacation the day before we left to come home.

I didn't give the location 5 stars only because of the hour and a half drive from Montego Bay. But other than that, you can' beat this place once you get there.

One final note: there was some construction going on trying fix a few things that were damaged from the hurricane last Fall. It didn't really bother us a whole lot. I mean they have to fix it at some point!

Bottom line - book a week here and I promise you won't want to go anywhere else!

Room Tip: West side has better views. We had room 152. Next year we are going to try and get 158 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.