We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica June 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge

Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge
52 Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
+ 1(876) 622-6942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 86 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: International, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mongoose Jamaica is more than a Restaurant, it's an experience.This Restaurant is "something different," We did something 'different' with the name as well, when we choose the "Mongoose" which has a rich history in Jamaica. Breakfast ranges from typical Jamaican fare of ackee and salt fish to pancakes and French toast. For dinner, there's chicken southern fried, curried, grilled lobster, grilled or curried, pork or steak. If you prefer, grab a sandwich, a pizza, some Jamaican jerk, or something from the grill, or maybe a cocktail from the bar. Black forest cakes and cheesecakes are our specialty desserts.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Jamaica June 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great atmosphere. Renee (bartender) was very friendly. I had the fish and chips which was really good. Overall great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“JAMAICA MAY 2013-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great time, Good food, drinks and lovely presentation. The atmosphere is warm and inviting! The Chief is very nice and handsome... Thanks for a good experience in Ochi,,,,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just at the bottom of the road from sunset jamacia grande great atmosphere lovely staff had a great night here

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“boring...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

They have a very boring menu, of pizza, hamburgers, and Jerk Chicken all very over priced. We were so disappointed we got up and left.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“New restaurant - very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went mid-week and it was very quiet but the staff were really nice and so friendly. Food was great. Would be good to see some of the tourists from the "all inclusive" hotels get out occasionally and support the local restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.