We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge

Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge
52 Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
+ 1(876) 622-6942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 89 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Mongoose Jamaica is more than a Restaurant, it's an experience.This Restaurant is "something different," We did something 'different' with the name as well, when we choose the "Mongoose" which has a rich history in Jamaica. Breakfast ranges from typical Jamaican fare of ackee and salt fish to pancakes and French toast. For dinner, there's chicken southern fried, curried, grilled lobster, grilled or curried, pork or steak. If you prefer, grab a sandwich, a pizza, some Jamaican jerk, or something from the grill, or maybe a cocktail from the bar. Black forest cakes and cheesecakes are our specialty desserts.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

great menu selections and a nice gift shop so you can nosh and shop at the same time! This spot is located right outside the gates of Sunset Jamaica Grande with parking in the rear. The mongoose motif was elegantly done with detailing on the entrance doors and wood carvings of mongoose in the venue.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    36
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“eating out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

mongoose jamaica was just at the end of the drive from the hotel the food was very nice and the service was good too

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've visited most restaurants in Ochi through the years and found the pricing exorbitant......$13.50 for a hamburger plate. It was night, but the interior looked very nice and the staff were friendly; they're located in the old "Mamma Marley's' which has moved west, closer to the cruise ship terminal. I can't comment on the food as we had four beer, paid the $20.00 and left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We met friends for lunch on Friday. The restaurant had a nice vibe. The menu prices were reasonable. Our waitress was pleasant. A teenager was begging us for money over the sidewalk wall but the staff asked him to leave. He was persistent.

I ordered the curry chicken with vegetables and garlic potato mash. It was superb. Woo, my palate is longing for more. My friends enjoyed pizza and southern fried chicken. Overall it was a good dining experience. I'll have to go back when I'm in Jamaica again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contoocook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Margarita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped in for cocktails one afternoon. I had a great Margarita.... Much better than the one I had at Margaritaville down the street.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.