We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CTI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Save Saved
You added Couples Tower Isle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CTI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went to CTI for 3 nights 4 days. Was a great trip! The only problem we had was we didn't stay long enough! Make sur eyou book the specialty restraunts in advance. They do allow that over the phone prior to travel (they indicated when we booked it wasn't allowed and when we showed up they were all booked). Very accomodating with us, even caught some fish and brought it back to the resort. The chef prepared it and cooked it for us for an afternoon snack!

Try the Jamaican Smile drink. It is great! Skip the catamaran cruis, not that good. Do go snorkeling and scuba diving- both great trips! There is also a guy named Michael that sells nice shells and conch. He paddles up to the resort on a surf board. He can arrange a low cost deep sea fishing trip for you. Good times at CTI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,280
    452
    128
    72
    42
See reviews for
19
1432
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I traveled to CTI May 29-June 5 for our 5 year anniversary and his 30th birthday celebration. We've always wanted to travel to Jamaica, and we had heard from friends that the Couples resorts were top notch. After much online research we felt that CTI best suited our travel desires.

We arrived in Jamaica and were immediately shown to the Couples Lounge where our bags were tagged and we were sent to the bar for a complimentary red stripe or two. We were on our way within 10 minutes of arrival at the lounge. The ride to Ocho Rios took approx. 2 hours with one bathroom/beverage stop along the way. When we arrived at the resort we were greated with a Jamaican band, cool towels and rum punch. Check-in was a breeze and then we were off to our room. Our porter gave us a small tour along the way and explained some of the all-inclusive features CTI offers for in-room drinks and room service. "No problem mon!" We were in a delux ocean view room (building 4), and we definitely recommend spending the extra for the upgrade! The room was large and the view was second-to-none, even though we were only on the 1st floor! We had a great view of the island and it was wonderful waking up to a view like that! I've read some reviews where people in buidling 4 had issues with the noise from the pool bar, we never had a problem with it. The pool bar hours are such that it doesn't open until well after we were awake for the day and it closes before dusk so it never interfered with sleeping. After getting situated we made our way down to the pool bar for a quick snack (snapper sandwich and jerk chicken are amazing here!) and then took the afternoon tour of the resort. We'd highly recommend this as it only takes 20 minutes or so, and then you know where everything is at the resort!

All 3 a la carte dinner restaurants were fantastic. We especially enjoyed the Verandah which was the Carribean themed restaurant for it's unique blend of ingredients-something we wouldn't get at home in northern MN! Garfield was our favorite server/bartender's assistant, he always had the biggest smile whenever he was working! We also enjoyed a daily lunch at the veggie bar. The sweet potato chips and dips were fantastic, our favorite dip was the plantain lime dip. They also had delicious sandwiches, fresh coconut water, fresh fruit smoothies, and fresh juice everyday. We also took advantage of room service two mornings for breakfast. We ordered champagne and pineapple juice the night before (as they don't start delivering alcohol until later in the day) and made mimosas with pineapple juice vs. orange to go with the assortment of fruit and pastries we ordered. We thoroughly enjoyed having breakfast on our balcony with the great view of the island!

The drinks left a little to be desired. While they were delicious, we felt that the liquor may have been a little bit watered down. Several other couples we met had the same experience.

Take part in as many or as few activities as you want-that is the mantra of CTI! We chose to do Dunn's river falls, the sunset catamaran cruise, a snorkeling trip, and we used the stand up paddleboards, kayaks and took a sail out on a Hobie cat sailboat. We loved Dunn's, we only wish we had gone earlier in the vacation because we probably would have made time to go a second time if we would have done it sooner!

We didn't feel the beach was as small as a lot of the reviews made it out to be. It was actually kind of nice not having a huge beach to have to get across to participate in different activities, go get snacks, etc. Another plus, there were always plenty of chairs in both the shade and in the sun. Same goes for the pools, we never had trouble finding a spot. Another thing we loved about CTI was every chair had a water lounger to lie on in the ocean or pool. It was so nice to not have to wake up at the crack of dawn to try and reserve spots on the beach!

We were also very impressed with how friendly everyone working at the resort was. We never encountered a single person who didn't seem to love their job! This was a refreshing change from the all-inclusives we've stayed at in Mexico and Dominican Republic.

I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a wonderful vacation-whether it be relaxing, adventurous, or a combination of both! You will not be disappointed in CTI!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 4 have a great view of the island and are close to the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our fourth visit in the last three years. Again we were impressed by how the staff interact with the guests. Everyone was welcoming, attentive and friendly. Service was prompt. Several times we requested room service to restock the complimentary bar and the items arrived within ten minutes.

There is no need to repeat my previous review or add to those of others. However, a new activity has recently been added. This is a weekly Gala buffet held on the front lawn. This event requires a tremendous effort by the staff. Early in the morning the staff begin changing a bare lawn and garden area into a setting for 200 guests, overhead lights, stage, serving area, staging the dinner then removing all these items by about midnight. Non-stop work for an outstanding and memorable evening.

Well done to all.

We made use of the Mobay Lounge at the airport for our return. This is a worthwhile activity.

We have already booked our return for June of 2014

Room Tip: We like the Deluxe Ocean view rooms on the top floor of block 4. Great views, away from central are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon the weekend of May 11th. The drive from Montego Bay was about 2 hours and it was an easy drive. The resort itself is nice. The lobby is clean and contemporary. We enjoyed getting a drink hand delivered to us as soon as we arrived. We had an ocean front room and it was fantastic. We did pay a little more the for upgraded room, our balcany was private and we were located close to the stairs, so easy access to the pool, bar and beach. The resort is small, not tiny, but a decent size. It was nice not to have to walk a long distance to get food or drinks. The beach party dinner on Monday night was fantastic and the entertainment was great! We basically relaxed the entire trip, the hospitality was great and the food was delicious (I LOVE the 24 hr ice cream machine!!). Needless to say, we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Was kinda skeptical on the all inclusive trip but was definitely worth it. We spent our week long honeymoon here and loved it. There was always some sort of entertainment going on. The music was always awesome. The staff was super friendly and the room service was great. The food was so great I gained 6 lbs lol. I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 9 nights at Couple Tower Isle, what a fantastic location. Excellent food, room and service. Fantastic trips to Dunns River Falls, catamaran cruise, glass bottom boat trip, Shopping trip definitely an experience and not for the faint hearted. Definitely would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went to Couples Tower Isle for my honeymoon. We selected this resort over Secrets or Sandals (Montego Bay) because of the inclusions at this resort. We did every included activity we could: catamaran cruise, hiking Dunn's River Falls, snorkeling, sailing, a glass bottom boat, cooking class, bracelet making class, casino night, the newlyweds game, etc. So, if you want to stay busy, it is easy to do so without spending money.

The food and drinks were great. (You just had to know the piano bar had the higher end labels.) There were nights when we ate more than one meal because it was so good! The ambiance at the restaurants is great. We really liked Eight Rivers (asian fusion) which is on a deck in the water. Don't forget to bring closed toed shoes and pants for the guys!

The staff really goes above any beyond! For instance, my husband forgot to pack pants and they allowed us to order from the restaurant menu from another location. Or on another night, when my husband jammed the camera battery in backwards, the staff was quick to help us remove the battery with tweezers. They really go above and beyond! We especially enjoyed assistance from Kennard (restaurants), Makiko (front desk), Katy (entertainment), and Miguel (entertainment).

We did have a couples massage (our first ever). It was nice, but know there is a his and hers sauna and hot tub so you don't spend much time together.

The ride to the resort is just under two hours. It is long, but it's not too bad. The beach is nice and private, but not one you can walk miles along because it is small.

We really, really enjoyed our vacation!!! It was all around awesome!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Tower Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.