We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant in Ocho Rios Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mongoose Jamaica

Mongoose Jamaica
52 Main street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 76 restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St. James USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great restaurant in Ocho Rios Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant and were very happy we did. My fish and chips were the best! Service was excellent. Place is clean and the new owners are keen to do everything right. Our table was under cover but open to the breezes coming off the sea across the street.

Nice setting. Clean. Good food. Not cheap but reasonable.

We liked it so much that when we were driving back through Ocho Rios we stopped again. We were greeted like family by the chef.

Private fenced parking lot behind building.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    24
    12
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

great menu selections and a nice gift shop so you can nosh and shop at the same time! This spot is located right outside the gates of Sunset Jamaica Grande with parking in the rear. The mongoose motif was elegantly done with detailing on the entrance doors and wood carvings of mongoose in the venue.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“eating out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

mongoose jamaica was just at the end of the drive from the hotel the food was very nice and the service was good too

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've visited most restaurants in Ochi through the years and found the pricing exorbitant......$13.50 for a hamburger plate. It was night, but the interior looked very nice and the staff were friendly; they're located in the old "Mamma Marley's' which has moved west, closer to the cruise ship terminal. I can't comment on the food as we had four beer, paid the $20.00 and left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We met friends for lunch on Friday. The restaurant had a nice vibe. The menu prices were reasonable. Our waitress was pleasant. A teenager was begging us for money over the sidewalk wall but the staff asked him to leave. He was persistent.

I ordered the curry chicken with vegetables and garlic potato mash. It was superb. Woo, my palate is longing for more. My friends enjoyed pizza and southern fried chicken. Overall it was a good dining experience. I'll have to go back when I'm in Jamaica again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongoose Jamaica also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish

Been to Mongoose Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mongoose Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.