We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, disappointing hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Tower Isle to your Saves list
Couples Tower Isle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great service, disappointing hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

We just returned from our wedding/honeymoon at Couples Ocho Rios, and we're rather disappointed in the hotel. The service was exceptional and the staff is very friendly, but we had hot water fewer than half the times we (attempted) showers, no water temporarily for a couple of days and we couldn't even flush our toilet. The elevator and a/c were not working one whole day. Also ants in our room and the bathroom was in serious need of a facelift--gray grout in the tub, cracked sink, etc. We stayed on the fifth floor, oceanfront.

As far as the wedding ceremony, the photographer is pretty much just directing you during the ceremony for pictures and the mini reception is no more than a staged photo op. The photos did turn out very nice, but it seemed strange to have pictures of a "fake" reception.

Although the service was excellent, as was the food, we would not go back. We had the expectation of hot water and flushing toilets at our round-the-clock disposal and the hotel did not meet those basic expectations. The manager, however, has been attentive and gave us a one-day refund (we stayed 7 nights). Even so, this was our wedding and honeymoon--a first for both of us--and the hotel was so lackluster that it did cast a negative light on our trip for much of the week. My husband and I are both laid-back travelers, but this hotel simply didn't meet our most basic expectations. If I could do it all over again, I would do another destination wedding, but not at Couples Ocho Rios.

  • Liked — Excellent service, friendly staff, great food
  • Disliked — antiquated facilities, problems with basic services like water and electricity
  • Tips/Secrets — those in hurry probably shouldn't go to Jamaica, everything starts later and takes longer than you anticipate
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,471
    527
    165
    78
    42
See reviews for
22
1,701
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

Can only agree with JamaicanTamie, we were there at the same time.
The staff are excellent and the hotel wonderful, you can do as little or as much as you like. It was our first time there and will certainly not be the last. All I can add is that we had a suite on the top floor of the main building and the view was great, so was the room, it had every thing in it we could wish for. Housekeeping were excellent Guest service girls, you could not fault them, any queries we had they quickly answered and nothing was too much trouble.
We met some lovely people and we certainly look forward to returning in 2008. If you book this resort you will not be dissappointed.
This has only been a short review because JamaicanTamie has said it all.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Just relax and enjoy
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

We booked our dream vacation hoping to return home with an awesome tan. It rained EVERY day and only had 2-3 hours of sun the entire time we were there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a superior ocean view room. We could not get the room to stop "sweating" and were moved our second day there. The condensation was so bad, everything we had was damp/wet. The room we were moved to was much nicer than the first one. We were having a great time, even with all the rain until our 5th day when my laptop computer was stolen from our LOCKED room. The remainder of our trip was ruined. Along with the computer and other items in my case were over 400 pictures of the first 4 days of our trip. We were absolutely miserable and the hotel management were not very helpful in offering any consolation for our loss. We loved the resort and TI, but doubt that we will ever go back because of the bad memories we now have.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — thieves
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep all valuables of any kind either in your safe or with you!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2006

We stayed from 13-22 November. The weather was a little inclement on the last couple of days, but we had a throroughly enjoyable holiday.
PLUS POINTS:-
* The service is excellent and very friendly. Staff just can't do enough for you.
* The free excursions are plenty (and very good) - we particularly liked Dunns River, the horseriding and the Cool Jazz catamaran cruise.
* Evening enterntainment everynight - with an really good house band "Heat Incorporated", plus some good singers (Karen Smith is unmissable), a steel band, fire-eaters and the casino night.
* The Island is a lovely facility if you like your tan without lines, as we do. Not too busy, swim-up bar and you can swim back, if you want some exercise.
* Couples "meet and greet" at the airport - with a lounge while you wait a few minutes for your transfer to be organised.
MINUS POINTS:-
* Only one - they are re-building the main road from MBJ to Ochos Rios at the moment - so a bumpy ride with the risk of some traffic jams. But when it's finished, even this minor niggle will go away.

WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK
Steve & Di - Solihull, England

  • Liked — The Island (Naturist) - combined with an excellent all-inclusive offering
  • Tips/Secrets — Make use of all the free excursions
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2006

Take any negative reviews you've seen about COR and throw them away, there is simply no way to have a bad time at this resort.

The bus trip was 2 hours, with a stop for jerk and Red Stripe. I honestly didn't think the ride was bad at all. Yes, there are some bad roads, but nothing that much worse than some of the ones here in CA. Plus, the scenery is amazing and the driver is very competent, I was never the least bit worried or uncomfortable.

The greeting upon arrival is unbelievable. Ainsworth and Kirk are the best and made us feel like we were home as soon as we got there. Captain Kirk, whom we became very close to during our stay, took us to our room.

The room is beautiful. Not glitzy, not super-fancy, but comfortable and clean and roomy, with a view that is to die for! We were in an ocean view deluxe and we loved sitting on the veranda watching the ocean.

Food was excellent. Every meal, every dish was delicious. We loved Le Gourmet and Bayside had great broiled lobster, but Verandah quickly became our favorite. Doesn't matter where you choose to eat, you will be served plenty of great food and great wine and the service will knock you off your feet. As a matter of fact, I'm afraid to go to a restaurant at home now because I've been spoiled by the service at COR and I know no restaurant here can beat it. Desserts are too good for words to ever express.

Activities were great. There were so many offered that we didn't have a chance to try them all. We did the cat cruise, shopping trips, patio games, scuba classes and snorkeling, all of which were great fun. Snorkeling was especially incredible!

Entertainment was fun! The bands and singers at night were very entertaining. Heat, Inc. always keeps the show going with their skilled play. The entertainment staff works hard to keep everybody amused and they do a great job. And you'd be surprised how easy it is to step out of your normal skin and try something crazy (like a Reggae Dance Queen contest.LOL...though in my defense, I did get 2nd place!) And though we loved all the shows, one night was beyond excellent. They had a guest singer named Karen Smith. This woman has a voice that can melt chocolate, it is so smooth. We were entranced during her entire performance. Top notch, and if you ever have the chance to listen to her in person, do not hesitate to go, you will be mesmerized.

The island is beautiful to look at and even more fun to visit. After a few very stiff drinks (no pun intended!), we worked up the nerve to try the island. As first timers, we became comfortable very quickly and soon found ourselves in the swim up bar having a good time. Though weather kept us from returning, I would recommend trying it, you may be surprised!

The resort is beautiful. Grounds were clean and well-kept throughout our stay. Our last 2 days, a pretty heavy storm moved in and kept washing seaweed up on the beach. The water sports crew were there to keep it cleaned all the time. The jungle tubs were very secluded, which makes for a romantic evening itnerlude. Every inch of COR is gorgeous and the atmosphere is so inviting.

Other couples at the resort were so fun to meet. We made so many friends and had the chance to meet up with some of the great people we met from the Couples message board. Every couple there is happy and smiling. You can be as social or as secluded as you want to be and everyone we talked to felt the same way we did about the resort and the people.

Service....I saved the best for last. Every single employee from the highest of management all the way down was friendly and helpful. People we had never even met knew who we were and told us they enjoyed us and knew who we were and that we were leaving the next day. We fell in love with Jamaica and her people, especially. We made some life-long friends at the resort and we exchanged e-mail and phone numbers to keep in touch. I can't wait to get home to be able to see my new family again. Kirk, Ainsworth, Tamara, Nicole, Jermaine, Julie, and Camille are just a few of the names of our wonderful friends that made our stay so awesome.

We also enjoyed all the other Jamaicans we met. They are the most warm and friendly people I've cannot stress enough how happy they are to share their home with us tourists.

We are already planning our trip home. This was our first trip to Couples, or Jamaica, but it will not be our last. We felt as though we were repeaters after our first day there. Trust me, you will never have a vacation quite like the experience Couples offers. It is truly a cut above!

  • Liked — Every single thing...it is amazing!
  • Disliked — Nothing, I loved it all.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Couples, you'll be well taken care of.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa-USA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

Returned from Couples Ocho Rios and all I can say is "Wow what a resort" We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View room and it had a magnificent view of the ocean. The room was clean, we had turn down service every nite and I loved having the coffee pot in the room to sit on the balcony and have my coffee while listening to the waves. The different restaurants were excellent. We loved Bayside the Italian restaurant, dining while over the ocean and listening to the waves was great. It was our favorite restaurant and we tried them all. The pool side gala, I have never seen so much food and the deserts were to die for. The Beach party was a party and the entertainment was great. Most of all I so enjoyed the staff. They really seemed pleased to help and were so friendly. Anything they could do to make our vacation a great one they did. I would return to this resort in a minute I had so much fun.

  • Liked — the whole package
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take a smile and great attitude for an awesome vacation
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

My husband and I have been to Jamaica 2 times in the past and stayed at the "other" all inclusive resorts and decided to try Couples for a comparison. After staying at Couples Ocho Rios, we decided there really wasn't any comparison Couples is the best. The food is EXCELLENT! The staff is there for all of your needs! The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are kept clean and the views are AWESOME!

We enjoyed the beach - while we were there, the ocean was rough during the night and it washed up a lot of seaweed, but every morning the water sports crew was out raking it up and disposing of it, so that the beach was clean and beautiful.

My husband went scuba diving everyday and enjoyed every trip. The water sports crew treated him well and took him to some beautiful spots.

For those that prefer the au natural option, then head to Tower Island (the au natural area of Couples Ocho Rios). The island is perfect and the bartender, Damion, is the best.

Entertainment at night was great, from firing eating to local dances, we had a blast each and every night.

All of the restaurants are excellent. We especially enjoyed the French fine dining restaurant, with its quaint atmosphere and excellent decor.

Our room was a Superior Ocean Front and we had an excellent view of the water. Sunsets were especially impressive to see.

We have already booked our trip for next August and have 2 other couples that have committed for the same time. We will never be going back to the "other" all inclusive as Couples is now considered our Jamaica home away from home.

  • Liked — the spectacular decor and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — plan on having a lot of fun!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Tower Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.