We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Save Saved
You added Couples Tower Isle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Couples Tower Isle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Ramsey, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Once again, wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Sitting on the deck of our one bedroom ocean suite as I write this. Ocean view is worth the extra price, although we are close to the pool bar, which can get noisy. As a person with multiple food allergies, I appreciate that the staff goes out of their way to find safe food for you to eat if you alert them ahead of time. Service is once again exceptional, and we are already trying to plan trip three. Yes, the evenings don't have the party vibe...which is fine with us. This resort is about connecting with your partner, so later at night we just want to..."connect", not party. Hedo resorts can give you that if that is your thing. The staff is special here, and will go out of their way for you. We always feel at home here. Tip- sign up for Romance rewards and pre check in a few days prior to stock your mini bar. You 'll also get points for your stay, which give you nice perks if you return...and you will want to return! Also, wear sandals that are sturdy if you visit the island. Sandy blew away the dock, so footing is a bit interesting.

Room Tip: Lower floors are convenient, but can be a bit noisy. Ocean suites worth the upgrade. The one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,210
    432
    125
    72
    38
See reviews for
17
1346
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our 5th trip in under 3 years and like the previous 4 it was fantastic to say the least. Every aspect of the trip from drinks, meals, snacks, spa, entertainment, staff members, rooms and overall accommodations were perfect as usual.
Like we stated in the title, there truly is no reason to bother looking at any other destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I went to Tower Isle for our honeymoon and wow; what a fabulous experience.

OK first off; One of the greatest thing about this resort is that a lot of activities are free with the all inclusive, unlike the other resorts. You will get to enjoy the catamaran, Dunn's river falls and snorkeling for free - So if you like doing activities, this is the place for you, although there is also an AMAZING beach if you like to just suntan in hang out by the water. BTW if you like ATV'ing, ask for the Chukka ATV tour. It's about 200 US but honestly, sooo worth it, they take you around the beautiful lands of Jamaica, you get to go cliff diving... - worth every penny.

The staff; incredible. Hands down some of the best service we have ever had. Helpful, courteous, went out of their way to please. Service with a smile at all times.

The food was fantastic; although not as many "à la carte" as some other resorts we have stayed at but none the less; never did it disappoint. It was fresh, tasty and enough of a variety to keep us satisfied.

The room we stayed in was nice and clean and the scenery from our balcony was beautiful. Now let's be honest, don't expect a state of the art room; like a lot of other resorts in Jamaica, the furniture is a bit outdated, but it was spotless and the beds were "deep sleep" comfortable.

The spa, was OK. We had a couple's massage and it was nice, but I will admit I've had better. I did like the fact that the spa was sort of hidden in the middle of the gardens on the resort. It definitely made it look more "zen".

And yes, the island in front of the resort is a nudist beach, no worries, you're not close enough to see everything in details lol :D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Wow, it was by far the best vaca we ever had!!! The service and the people, food, booze, were all top notch!!! the naked island was awesome too!! We have met a lot of great people, 8 rivers restaurant was to die for!! and you can also get nachos, jerk chicken, burgers fries, until all hrs of the night! if you are looking for a lot of beach area..this isnt for you, if you want a more intimate vacation, this is for you!!!, i cant get over how the staff remembered our names..in just a couple of days...incredible..you really begin to feel like family, we didnt want to leave...we are already tryong to book our next vaca for next Dec...just love this nice, beautiful small resort!! Volted the "most romantic" out of all the "Couples" resorts in Jamaica

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Arrival & Check-in
We arrived at the Couples lounge at the airport and only had to wait about 10 minutes until our bus was ready to whisk us to CTI. We were on a bus with three or four other couples and we were all going to CTI so we didn't have to stop. Not long into our trip it started raining really hard and roads flooded. It was a longer ride than normal but we had a great driver who got us to the resort safely. Check-in was smooth and fast and we were in our room before we knew it.

Room
We were in a Superior Ocean room. It is at the farthest end of the resort and has a nice view of the sea to the side of the resort as well as a view of the road and some houses around the resort. We really like the room location since it is nice and quiet but still with a great view and sounds of the waves and tree frogs. The room is very nice and clean and spacious. There is plenty of room to spread out and lots of storage for clothes.

The bathroom is also large and looks very nice but the shallow square sink isn't really very functional and water pressure in the shower is not very good so if you have long or thick hair, washing and rinsing will take a while. Conditioning shampoo and body wash are in ample supply but I bring additional conditioner since the conditioning shampoo isn't enough.

Food
The food is really good and always plentiful. There is lots of choice at breakfast from pastries, eggs and omelettes to fresh fruit and smoothies and typical Jamaican breakfast food. If you like coffee, bring an insulated mug, the cups at breakfast are quite small. Breakfast is served in the Patio restaurant and you can also have lunch and dinner there. It is a lovely open air restaurant. Breakfast is a full buffet and lunch and dinner are a combo of buffet, for salads and desserts, and menu, for mains. The service, especially at lunch, tended to leave something to be desired. It seemed to take a while to get a menu to us and then another wait until they took our order. But if you're really hungry, you can always get some of the yummy salads, soup or pizza while you wait. If you're not interested in lunch at the Patio, you can visit the Pool Grill or the Veggie bar. Both have good food. There's also soft-serve ice cream and nacho chips available at the Pool Grill.

For dinner, there's a choice of several restaurants. You need to make a reservation for Bayside (Thai) and Eight Rivers but not for Veranda. These three have menus posted in the hall between the main lobby and the Patio so you can check those out to help you make your choice. The food is always good so you can't really go wrong but we really enjoy Bayside. The Patio is also open most nights for dinner and you should go at least once, if only for the fantastic desserts.

Things to do
Having been to the resort before, we didn't do much this trip. We did a tour of the kitchen, which was quite impressive. We asked at the guest services desk and Kalu, the sous chef, showed us around. There was one red flag day when there were no water activities and several yellow flag days but we did get to do some snorkeling but mostly we sat by the pool or on the beach and relaxed. The beach at CTI is not big and there has been some significant erosion after Sandy and the subsequent storms but it is a private beach so no one bothers you while you lie and enjoy the sun. The resort provides nice big beach towels which can be picked up and returned by the main pool or the watersports area. There was never any problem finding a chair.

Other stuff
Bring lots of sunscreen and bug spray. For the most part, the staff are wonderful. There were one or two exceptions but generally they are warm and friendly and welcoming. Room service is a nice last resort but it doesn't do the food justice. I would skip it and eat in one of the restaurants. WiFi is available throughout the resort but can be spotty in the room. If you really want to be connected in your room you can ask for a cable and go wired.

This is a great all-inclusive with great staff, good food and a comfortable environment. Go, relax, enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I have never written a review, but I use trip advisory all the time to book my vacays. Let me start of by saying I am very picky about where I stay. I have high expectations. Couples Tower Isle is the BEST resort we have ever stayed at. I have been to several Riu Palaces, Cabo, Aruba, Punta Cana. I have also been to Bahamas. Jamaica will now be are only go to. The people, the atmosphere, the locations, and the food! All are amazing. If u are hesitating, please don't think twice. Couples Tower Isle is the place to relax, and chill. No marble opulence here, none the less, absolutely spectacular! And did I mention the staff....insane, best customer service I have every received anywhere.EVER! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our second trip to Couples Resorts, but the first to Tower Isle, was an absolute joy. We fell in love with San Souci 2 years ago and could not wait until we went back to the island and to Couples. Everything about Tower Isle was even better. The beach is fantastic with clear water and a sandy bottom. The restaurants (esp. 8 Rivers) were phenomenal. The Bayside is also great with its outstanding location out over the water. The full moon made it very romantic.
The staff at Couples are the real stars. Whenever we met any of them, they always greeted us with a smile and a "hello" When you try to do something for yourself, they come over and ask how they may assist. The room was spotless and always cleaned before we returned from the beach or pool. The night-time turndown service was exceptional.
The facilities are beautiful, clean and well-maintained. The swim-up bar staff were esp. great and fun.
We have no hesitation recommending Couples Tower Isle to our friends and will definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: Garden or Water-side are equally great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Tower Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.