We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Heights

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Columbus Heights to your Saves list
Columbus Heights
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Main Street | PO Box 383, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
New England, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Million Dollar View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

My husband and I visited Columbus Heights at the beginning of July. We have stayed there many times and usually book a 2 bedroom apartment, which we've always enjoyed. Since it was just the two of us this visit, we chose a one bedroom with a lovely view. It was fine. As usual, the kitchen was spotless and well-stocked with plenty of cooking utensils and dishes. The bedroom, while being a bit small compared to the larger master bedrooms in the 2 bedroom units we've stayed in, was nicely decorated and cooled off quickly with the very effective a/c. The view was to die for....I never tire of the sight of the city lights at night or the gorgeous pink hues at dawn from there. The many birds, including one bold hummingbird, added delightful images and relaxing sounds.

Very nice visit..hope to return again this year soon.

Only negative I can think of after many visits is that there is a lack of patio furniture around the lower pools. Wish there were loungers everywhere. Other than that, every visit has been great.

  • Liked — The view and accomodations
  • Disliked — Distance from shops, etc.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
15
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

My family and friends stayed at Columbus Heights for 8 days in July 2007 and we regret every single moment of the visit. The condos are fifty -- the appliances rusty and dingy, toilets broken, and the rooms were filled with lizards and bugs. We were told that all the rooms have a/c and to our surprise --only 1 a/c in the bedroom and it did not work properly. The roof leaked in the master bedroom -- of course it rained 3 times -- so they place a big blue plastic covering over our condo --very ugly !!
To top it all off -- the maid was rude and lazy --she did not clean the rooms properly or provide clean sheets or towels. She didn't even know how to cook. --Please do not waste your money or valuable vacation time --go somewhere else !!!

  • Liked — Absoluty nothing !
  • Disliked — It was all terrible!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Just recently returned from a 3 week long holiday in JA. One of those weeks was spent in Ochie. We stayed at Columbus Heights off of Main St. They're basically condo/apartments you can rent nightly/weekly, even monthly if you prefer. We rented a studio apartment. The property is on the side of the mountain so the hill up to our place was extremely steep. We found ourselves, most of the time , at the bottom hitching our way up, which most people were kind enough to take us up for free, others we paid 50-100J's just because we were so grateful we didn't have to walk up it! Once up the hill the view is beautiful, looking down on the bay where the cruise ships pull in. The studio consisted of a king size bed, dresser, large closet area, 2 person dining room table, sofa, 1 chair, bathroom,with tub, and kitchen with full size fridge, sink, 4 top range, no oven, toaster and all utensils. There was also a safe in the closet area. We also had a patio complete with table and four cahirs. Laundry was available, but was broken at the time.However i reccomend the laundry facilities behind The Travelers Rest at the bottom of the hill on Main St. to wash/dry clothes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

What a great place, I stayed here for my wedding. We had a two bedroom in phase 1. The verandah was huge, the apartment was nicely decorated and we had a welcome kit in the fridge, which consisted of egss, sugar, orange juice, butter and some other staples. We had a housekeeper/cook from 9 to 5 and the bedrooms had A/C. I would go back in a second. Skycastles shares the same property and my sister and some friends had a three bedroom penthouse up there. They liked their apartment but they didn't have a cook. You are on a steep hill and you are a five minute walk from town.
The apartment had one king bed and the other bedroom had two twin beds which were pushed together. The master bathromm consisted of two rooms which had a full bath/shower and toliet and the other room had a sink and a mirror that covered the entire wall. The other bedroom also had a full bath. The property is gated and when you go the supermarkets stick to the local brands as I paid almost $8.00 US for a package of butterball turkey breast

  • Liked — homey like atmosphere
  • Disliked — secluded
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in phase 1, the rooms are bigger
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

My family and I had a wonderful time in Jamaica. The newly refurbished apartment we stayed at was wonderful. It is well stocked, spacious, clean and an extremely inviting place to go back to. The housekeeper was a complete dream and her meals were amazing and nothing was too much for her!

We would most definitely stay there again. And would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

I loved my stay at Columbus Heights. We rented a beautiful unit that was well cared for. the people there were very friendly. Our housekkeper, Nadine, was wonderful. She cooked fantastic meals and was very helpful with tourist sites. I would definately reccomend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2005

Columbus Heights is an apartment complex located on a steep hill a short walk from Ocho Rios town centre, Island Village shopping and the beach.
The views are great and you can see the cruise ships when they dock.

You can see that some of the apartments look better cared for but most likely you won't be staying in one of them!Unless you can see up to date pictures of the apartment you'll be renting - it really is very much pot luck what you end up with.

You have to be reasonably fit to climb the hill, or take it slowlybecause the novelty wears off pretty quickly in the heat.
I stayed here in August in a one bedroomed apartment that was dingy, uncared for and in dire need of fresh paint. The muddy brown sofa looked like someone's dogs had slept on it after ripping the material off the front of the armrest and trying to chew the stuffing. The bed was a small double with cheap linen. There was a kitchen area but I didn't use it, I was put off after seeing the sofa and frankly it was better to eat at some of the restaurants a short walk away. The toilet kept getting blocked and one day the electricity was off for the whole day (luckily I was out sightseeing). In short, it looked like owner had forgotten they had an apartment here.

There ought to be some minimum standards for letting 'holiday' apartments and the Travel Agent as well as the management of Columbus Heights should vet these apartments more thoroughly before considering them for holiday lets. It's a big disappointment when, after travelling from thousands of miles away to enjoy a short break, you find that the accomodation is a bit of a dump and overpriced. Part of the enjoyment of a holiday is that the accomodation should at least be pleasant and comfortable.

Jamaica itself is beautiful and there are many pleasant trips like the touristy Dunns River and Bob Marley's mausoleum at Nine Mile where you're discreetly pestered to buy ganja before you enter , then on the inside you're asked for tips but not so discreetly by the 'guide' with tired and smoky eyes. There are other trips into the spectacular Blue Mountains dotted with tiny communities and Cockpit Country.

Don't bother staying at Columbus Heights it's overpriced and doesn't deserve to be touted as ' 3 star' . I've seen it included on websites that offer 'quality' accomodation but that's a joke, save your hard earned cash and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#11 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#15 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#19 of 40 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mystic Ridge Resort
Mystic Ridge Resort
#9 of 17 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Heights

Address: Main Street | PO Box 383, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hillside condominiums offering a panoramic view of the Ocho Rios Bay. Services include Daily Housekeeper/Cook, free daily shuttle to town for shopping, complimentary starter package. Cable TV, hot and cold water and air-conditioned bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Columbus Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Heights Hotel Ocho Rios
Columbus Heights Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.