We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Royal Plantation is very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Plantation to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Plantation
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$305 Spa or Tour Credit!
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sandals Royal Plantation is very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I just got back from a couples trip that my work provides for all of its managers. We stayed here from Thursday Jan 17th thru Monday Jan 21st. The Royal Plantation is a very small hotel, only 74 suites. This hotel is for an older crowd, did not see many young couples at this resort. The rooms at this hotel all face the ocean with a view of the water and are very spacious. The bedroom portion of the hotel is very nice, the bathrooms are a little dated. Everything worked, but just looked like it could use a little update. The food was above average, with several selections at each restaurant that were unique. Make sure to get the Lobster BLT by the beach at the grill, it was fantastic. The staff is very attentive and will go out of their way to make your trip an enjoyable one. The beach and pool are small, so our larger group from work decided to walk to the Sandals property next door for a larger pool. I can't fault the hotel, especially if you are traveling as a couple, you will not need the space our large group did. If you are looking for complete relaxation, this resort is for you. If you are looking for nightlife, I would choose another property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    182
    57
    24
    13
See reviews for
20
1,150
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have travelled to over 50 countries and regularly go to to 5 and 5 1/2 star resorts around the caribbean. I love the Sandals resorts and have been to all of them. In the last year I have stayed at all the Sandals again but Negril. In May I was married at the Royal Plantation. It is by far their best resort mostly because of the food. Their french restaurant is the best restaurant I have eaten at in an all-inclusive hotel. Very few people have been to more places than myself. My favorite dish was the smoked salmon fetuccine for lunch. Darren mrtrip@vmobile.blackberry.com

Room Tip: Most rooms only have a french balcony. Any room with a full balcony is much larger. However our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you, Darren, for your kind review of Sandals Royal Plantation and of our other Sandals properties. We're so happy to read that we are always able to offer you the best in luxury accommodations and fine dining during your time spent with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here Jan 3 - 10th, 2013. A smaller resort of 74 suites, with an older, quieter group (perfect for relaxing & romance). Superb room, gracious service, outstanding food, nice beach and beautiful setting. Stay here you will be impressed. Our butlers Germaine and Marvin continued to please us with their attentiveness to make sure we had the best time possible - even interesting animal towel creations in our room & a drawn hot bubble bath with flowers and candle light awaited us after an evening of entertainment. And they (like the rest of the staff) are really nice people too. Come here, have the best time, make some friends, and enjoy a bit of paradise. BTW, I am not a Sandals employee - they just have it dialed in!

Room Tip: Second and third floors with ocean views are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling to this resort every Christmas week since 2005. That being said, obviously, we LOVE this place!! We were very concerned once this resort became part of the sandals chain BUT the past few years under Sandals has not disappointed us one bit. Yes there are changes, but the overall experience from the staff, to the food, to the immaculate kept grounds are second to none.

Over the past 7 years we have met so many wonderful people. The staff that we have come to know so well are the best of the best. Mr. Peter Frasier runs this resort, and he is, without a doubt, the reason this resort is so highly regarded. He is always visible and no problem goes unresolved.

The changes (from RP to SRP) that I am about to list, although a negative, certainly will not make us second guess our trip for Christmas 2013, but want to point out in hopes of being addressed to continue to be that "special" place that we love.

- Transport to and from the airport is no longer private. You may possibly be sharing the journey with other couples.

- Under RP, when the staff would enter your room, be it your butler, or room service attendant, they would always remove their shoes, leaving them outside the door. This is no longer being done. That requirement of the staff was another way this hotel stood apart and added that special touch. Much like the Peninsula hotels.

- Room Service (breakfast) presentation is not what it used to be. When you ordered the "muffin basket" it would always come with fresh delights wrap in linens in a basket. Now it is presented directly in the basket with plastic wrap around.

- The snacks in the room are very limited. A can of peanuts, and a bag of gummie fish is all that was in our suite this year. Previously there were more snacks which doesn't make sense since you do pay for the snacks that you consume.

- I felt our suite was a bit "tired" (suite 161). Although very clean the bathroom could use an upgrade...missing tiles, better lighting. Also the decorative picture on the wall was crooked so I went to straighten and it was nailed that way...

I know some of you may think my negatives are petty but when you have these initially at the resort and are no longer, it makes you wonder what other special details will eventually disappear.

My husband and I have never vacationed at any other Sandals property. We feel we found the best of the best with Royal Plantation and we will continue to vacation here every Christmas as long as it doesn't become what most folks call "sandalized"

Thank you Peter and your hard working staff for yet another unforgettable Christmas vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I wanted a relaxing getaway for our honeymoon and we were not really sure where to book or even where to start looking. With the help of Beach Bum Vacation and our wonderful travel agent Lisa Zwissler we came across the Royal Plantation resort and hands down this was the best vacation either one of us have ever taken. The luxury and trained staff and 5 star dinning can not be compared to anywhere else I have ever stayed. We received first class treatment and have come back truly spoiled. I want to go back ASAP! Thank you Royal Plantation and Lisa for helping us find and have the best honeymoon we could have asked for.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view so you can not go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Without a shadow of a doubt the best holiday we have ever had.The service was second to none, our butlers were Shelley-Ann and Arron and we could not have wished for better, we were made to feel very special. All the staff were great and quite a few became friends,Stephan who worked on the beach was so attentive, polite and always smiling nothing was too much trouble, Kevin,Cornell, Sheldon, Cleon, Adrian, Richard, Olivia, Andre, Shenneil gave us wonderful service and made our holiday so memorable.
The food was the best I have ever had on this type of holiday and the menu was always changing and if you fancied something in particular the chefs would do their best to accomodate you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

So much has been written about the service, the staff and amenities, I'm going to focus on the main reason we chose this resort--excellent food.

Firstly, though, I'd like to thank Ruth DeMuth from tripguy.com for flawless travel arrangements.

Breakfast:
Breakfast is at the Terrace Restaurant--or, of course, room service. Anything you might imagine for breakfast is available. Lobster, steak, corned beef hash, salt cod, eggs benedict plus all the usuals. On your table you'll find cute little single serving bottles of ketchup, mayo and dijon mustard, as well as little jars of jams and jellies. There is a cereal bar--hot and cold. There is a fruit bar with many types of fruit, cold meats and cheese and smoked salmon. There is a omelet bar with lots of choices. There is a bread and pastry bar. There is also a hot buffet area. There are fruitinis available as well as mimosas. You can also order off a menu if you're not in to buffet thing.

Lunch:
Half of our stay we ate at the Royal Cafe (right on the west beach). There is a set menu with the fish selection changing daily. Apps include calamari salad, coconut shrimp, lamb kabob, one hot one cold soup. Mains include jerk chicken, pork or shrimp; fish and chips, baby back ribs, hamburger, hot dog.

The other half we ate at the Terrace Restaurant. The a la carte menu changed daily. My fav was on Wednesday when they had Veal Weiner Schnitzel with warm potato salad. However, there is also a small buffet area and grill where every day they change up the grill items--usually a chicken, fresh fish, pasta dish (usually with different types of seafood) as well as different hot sides. There is also a plentiful salad bar and dessert area.

Dinner:

Le Papillon--wonderful! Apps include escargot, shrimp and lobster coquille, smoked salmon, crab cakes, french onion soup. Mains include beef filet, duck breast, rack of lamb and other chicken and fish dishes.

Other dinners at The Terrace included Dover Sole, Lobster Flambe, Peppercorn Sirloin, Lobster Thermidor. Menus here changed nightly and often had a theme; ie Italian.

Friday is Jamaica night with a buffet. Highlights include curried goat, grilled lobster tails and jerk chicken and pork. Also an elaborate salad bar--we loved the salad of shrimp, mussels and clams.

Other options:
Upon request you can have a specially prepared Oriental dinner. This was a good option. It included sushi, lobster roll; and pork, chicken and beef mains.

Conclusion:
We did not eat at the Wobbly Peacock. However I was able to sample the pizza, chicken wings and fish and chips. Very good.
For a small resort, the choices of food was amazing and, for the most part, cooked to perfection.
If you have a craving for something and don't see it on the menu, just ask--if they can make it happen, they will. Definately, by far, the best food we've experienced at a resort. Sorry to those with sweet toothes out there--while there was lots of dessert choices, we were usually too full to partake.

Room Tip: We had a room with a real balcony in the west wing. Heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios 2, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.