We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Just returned from a week at Couples Sans Souci (Sept 20 – 27). We have stayed at the resort in 2005 before it was a Couples brand resort and found the property to be much the same. We arrived a little late into MoBay but we were the first ones through immigration and we only waited a minute or 2 for our checked bag. We headed to the Couples lounge and were told that we could leave right now or use the bathroom and get a beer and catch the next shuttle. We opted to jump on the shuttle and after a smooth one hour and fifteen minute ride we were at Couples Sans Souci less than 2 hours after landing. We had been assigned to the D block but requested a G block room in the cliffs – no problem they had us changed out and to our room. Before we followed the bellman to our room we were able to stop and make dinner reservations for the first part of the week.

Our room (G13) was huge and very clean. We had a great view of the cliffs and could hear the waves crashing from our balcony. Room service was always very prompt – usually within 20 minutes. The one exception was the only afternoon it rained while we were there. We decided to order room service instead of braving the rain for dinner. It took about 45 minutes but we did not feel that was unreasonable given the demand because of the rain. Dinner on the room service menu was just as good as the food we had in the restaurants. The mini bar was restocked every day with the basics and maid service came twice a day without fail. Maintenance was also very prompt. Our first day we noticed the refrigerator stopped working. We called before we went to dinner and when we came back we had a new fridge.

The grounds were just as beautiful as we remembered – very green and lush and full of secluded spots to getaway. The beach is fine – not the prettiest I have every seen but the seclusion more than makes up for it. The beach is in a bay so when you are on the beach you cannot see any other resorts or homes so you feel as though you are in your own private world. There are lots of steps – I work out regularly and they did not bother me at all. I suppose if you are really out of shape they might but I really did not think it was an issue. I did bring strap on style beach shoes instead of flip flops to lessen the chances of tripping and that worked out fine.

The food was always very good. We ate every where at least once. Our favorite was jerk chicken for lunch at the beach grill and Cassanova on the terrace at night. I did not realize you would have to cover your top to eat at the breakfast and lunch buffets – last time we were there you only had to have a cover up on bottom. I would have packed differently if I had known – luckily we were given repeaters t-shirts and I just wore that every day.

We had 2 massages in the huts on the cliffs. I was worried since there was a promotion that involved spa credits but we had no problem booking our 2 massages. It depends on who you get of course my husband and I both agreed our second massage was better than the first.

The guys in the scuba shop were a little slow to warm up to you but once they got to know you they were great. We dove everyday and went on the early morning and late morning dive another day. The sign on the shop said there is a 2 tank dive on Saturday but they don’t seem to be doing that any more – never did get a good explanation about that. They let us store our dive gear in the shop for the week so we did not have to walk back to our room everyday.

We used the Trading Places program and went to visit the newly remodeled Tower Isle Resort which was about 5 minutes away. The resort was very beautiful but we found we liked Sans Souci so much we came back after a few hours instead of spending the day there.

All in all we had a very nice and relaxing trip. This is the first time we have every been back to the same resort and I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    500
    139
    56
    37
See reviews for
26
2,167
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife and I went to Couples Sans Souci in early September of 2009. I will start off by saying the grounds of the resort are absolutely beautiful. The sheer amount and variety of foliage was astounding.

This resort is very spread out, but has a low number of guests. I think at max capacity it has around 300 people. There are so many different places to hang out there, that no single place gets too crowded. There are also many hidden places to be found by following some unassuming pathway. My favorite was the mineral water hot tub surrounded by jungle.

I was very pleased with the quality of food. Even though most of my lunches were in the buffet, they did change many of the options daily. One day they had red snapper fillets that were grilled on the spot. The only a-la-carte for lunch (apart from room service) was at the beach grill, which was usually quite delicious. I would ask for an extra bowl of jerk sauce which was spicy and flavorful. The ketchup is sweeter in Jamaica, but the jerk sauce was great for fries too. The dinners are all a-la-carte (apart from the beach party and gala) The beach grill turns into Bella Vista at night, and the best seats are about 15 feet from the water. They don't take reservations here, but you can ask the hostess to hold a table for you nearest the water when one comes available. Just hang out at the beach bar during the wait. Casanova is the most upscale of their restaurants. It seems that in many resorts, the steaks are lacking, with a flank steak being the best option. At Casanova, I had their fillet mignon, and it was a good sized cut and delicious. I was very pleasantly surprised.

The drinks at Sans Souci were excellent. Having Red Stripe on tap was great. If you stay at the beach bar, and not take it to the beach, they can serve it to you in a glass pilsner. Also, their rum punch was delicious. If you like a Miami Vice, a little twist here is that they add a bit of Blue Curacao on top. A Bob Marley shot is something everybody must do on their first day there, just to get acclimated. About the only disappointing thing, drink-wise, is the house red wine, which is not that good. However, at Casanova, they have an upgraded house wine. They are not allowed to serve it anywhere else on the resort.

We had a room in G block, up on top of the cliffs. A lot of folks don't like the long walk to the beach from these rooms, but we really liked it. It gave us a chance to follow the many different pathways that snaked through the resort, and run across a lot of things we would have missed if we were close to the beach. There is an elevator behind G block that goes straight to the spa if you want to cut out some walking. We never called for the van to take us back to the room.

The main beach here is set into a cove, with rocks outlining the water. The water is calm and very clear. You can use the cushions from the lounge chairs to float around in the ocean. We took this opportunity to explore around the rocky coastline. We paddled around with a water camera, looking through our goggles at the fish below, and other animals on the rocks.

We had scheduled a trading places day at Couples Tower Island as well as the free trip to Dunns River Falls. We ended up canceling both of them, because we were having too much of a good time right there at Sans Souci. I guess that about sums up how much we liked this place. We only left the resort once, and that was to go to Scotchie's in Ocho Rios. The jerk chicken and pork there were amazing. They cook the meat right on top of some logs, and put a sheet metal shingle on top. It may sound strange, but it makes the food delicious. They also had a hot scotch bonnet sauce that was tasty as well. Scotchie's is about a 15 minute cab ride from the resort.

I would definitely recommend Couples Sans Souci for a vacation. We had 7 days there and could have used a few more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This was without a doubt the best holiday we've had, ok we did go to the resort to get married and yes the day was perfect with all arrangements made so effortlessly. Big Thank You to Antoinette (wedding advisor).
The staff were so friendly often stopping for a chat and a laugh. The food was a bonus as my other half is a little picky at what he eats, but here you have absolutely no worries as the selection is fantastic and of very very high quality.
The grounds are beautiful and kept so pristine, lots of paths and hidden delights, with hammocks and seats to relax in. The beach also well looked after, raked every night ready for the next day.
It was the staff that enhanced our holiday, it was never too much trouble to get you anything you required and always with a big smile and a 'Yeah Mon'.
The entertainment staff are great fun and put a lot of energy into making everyone's evening a delight. They have some great reggae/soul performers and steel bands which makes for a great atmosphere.
We will definately be returning and would reccommend to anybody. We met well travelled guests during our stay and they all agreed that it was one of the best ever.
Big Thank You to all the staff for making our ideal wedding come true.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We were there for a 10 day honeymoon on June/July earlier this year. I lived on this site reading the various reviews leading up to our trip because I could not hear enough about it. It was wonderful. The food, staff, landscaping, pools and location were absolutely great. You could not find a staff member who was not generally happy to be at work. We would not go anyplace twice, except here. It is easy to see why people refer revisiting there "going home".

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

This really is a beautiful place. The staff are so kind and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. The gardens are so well kept and the gardeners were always ready for a chat and their friendly smile. The restaurants and food are great and so much of it. I would suggest going on a crash diet before you attempt a holiday there. Our room was cleaned thoroughly and the beds changed often and the towels changed daily and often twice when the turn down service arrived in the evening (complete with flowers for the bed). There are plenty of watersports all included in the holiday price and we tried most of them. There is a large selection of trips that you can take to see some of the beautiful country side. A big thank you to Xavion one of the Managers who was always to hand should you have a query and always ready for a chat. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, director of sales and marketing at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello and thank you for review of Couples Sans Souci. You mentions of staff that made your stay comfortable were awesome. I'll be sure to share with management. This resort is very special for its amenties, location and atmosphere. It sounds like you were able to enjoy those features fully. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We have been to Couples Swept Away four times previously. This trip we decided to try Couples Sans Souci and we were very pleasantly surprised. Although the beach does not compare with the 7 mile Negril CSA beach, the views, pools and other amenities, make up for it. This all makes for a very beautiful resort.

We have recommended Couples resorts to friends and taken friends along and every time we hear the same from our friends. "The best vacation they have ever had!" Couples Sans Souci's attention to details is excellent. The staff is very attentive, friendly and many knew our names after meeting them at activities or dining.

We hated having to leave and come home. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, director of sales and marketing at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Hello and thanks for your review of Couples Sans Souci. We are thrilled that you ventured out to one other Couples Resorts. We find that once guests try one, they are hooked. Little do they know that the other 3 resorts have unique and amazing qualities of their own. Our best marketing tactic is our customers referrals, so thank you so much for sharing your admiration for Couples with your friends. Be sure to sign up for Romance Rewards,. guest loyalty program so we can reward you for your vacations with us. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

First the good part of our stay. We met some great people while at the resort. Also the staff was very polite and did everything possible to make our stay wonderful. Absolutely no complaints there. Now the other side of the coin. We stayed at this resort for the au natural beach. For starter there was an old tire in the water at the natural beach. Also the swim up bar reeked of 7 day old stale beer. This was cleaned up after bringing it to the management’s attention. This side of the resort seems to be an after thought. There were 2 pools with the lights hanging down out of the mounting. This seems to me to be a possible hazard. The door on the mini bar was broken and continually hung open. One of the resort managers looked right at it and did not get it repaired. In our opinion there is no attention to detail at this resort. I will say they were painting during our stay. The interesting part is when they painted our balcony they did not bother putting a little caulk in an 8-9” long crack. So a crack we did not even notice before is now sticking out like a sore thumb. Maybe we expect too much. But I can not help but wonder what AAA standards are to receive 4 diamonds. Needless to say we will not return to this resort, and question returning to a Couples resort in general.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamman, vice president of operations at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, September 27, 2009
We appreciate your feedback. We thank you for the positive review regarding our staff. It is our goal to provide total guest expectation and let me take this opportunity to reassure you that corrective measure have been put in place in the areas highlighted in your comments.

Once again, we regret that we were unable to meet your expectations and we sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust and confidence in the Couples name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.