We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing improvements!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Tower Isle to your Saves list
Couples Tower Isle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Amazing improvements!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I last stayed at Couples Tower Island when it was Couples Ocho Rios almost 15 years ago. The improvements are dramatic and my wife and I both left planning our return later this Fall.

We ended up in room 4208 which had a nice view of the swim-up bar and the island. I feel sorry for guests in the 3000 building as the foot traffic is loud and folks are up at all hours. The 4000 or 5000 buildings would be my first choice. The shower does flood the bathroom but your towels will be replaced during the turn-down service and at the daily cleaning so no big deal. The room was perfect for us as it was comfy and the balcony was beautiful.

I was intrigued by the garden rooms on the ground floor of the 3000 building. The gala on Saturday is loud and it goes late right in front of your room but otherwise these rooms would be nice if you are on a budget.

The Food at the gala and the Monday beach party was ok but nothing special. The entertainment was nice but the communal seating was a drag. It takes away from special time with your partner 2/3 nights. With most restaurants closing this was a bummer. The entertainment was nice however.

We tried all the restaurants and the food and service was much better than CN. I like how the staff anticipates your needs before your drink is gone. We saw this at all the beers including the swim up bar at the island.

The island was great and we spent time there each day. The people ranged from their 20's to 70's. we met some great folks and the lunch there was thoughtful though we never waited more than a minute for the boat. The poolside place was great for jerk chicken, calamari and a grouper sandwich.

We did Dunn's River and Margaritaville. Top notch excursions and transportation. The catamaran was great and the staff was hilarious. The resort takes good care of their guests.

The game room was a nice diversion for ping pong and pool though the cues need new tips. The gym was more than adequate. My wife and I went for a run outside the resort (the gate guard said to go left). The traffic is crazy and we were way too close to speeding cars a mile up the hill and down the road. Hit the treadmill instead.

Playing tennis on AstroTurf is slippery. My knees have finally healed.

The bands play until 10pm or so but the late night DJ's were fun. We tried the spa and the lockers are in plain view of the garden rooms. My wife changed there and noticed you are in plain view of the garden unless you go in a stall in the restroom. We had a couple of swinger couples approach us at the island but we turned them down and they left us alone. I think one of the guys took pics of my wife on his phone when she fell asleep on a lounge chair in a bit of a compromising position. No one enforced the no-camera/phone rule.

Wi-fi is everywhere. The staff make the difference. Book this resort with confidence!

Room Tip: 4 or 5000 buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    488
    150
    76
    41
See reviews for
20
1,579
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and myself just returned from a glorious week at Couples Tower Isle. The staff were more than pleasent and attentive. The food was absolutely the best, The beach was a little rocky, however it was clean and there was more than enough towels and chairs. Plenty of sun and shade.

Entertainmet was a very nice. The International buffet on the front lawn was awesome, along with the beach party. They really go the extra mile for these events.

Most of the excursions are included. This goes a long way in making this vacation affordable and fun.

The only negative was the swim up pool bar. Not due to the resort, but the guest. Apparently, some of the guest used the pool as their personal bathroom. Plus other guest tend to go overboard on the drinking, with one woman vomitting in the pool. And we are not talking kids, but people in their 40's and 50's. I was disappointed because most of the afternoon activities were conducted at this pool.

Overall A+++ FOR THIS RESORT...Can not wait to return....

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

April 5-April 8 we were here for a quick trip. My husband and I really enjoyed the resort and would like to go back. They food was excellent, the hotel staff were very nice and the guests were nice. Our room, garden view, was really nice!! The almost 2 hour trip to and from the airport wasn't great due to the short length of our trip, but they made it as comfortable as possible. We did the glass bottom boat cruise but didn't see much. Went to the piano bar a couple times and even though it was scheduled there was noone playing the piano. Went on our own to Dunns River Falls and felt like the locals had placed a bullseye on our wallet from the second we left the resort. The main beach was very small but wasn't crowded so plenty of space to lay out at least, a walk on the beach only takes about 5 minutes. Went to the island one day and it was nice - favorite part was the whale tail we saw there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've been to all inclusives in Mexico, but Couples Tower Isle blew them all out of the water. This may in part be characteristic of Jamaica, but what sets the Couples chain apart are all the extras they include.

The food selection and quality was amazing. I've never eaten so well and I like to fancy myself a bit of a foodie. Likewise on the drink selection, premium liquor, beer, wine, specialty espresso based beverages and smoothies. The service was also great, everything was done with a smile and efficiently (including beachside). Not having to worry about carrying money to tip was also nice.

The rooms were just OK, but with extras like a fully stocked and included minibar, a beautiful balcony that we could enjoy breakfast on and a decent sized bed and bathroom, who cares? Besides which we spent the majority of our time outside. The weather was good and on the couple of rainy afternoons when we couldn't go out on the water, we took advantage of the land-based excursions (Dun's River Falls and the spice plantation tour on horseback were awesome!) We loved the catamaran booze cruise and snorkelling.

This was one of the best vacations I've ever been on.

Room Tip: We went for the ocean view and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My first trip to Jamaica was to Tower Isle. My husband and I stayed for 6 days in Aug 2012. We booked throught a travel agent at my husbands job and thought we had a great deal. When we arrived, the hotel had some plumbing issues in our ocean jr suite and it smelled like sewerage. To our surprise the hotel offered us two options. We could either upgrade to a villa or downgrade to premier ocean. After looking at both options we decided to downgrade. At this point we were told that we would be refunded the difference for the downgrade. We unpacked and totally enjoyed our trip, the staff was freindly and accommodating, food was great, the hotel clean except for the liitle ants the we shared our room with. Even the ants didn't ruin or vacation though. We didn't want to leave and truely had a great time. At the end of the trip we were thinking about next year and maybe even coming back next to meet up with the freinds we made. That was until we tried to get our refund for the downgraded room through the travel agency. Couples has given the agency the run around, and almost a year after the fact nothing. I have to be concerned and wonder how many others have been cheated out of their money. The difference is about 300 dollars, almost enough for one days stay. Just wondering why offer a downgrade and refund only to renege on the offer. That plumbing issue had nothing to to with us. This is bad service and we work too hard for our money only to be cheated out of it by big businesses. I will have to find another resort, because I must go back to Jamaica. I could not recommend Couples because i feel as though they got over on my husband and I.

Room Tip: Don't downgrade if offfered
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your vacation experience at Couples Tower Isle in August 2012. Your positive comments have been noted and we are pleased that your overall experience was satisfactory. A letter was issued to you on departure and we regret that you did not advise us before that you had not received compensation for the difference in room category. We have no correspondence on record which would indicate that your agent had been having a problem processing the refund. We have made contact with your Tour Operator and will follow up to ensure that the refund is processed. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel located just outside downtown Ocho Rios. Property was well maintained and private. The staff was extremely courteous and always willing to help. The beach was small considering other resorts in the area, but it boasts 2 different pools, and great daily excursions that are included in your all in rate. Private island just off the shore as well is beautiful and can be reached by small skiff that runs from the dock. Would certainly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel was fabulous. It was a 2 hour drive from the airport, but it was a lovely journey and we were able to see some of the Island. We arrived at the airport and were sent to a separate section at the airport where we were given a drink before our journey, so there was no confusion over coaches etc. it was all very relaxed.
Once we arrived at the beautiful hotel we were given a speedy check in - with a rum punch and offered room service .
The hotel was gorgeous and the room was exceptional. I stayed in a superior ocean view. The food was excellent. There was a hugh variety to choose from and it was delcious. The staff were wonderful. Very friendly, helpful, charming and easy going. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very welcomed. The beach was beautiful white sand and there were plenty of sunbeds. I would recommend this holiday to anyone and everyone and i will definately be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior ocean view and woke up to the sounds of the palm trees and the sea. wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Tower Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.