We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommand it !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Tower Isle to your Saves list
Couples Tower Isle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would highly recommand it !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My Friend and I stayed at the Couples Tower Isle last week and we had a blast. Having stayed in various hotel in Jamaica this hotel is the great balance of luxury combine with true Jamaican experience. Its a good value for your money considering that you have many activities included and free WIFI. It is clean and staff is devoted to make your vacation as relaxing as it should be. I had requested a special meal and although they didn't had it on site they went out of the resort to get it for me.As for food again you have everything you need. People with a strict diet will also be pleased by their menu.

Although the hotel is fairly small the rooms on the other hand are spacious, beds are extremely comfortable.

Im usually not a fan of the nightly show, however this property bring in local experienced band and it is a must see.

This hotel is really efficient and organize, its no that place that you will wait endlessly and never ending up getting what you want.

I would go back any time !!!

Room Tip: If you are planning on doing the Dunns River Excursion you should bring your own water shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,471
    527
    165
    78
    42
See reviews for
22
1,701
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you want to experience Jamaica and have privacy Couples is a nice place. All watersports are included, snorkeling, sailing, scuba diving, etc. Dunn's River is included as well. Transportation to and from the airport is included which is about a $20 savings per person.

The bellman at the hotel are awesome, especially Kurk. It is amazing how many people he remembers and he is so full of life.

The front desk associates are not very pleasant. They make you feel as if you are bothering them when you ask them a question. If you stop by you need to wait for them to finish their personal conversations before they will get to you. Now having said that, this was what probably bothered me the most the other service was fine.

Housekeeping is awesome, the rooms are clean and the beds are turned down every night. One night they even left flowers on the pillow.

Wait staff in the restaurants was very good. Martin is great!!! Eight Rivers was my favorite restaurant. The breakfast buffet was great. I wish breakfast started sooner than 7:30 since I am an early riser. Lunch was a buffet and most of the time the food was great. I just wish the fruit was offered all day. Dinner did not start until 7:30 which was late if you did not have a reservation. If you had a reservation at the restaurant you could eat at 6:15. There use to be a buffet for dinner but they stopped that, I'm not sure why. Wish they offered that. Lobster on Friday nights, very good.

The activities planned got canceled since not enough people signed up. Tie dye was fun but bring a white tee to tie dye or you will have to pay $7 for a shirt (not a bad price even if you don't bring one). The shirts came out great. I was looking forward to jewelry making and basket making but they never happened.

The entertainment was very good.

The beach was private and very relaxing. No vendors to bother you. The hotel did invite certain vendors to visit on beach party night and they were great vendors, especially the pottery vendor.

If you are going to Scuba dive, do it on the first few days. It takes 1/2 a day. You have to swim 4 laps without stopping and then if you pass you watch a video and take a test. If you pass you go to the pool for an hour to learn equipment and get comfortable with breathing underwater. Then you go for a dive. After you dive you will be asked if you want to be certified and that will take another day. The instructors have a lot of patience but that is how they make their money. If you get certified (I think about $250) you can scuba more during your visit. The dive is great and you do get to see beautiful fish and coral. You can't dive 12 hours before you fly home so take advantage early in your trip and consider getting certified because the certification is through PADI and is good where ever you go.

The spa was awesome

Overall it was a good trip and we went during a slow time so we got to meet a lot of nice guests.
It was a very pleasant vacation. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to go on a vacation not spend a lot of money and not have to worry about tipping. Couples does not encourage tipping and if you try the employees will tell you they can not accept it. However, if you have exceptional service you can insist on tipping.

Room Tip: Garden rooms we heard people say they had some issue with mosquitos The rooms in the main building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted that your overall experience was enjoyable and relaxing. Your comments regarding the Front Desk staff have been noted and we will use your feedback as a training tool. We look forward to host you in the near future and thank you once again for choosing Couples Tower Isle for your vacation destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When we arrived, there was a band, champagne and wet hand towels. We didn't have any instructions on the hotel but it was small and easy to figure out, they do offer a formal orientation. Our jaws dropped when we saw the dessert buffet. The food was amazing, great selection. Traditional and more American type food. They were not stingy on the cocktails and used top shelf liquor. Beach service of drinks to your chair was great. Beach bathrooms were a bit of a walk. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, always asking how you are doing. We are picky in our vacations and we could not find much to complain about!

Room Tip: The beach rooms looked beautiful but we weren't in the room long enough to justify it. Our garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I were married at this Couples Location and it was Amazing! They took care of everything and made the day stress-free and easy! The level of detail was unreal down to the color of flowers to the reception afterwards. We loved it so much we are actually going again this year October 5-12 for our anniversary! I highly recommend this resort for anyone looking for the all inclusive experience with out the crowd.

Room Tip: Rooms that look over the water are the best and worth the extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

whoever writes a bad review about this place is a Debbie Downer!! We just spent 7 days there on our honeymoon and we cant get back soon enough!!!

STAFF: is amazing, everyone was friendly, helpful and on top of things GREAT SERVICE!

FOOD: is very good and the only time u cant get something to eat is between 4 am - 6 am any time other than that there is somewhere to eat.

DRINKS: in my opinion are slightly watered down (didnt take away from the greatness of the resort) but still good and its FREE so just drink more if need be =-) if you ask for liquor in your rooms mini bar they bring you a whole bottle which is prob not watered down but i didn't drink it so not sure.

ROOMS: We had a ocean-view room which i highly recommend!! to go to sleep to the sounds of the ocean and the tree frogs was amazing and peaceful ( we sleep with the patio door open) and to wake up to the sun and ocean is equally amazing. the room was spacious and clean (also cleaned everyday and turned down at night) the water pressure was not good but once again it didn't take away from the greatness of this place

CLEANLINESS: cleanliness of the resort as a whole was excellent

Dunns River Falls is a MUST and is a free excursion provided by the resort, make sure to take water shoes they are a must, if u forget to back them no worries u can rent them for $7 or buy them for $15 also be sure to take a water proof camera or phone cause u will get 100% wet

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4313 w oceanview it was GREAT last room at the end of the hall so it was quiet als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Background: This was our fourth trip to Jamaica, third to a Couples Resort and our 2nd time to Tower Isle. Our first trip was in 2009, right after the resort opened from renovation.

I'm not going to hide it, we love Couples Tower Isle, and once the 2015 booking window opens, we'll be taking advantage of the discounts for the next "mom and dad only trip". Unfortunately for us, the Couple experience (San Souci and Tower Isle) have so spoiled us, we may never see Hawaii or the rest of the Caribbean.

There are a lot of reviews here that pretty accurately describe the resort and experience. For us, the reason we returned and will continue to come back is the staff. We've done other resorts and all- inclusives, but in our 3 trips to Couples, the thing that is consistent is how much the staff is part of your experience. As a frequent traveler, other than maybe a front desk person that is welcoming or may recognize you, most hotels and resorts have their employees play a background role. At Couples, everyone you meet is going to remember you, greet you by name and make you feel welcome. Here's a few examples from our most recent trip:
- On our first trip to Tower Isle, we really hit it off with the entertainment staff, so when we went back we were looking for familiar faces. We were happy to see that Kadian (sp?) was still there. After a brief reintroduction, she mentioned something that proved that she remembered us from the previous trip, and she went out of her way to include us in activities.
- On the first day, we noticed that the air conditioner was dripping in the closet. I stopped by the front desk and asked if they could send up some extra towels to drop on the floor. We were back in the room less than 30 minutes later and Adrian(sp?) from maintenance was already there, and had fixed the issue. A couple minutes later, someone from housekeeping dropped off extra towels just in case. So maybe 5 days go by, we see Adrian walking around the property and he asks us if the air conditioner drip was still fixed. (it was).
- The last note I'll make on the staff is a mention of the repeaters' dinner. My guess is that at least a third of the guests are there, so the return rate must be big. The great thing about this dinner is that you get to interact more with the staff, they dinner is served with 3 to 4 couples per table with a couple of staff members who are being rewarded for their service. For us it was a great opportunity to meet new friends, it's also an opportunity for some of the staff to be honored and pampered for the night. I'm honored to spend an honorable evening having dinner and a glass of wine with the people that help make our vacation great and learning a bit about Jamaican life. I hope this tradition continues.

So what else is great about Tower Isle?
- The scuba staff is awesome. I watched Chris and his crew deal with first-timers to well experienced divers and not miss a beat. Every time I walked by the scuba shack one of the employees would shout out and ask if I was going out on next dive.
- The facilities are great. You do have to remember that you're in the Caribbean and not in New York, so things wear and the climate takes a toll. Between our first and second visits, you can see the four years of tropical aging, but you also see people constantly working on maintenance. At one point in time, Tower Isle was a hidden gem for the rich and Hollywood elite, you still feel a lot of that now.
- The guests are great, especially the repeaters, they get it. Couples is a place to maybe move out of your comfort circle and meet new friends.
- The spa, I rarely get massages at home, but I go through at least 2 of them here. Something about being on vacation combined with a great massage relaxes me more than anything else.
- The coffee, there is nothing better that Blue Mountain Coffee, and there is a hot kettle of it before the sun comes up every morning.
- The island, head out there at least once on your trip. Like us, you might not be a 'nudist', but there's something great about getting some sunshine where the sun doesn't shine for a couple hours of your trip. Nobody's going to approach you, and nobody's gawking, so come as you are.

So what could Couples do better?
- Proactively manage the minibar, although when we needed service it was less than 15 minutes away.
- Provide a better selection for the minibar's non-alcoholic drinks, for some reason they would give you one Pepsi and one Diet Pepsi, but not two of one or the other. We negotiated with the room service guy to swap things out, but it would have been nice to proactively offer it.
- The airport buses leave way too early. Give me another hour in paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review of your recent visit to Couples Tower Isle. We are pleased that our offerings and service far exceeded your expectations. You positive comments are testament to the quality vacation experience we strive to provide. We have noted your suggestions regarding the Mini Bar Service and will make every effort to address your concerns. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Several friends had been to other Couples resorts, but we picked Tower Isle because it had been recently renovated just before our visit and because we got such an outstanding rate. We could not have been more pleased. The food was fantastic, the people were dedicated to making our stay memorable, and everything about the property was wonderful. The view from our room was just spectacular, with beautiful sunrises every morning. We were able to keep in touch with our family back home with their Internet cafe, although we probably forgot about home for the majority of the time. Maybe the best part of the resort was that you can be as busy or not as you choose. There are tons of activities, but we just wanted to chill. The first couple of days were much more crowded with people than the last few and the lines at the buffet moved better once everyone else went home. Don't miss the Asian restaurant Bayside located on the water! It doesn't get more romantic than this lovely spot. I highly recommend Couples Tower Isle.

Room Tip: There is something for every budget. Rooms in the building where the clubs are can hear the music l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Tower Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.