We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing new to say but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nothing new to say but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

All the previous positive posts have really said all that can be said so just a few suggestions from our personal point of view.

Book the highest grade of suite you can with a balcony. We booked a basic suite that smelled very damp and had problems with a leaking a/c - though always quickly fixed when it started leaking.

Indulge in a private transfer from Montego Bay. It does save a lot of time hanging around at the airport and it is a much faster transfer time.

Do go to Sunset beach if you are considering it. Its much nicer than the main beach.

If you cannot decide between the different Couples properties then come to this one!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My wife and I had the best time during our 8 day stay. The bus ride is a little long, but seeing a new country was cool.

Our room was great and very convenient to all activities. We had a Beachfront room.

The beach is private and the perfect size for the hotel. The pool is nice (the water was cold in December.) We didn't get to snorkel due to the weather on the day we signed up.

The food was incredible. Menus change daily and we never had a bad meal.

The best part of the whole trip was all of the people we met. The resort is small enough that you get to meet a lot of the other guests and we made several good friends.

The staff was great. We spent a lot of time in the Ballon Bar during the cloudy days. Orlando spoiled us with great service as well as entertaining us. He is the best bartender at the resort. He can speak three languages, you'll have to ask him which ones he can speak. If you see him, ask for the Pauline special. I could mention a dozen other employees that made our stay wonderful, but I'm afraid I would leave someone out. We hated to leave (we stayed two extra days.)

My least favorite experience was the golf course. It did rain that day, but the course is average at best. To be far, the course is not owned by Couples and it is the only course in the area.

The shopping excursion was good. We didn't need the full time and split a taxi with friends we met at the resort.

We really enjoyed walking the property (and getting lost.) It is the most beautiful resort I have ever scene.

The weather wasn't the best during our stay, so we missed out on several activities. You would think the weather would have dampened our enjoyment of a beachfront resort, but it actually made us enjoy Couples Sans Souci even more. We got to spend more time with the staff and the other guests, which was our favorite part.

If you want to go to a resort to escape and be alone with your spouse or go to a resort and meet a bunch of new people Couples Sans Souci is the place for you.

We are already planning our next trip and we can't wait.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank dbthokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The food was of high quality and of great variety. Several different venues provided different dining experiences. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable and well maintained by twice daily maid service. The bars serve premium liquors and the room mini-bars are restocked daily. The attitude and competence of the staff was the finest this reviewer has experienced in over thirty uears of travel. The resort enjoys a great ocean frontage with complete privacy. All customary 6 star resort amenities were available. Local talent provided nightlt entertainment, with a gala beach party on Tuesday evening.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
2 Thank gashby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We had a great time at Couples San Souci and I would highly recommend staying at this resort if you got to Ocho Rios.

This was the best service that we have received at any all-inclusives that we've been visited. We travel to the Caribbean at least twice a year and this is our 2nd trip to Jamaica. The workers at the resort were very pleasant and responsive to our requests. And it seemed like everyone "actually" enjoyed their jobs. We did not feel pressured at all to give additional tips.

We didn't have a bad meal. The food at the restaurants was very good and they were always willing to mix and match choices on the menu even combining surf and turf when it wasn't on the menu. The beach bar is also open from 11 PM to 6 AM in the event that you are hungry or want a late night snack.

The resort is clean and well maintained. There are also a lot of steps, so if you are not in the best shape or have limitations, you may want to reconsider. The beach is not that big, but they clean it every day and it's relatively easy to get a chair and a spot on the beach. They have a mineral pool and mineral jacouzzi. The resort was beautiful. There were a number of couples at the resort that ranges from 20s to 50s and everyone just interacted.

We stayed in the Steve McQueen suite which is one of the bigger suites with a great view of the beach and the resort. The suite had a separate living room area and a balcony twice the size of the other rooms. It was close to the lobby, beach and restaurants. The rooms are cleaned but could use some updating. There were no glearing issues but a little upgrade couldn't hurt.

There was nightly entertainment which was ok. We had the most fun on Casino night which was followed by a silent auction to cash in your winnings. The beach bar and the balloon bar have top shelf liquor so just ask for it and they will put in your drink.

The resort also had complimentary wi-fi around the property and computers in the game room with internet access.

So my recommendations for the resort would be to update the rooms and consider undating the entertainment. The entertainment staff was really great though (friendly and like to interact with the guest)!

We had a great time and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank Nikki19128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We had an amazing time on holiday as it was with my family.

The journey to the Hotel is quite long and takes a good 2 hours to get to the resort.

Over all the hotel is ok and very pleasant but we had a mix up with the rooms on arrival which meant that we were all in differenent buildings that did not make sense as it was a family holiday. Reception staff werent helpful at all, but the rest of the staff were really nice and friendly.

Food was really good and had no problems with this, good variation and choice.

The rooms are large, but they do smell a little damp and are very DATED, they have all the things that you would need just a little old!

Beach is AMAZING!

Overall a good hotel just needs to be updated alot to bring it to its star rating.
Had a great holiday but Jamaica just wasnt for me. Very poor, and not alot to do outside the hotel that is worth it. 7 days was enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank Pbruce49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Hello and thank you for your review of Couples Sans Souci. It is always disappointing to hear that a vacation did not reach its full expectations and for that we are sorry. The resort has new soft good (linens, drapery, bedding, etc) that was completed in all rooms in 2010. This resorts includes a trip to Dunn's River Falls, shopping shuttle, and trip to margarittaville. Other tours in the area such as Canopy Tour, Mystic Mountain, etc have been highly acclaimed. Again, it is unfortunately that your vacation did not meet all your needs. Andi Washington, Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Couples Sans Souci (CSS) November 30 – December 8, 2010

5th Couples trip, 4th Couples property, 1st to Sans Souci

Flight to Jamaica and customs and immigrations went smoothly. Checked in at the Couples lounge and after a short wait we were taken out to the van and on our way. We like that they let you wait in the lounge and only take you out when it’s really time to leave. Our van had 4 couples and 3 were going to CSS and 1 to Couples Tower Isle.

Arrived at CSS and received champagne and a cool towel during our check in. Check in was very quick and through. We received our romance rewards gifts, certificate for our complimentary ½ hour couples massage and also our resort credit certificate.

We had booked a beachfront Jacuzzi suite and our travel agent had requested that we get a 1st floor room in the middle of building B and that’s exactly what we got – room B7-thanks to Noreen Price of Lighthouse Travel (www.travelbynoreen.com).

Room The room was a good size. We really liked the bathroom with great lighting, a separate mirror and counter by the hair dryer was great for makeup, then a large vanity with double sinks, the Jacuzzi tub and a large separate shower. Toilet care items are now in dispensers. In the shower they have one with body wash and one with conditioning shampoo. Over the vanity is another dispenser with body lotion. We did not mind the dispensers in the shower, but would have preferred the body lotion in a bottle so you did not have to be in the bathroom to apply it. They also supplied the room with 1 bar of hand soap and with the double sinks 2 would have been better. The room had a flat screen TV mounted on a bracket that swings so you could view it from the sitting area or bedroom. It was difficult to get it to stay in a position to watch in the bedroom and when it did it was in the doorway area, which was awkward. The room only had a small 3-drawer dresser; really could use more storage. The closet was an OK size, but the rod sagged in the middle, so all the clothes slid to the middle. Also if you had the closet door open you could not get out of the bathroom.

There was also burning going on outside near the resort most of the week, the smell was even getting in our room and causing us to cough. If you have any breathing health concerns this could be a big issue for you.

Property This property is extremely hilly and it was over 100 steps up hill from our room if you choose to walk to the lobby area. The lobby area has one of the three restaurants open for dinner, entertainment five nights a week, piano player five nights a week, computer/games room, and the last bar to stay open. You can call the bellhops and they will shuttle you back and forth from the bottom to the top, by van, upon request. In total the property has 150 rooms and half are at the bottom by the beach. The other 75 are scattered across the side of the hill.

Food Our favorite place to eat at CSS was Casanova and we enjoyed 3 dinners there. The house wines at Casanova are also the best on the property. We are not fans of outside buffets and really did not care for the beach party or starlight gala at CSS. If you do plan to attend and want to actually see the entertainment at the outside buffets you should arrive early for a table because they reserve the best ones for some people and the few others with a good view went quickly. Also jump up and run to get food as soon as they let you because the best things (like shrimp) go right away and do not get replenished! We arrived on the day of the beach party and did not rush to go and ended up almost sitting in the sea, with a very poor view of the stage and picked over food. Maybe we’re picky or had different expectations from buffets we have seen at other resorts, but we thought it was extremely strange to have a baked ham at a beach party. They did have some jerk chicken, but jerk pork was gone and they did not have grilled shrimp, fish or steaks or things we thought they might. The starlight gala was on the lawn as opposed to the beach but once again best things ran out quickly and were not replenished. We skipped the beach party the following week and ordered room service, which we did enjoy. On the two nights of the week with outside buffets, none of the three restaurants on the property are open for dinner.

Floats, Pool and Towels We’ve always loved that Couples has a float on each chair, but this was not the case at CSS. The main pool had less then 30 chairs around it and most days half of them did not have a float. We did notice that some people were “reserving” chairs before breakfast and some of them reserved 2 on the beach and then another 2 by the pool :) Two beach towels are in your room when you arrive and you are supposed to trade them in when you need clean ones. Somehow people were getting more—saw one couple with at least 6 on their pool chairs and think they had beach chairs also! We did like the pool with the swim up bar better then the ones at CSA or CN because it was one pool and not divided with a water fall.

Spa We had a couple’s massage that we did enjoy. The room where we had it was actually under a bridge with the sea on one side and a water fall/pond on the other-that was really neat. Also tried the stress relief massage, but at times this one was painful and the masseuse tried to sell me more massages.

Activities We live near a great beach so are able to spend a lot of time sitting and reading at home. As a result we do like to participate in activities at resorts. We were disappointed in the activities at CSS. We did not get to play pool volleyball once and we were there 8 nights/9days. When we saw entertainment employees they were usually walking over towards the au natural side, playing ping pong with other employees, or sitting at the bar talking to one couple. There are many activities listed on the paper they give you, but only heard a few announced during our stay. The classes were never announced. In our opinions the resorts we’ve been to with au natural sections, including CSS, have fewer or no activities – either they don’t have enough employees to cover both sections or the employees are just hiding and not doing their jobs.

Gift Shop We had a nice resort credit and saw some nice men’s shirts, however we needed a different size. This was discussed with Del Fong, gift shop manager, more then once and we even gave her a list of what we wanted. Ms. Fong said she would try and get them from the CTI gift shop for us, but over the next 4 days all she had was excuses. If she did not want to do this she should have never said she would to begin with. We were, and still are, extremely disappointed in how she handled this. We did talk to Mr. Battglia, GM, about this and he must have talked to Ms. Fong because we got an apology note from her with a “token”. The “token” was 3 small bottles of Appleton rum, which neither of us drinks!

We wanted to experience all of the Couples resorts, so we are glad we went to CSS, but this property was not for us.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
2 Thank gulffloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My wife and I spend the post Xmas and New Year's time period at Couples San Souci for the second year in a row. I am actually writing this review on the airplane as I fly home. Everything is therefore fresh in my brain. here are my thoughts:

1. After going through customs, you go to the Couples lounge. One reviewer said he thought it was "sparse." Give me a break. Free beer and also we have never been there more than twenty minutes. Our flight was delayed, so we had a van all to ourselves to the resort. It is about a 1.5 hour ride to the resort. Try to view it as a wonderful opportunity to see the countryside. Our driver (Rick) was very nice and professional. He asked us if we needed to stop for a RR break or if we wanted to get a few Red Strips for the trip.

2. Check-in. The people at the reception remembered us from the year before. Very courteous and professional. Dalton, the night reception worker, was polite and friendly. No complaints here!

3. The grounds are incredibly beautiful. The flowers and the landscaping are wonderful, especially coming from a wintry climate. I constantly saw grounds crew sweeping and manicuring the premises. The resort is built into the side of a hill/cliff. There is therefore steps and walking involved. It is not overly strenuous, but if you are old, fat, or are in horrible shape (we saw people who fit all three of those categories!),you might want to go to Couples Tower Island.

4. Our room in B Block was pretty awesome. The bed was firm, fully stocked mini-bar, etc. Another review said the furniture was dated. I disagree. It was tasteful. We also had a huge flat screen television. Wi-fi and phone reception with Verizon was also no problem. We ordered room service every AM for breakfast. It was there at exactly the requested time. We are early risers. We went to bed on New Year's Eve at 11:30. We honestly (with the A/C running and windows shut) hear a single thing. The view from our balcony was great.

5. The workout facility is topnotch with machines, free weights, and treadmills. No complaints.

6. The massages from the spa facility were very professional and relaxing. The massage rooms are facing the ocean!

7. The food is excellent. The New Year's Eve gala food was 5 star. There was lamb, duck, a hog roast, tons of different seafood, sushi, etc. Another thought service was slow. Dude...this ain't McDonalds! It wasn't slow, but I never felt rushed. My wife and I allotted about 45 minutes to eat breakfast. The selection at breakfast was great. We were also very impressed with the dinner at the Italian style restaurant as they had a pasta station with seafood vodka sauce.

8. Drinks were plentiful with topshelf available on request.

9. The A/N beach was very private and large. There are a variety of chairs and umbrellas.

10. The staff was very polite. I had no problems with their service or attitudes! Kevan, Jhannel, Dalton, Kyle, etc. are superfriendly.

I thus, 100% recommend Coupls San Souci.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank DryProp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#10 of 91 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#6 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Low Cost Holidays, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing