We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Plantation to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Plantation
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Couples Massage!
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from ten nights at the Plantation, I have to say when we arrived we were less than happy with a couple of things . The bath is tiny . The beach area was not so big either and pool was only big enough for 10 beds which people put books on at 8am all of these things I don't expect from this standard of hotel.

We did then decide to use the swimming pool at the sister hotel next door ,which had sunbeds in the pool which I liked.The pool area was large with a hot tub too.I enjoyed the fact we could use the facilities without having to stay there all the time.
I think the Royal Plantation should not allow anyone to place books on the sunbeds without laying there,being the fact there are not many beds.You could visit for 2 weeks and never get to sit at the pool.

We did on the remaining 4 days of our holiday sit at the plantation pool and it was a very nice area to be in.

Appart from the above the hotel was fantastic !!

The Staff at this hotel are the best I have ever come across in any hotel.The food is beautiful every night.We never had a bad meal at any point on our holiday. The food is fine dining every night, For those who calorie count ,this hotel may not be for you !

The staff at the hotel make this hotel one of the best they are dedicated to their work and love doing what they do . The Butlers we had were very good Shelly and Aaron. Shelly did those little unexpected things like leave a love heart made of rose petals on our bed with a few candles on the floor with petals scattered around,we had cheese and biscuits left in the room for when we arrived in from the pool .Nice touches.She left cake in the room for us and always made sure we had a full fridge full of champagne.

I have to say the entertaimants team and bar staff were also brilliant , They made every night a memorable one .O'Shane was great fun.

We normally have quiet holidays and meet a few people that we never keep contact with on our return but here I would say we have met some very good friends that we will meet up agian with at some point for a re-union.

I bought some duty free items there, Breitling watch and Cartier Ladies bag. Just to make you aware we priced everything up on our return .The prices there are cheaper by 25%. Buy Rum at the airport not at resort.

Overall great holiday ,we will visit again !!! for sure

Room Tip: Room 101- 105 too close to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    173
    54
    24
    13
See reviews for
20
1,099
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the moment we stepped off the plane everything was taken care of. The Sandals employees whisked everyone to the proper transportation to their respective resorts.

Upon arrival to Royal Plantation we were greeted by friendly Sandals employees and offered drinks. Our room wasn't ready, but we waited for only 45 minutes in the Wobbly Peacock pub and munched on a delicious cheese pizza. After that it was smooth sailing (well, swimming and snorkeling).

The rooms are fantastic and look like the pictures. Big, comfy bed, windows that open to let in warm and sunshine, huge closet, nice TV (who needs it though?), mini bar with all the trappings and bathroom with "his & her's" sinks. Daily maid service and evening turndown service work to complete the feeling of total relaxation in the room.

Our butlers, Marvin and Jermaine, were great. They were warm, friendly and simply could not do enough for us. I felt like our butlers, along with all the resort staff, truly cared that my boyfriend and I had a great time.

The beach, while on the smaller side, is quiet, clean and has plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Make sure to chat with Adrian, the bartender. He is friendly and makes fabulous drinks. Also, all of the drinks are handmade. Nothing neon comes out of a slurpee machine at this resort.

This brings me to food. I highly recommend the jerk chicken or fish dishes. Also, anything that has fruits and vegetables is amazing as the veggies and fruits and are ripe, fresh and the best I have had in a long time.

The evening entertainment was great. To be honest I was worried the music would be cheesy. Not.at.all. The music was lively and set the mood for fantastic evenings.

I highly recommend this resort for a week vacation of relaxation, sunshine and warm weather.

If you are still reading here are some quick pointers:

Royal Plantation is not for those seeking a huge party or lively nightlife. It is a relaxation resport.

This resort is unlike other Sandals resorts due to its smaller size (70 rooms).

The food, while very good, is not the best I have ever had. However, it is still very good.

The people who come here seem very laid-back and relaxed.

I don't believe you can find a better resort in Jamaice for this price.

If you haven't already, book your vacation here!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor, for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at Sandals Royal Plantation in Ocho Rios. The resort was beautiful, the people were very well-trained and courteous, and the service was fantastic. Our room was very comfortable, with flat-screen TV, and a free mini bar. This resort is all inclusive, and they didn't "cheap out" on the brands. We drank Beringer wines, Grey Goose Vodka and Baileys. Our butler(s) were terrific - there was nothing that we asked that they didn't positively respond to.

The only things that I would refer to as "negative" at the resort were:
(1) There was a charge for wi-fi. This day and age, that's almost insulting. Increase the cost by $40.00, and include the wi-fi.
(2) The golf course was barely adequate. This is not a resort that avid golfers would want to go to. It was OK, but just that.

Room Tip: I don't think there were any "bad" rooms here. Our room faced the ocean, and was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were on Celebrity Constellation (great ship) and through my travel Agency Avoya booked a day trip to Sandals Royal Plantation. We received a email voucher with directions on it for check-in. When we disembarked into Falmouth which is a less then 3 year old secured beautiful port - We went to De Sol store on instructions and were directed to tents to meet representative. The rep. was nowhere to be found amongst the throng of others. We walked around for over 30 minutes asking several other people in area. Finally were met up, he wasn't even holding a sign.
There were 8 of us that ended up leaving about an hour late due to confusion on where to meet rep. He apologized and said that company was working on printing out correct info. about meeting place. We took small mini bus for approximately 40 min. ride to Sandals. There was some nice beach to see along the way. The driver was friendly and played great music. We were told we'd be picked up at 230 pm which was about an 1-1hr earlier then we expected. Sandals itself was nice but feel like our day was too short for $100 + for daypasses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Realizing it is hit or miss with butlers, ours were horrible. We did all of our reservations. They never did anything. When we asked for food or snacks in the room, thy just told us to call room service. On the beach we were told to talk to the beach butler.

Aside from that, this resort is tiny to say the least. Pool is maybe 30ft long. Beaches are maybe 40yrds each. They only had activities open four days a week. When we tried to get reservations at the Rivera next door, part of the package, we were told no, they were not allowing us usage of the property accept to golf.

We realize others liked it, but there are certain realities. If you are looking for somewhere to layout and drink, this is your place. If you want to do anything else, go somewhere else. The Rivera offers butler service for $50 less a night and you get more than one place to eat for the week.

Age issue. We were there for a fiftieth birthday. Three of the days we were the youngest on the property. No big deal accept that to accommodate that age group, everything shuts down at 10pm. The bar is open, but it's not big enough to do anything but drink.

Over all, if we go back to Jamaica we will look into Negril. Beach to walk on and a better night life. We met several from other resorts that were going to Negril nightly, a three hour drive, to find something to do.

Food for thought.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Resorts Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Please accept our apologies if we may not have met your expectations in a few areas during your stay with us. Sandals Royal Plantation stands on a 25 foot bluff and claims a great part of its appeal from a history that returns to the era of the 1950’s. While the pool is not of the expansive size conventional to more modern pool facilities, its design complements the aura of the resort and couples the intimate pool experience with an incredibly stunning, panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea. The view from the pool is simply breathtaking.

We welcome Guests of all ages who are seeking an exclusive resort that pampers its Guests in an elegant, Caribbean setting. Whether our Guests are Honeymooning in their twenties, or celebrating an Anniversary in their sixties, we stand by our promise to spoil them with a service offer that takes their special needs into consideration. Our nightly events range from live bands and cabaret shows to a Piano Sing-along and Disco Dance party from 10PM until.

I would like to be sure the address your concerns with our dining options available on resort. We offer a variety of options to guests through our Discovery Dining approach to cuisine. French cuisine is offered nightly in Le Papillon; International Cuisine is offered at The Terrace Restaurant and Grilled Seafood options abound at the Royal Grill. The Wobbly Peacock is a great rendition of a British gastro-pub and is open nightly.

More importantly, Sandals Royal Plantation is the kind of welcoming resort that prides itself on being infinitely open to the individual tastes and preferences of our Guests. Our Chefs simply love to fulfill special requests to assure our diverse clientele of how attuned we are to satisfying their expectations. It is also the resort where our Chefs take pleasure in creating vivacious, ingenuous gastronomy that transport our clientele to the level of experimentation and enjoyment of novel directions in gourmet cuisine.

We do hope that you afford us the opportunity to truly experience the wonderful amenities of our resort that may have been overlooked. We strive to keep our guests happy no matter what and would be thrilled to have the chance to exceed your expectations in the future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The RP is beyond anything we have ever experienced. It truly approaches perfection. Everything is done better than you thought it could be. The food is spectacular. And the service! Oh the service! These people are absolutely top notch, professional but personable. But be warned: if you stay here once, how will you ever stay at any other all-inclusive?

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, but higher and farther out is better. You certainly get what you pay fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I were blown away by our stay at the Royal Plantation. Our butlers Derron and Dacia were great and in no way overbearing. We were a little unsure of the butler concept, but it works really nicely, anything we wanted for our room they would take care of, which was usually Red Stripe and bottles of water. They made our restaurant reservations and checked in on us every once in a while. The rooms are very nice and all have a view of the ocean, we slept with the doors facing the ocean open so we could hear the the waves at night. The entertainment was very good, with Reggae bands, DJs and a really good piano player in the Wobbly Peacock for the end of evening fun. The bartenders are a lot of fun as well.

As many have pointed out, you do have access to the larger resort next door if you desire more "action", but we never left and spent most of our time on the beach. We never had any trouble finding chairs at about 10 am, so there was no need to rush down and save a seat. There are two beaches, we preferred the beach where the water activities were, there is beach service on both beaches, so getting another drink was never a problem. We also did some kayaking and snorkeling, both were a lot of fun and are included with the price.

The restaurants were all good, not the best dinner out I've ever experienced, but very good. Jamaica Night is a lot of fun, try the curried goat, it was amazing. We met a lot of nice couple from all over and across age brackets. The service is what really separates this resort, just a bunch of wonderful people wanting you to have the best stay possible.

My one minor complaint is that they charge for wi-fi access, which for this type of resort and price is a bit ridiculous, but wouldn't stop me from returning.

Room Tip: We preferred staying on the third floor for the best view and liked the rooms over the beach that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.