We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall wonderful caribbean escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Save Saved
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overall wonderful caribbean escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We travelled to Ocho Rios, Jamaica Feb 1 - 8th. Spent 4 nights at Couples Tower Isle and 3 nights at Couples San Souci.

Who are we? We have travelled extensively. We seek out quiet, peaceful nature escapes, secluded beaches, clean air and good food. Running, cycling, hiking, tennis, swimming, snorkeling in beautiful surroundings is an important part of any vacation we go on. We're not 'drinkers', but do enjoy a good quality beer / cocktail with a meal after a long day of fitness activities.

San souci satifsifed a lot of what we look for.

Dining experience - The food was exceptionally good. Lobster was only available only once a week - but was the best I've ever had. Prime rib - will be dreaming of it for many months to come. The variety of fresh fruits, vegetables, and entres at the buffet lunches was just right. There were only 2 options for beer, and the wine - red or white..... There were some wines available at an added cost - if that interests you. The one NEGATIVE about the dining experience was the gala night - that was your only option for food - and it was accompanied by a very loud reggae band. Good music. Amazing food. But we prefer quiet beach side dining experiences. One evening had an unplugged musician with a guitar at dinner which was very nice. Most resorts separate the 'party' atmosphere with loud live entertainment - from the quiet romantic atmosphere. you did not have a choice on gala night. The Cassanova 'a la cart' restaurant was incredible - wonderful views. It had a piano inside but did not see anyone playing it. We sat on the patio. Unfortunately a very loud live band came on at the bar below at around 9 pm - again, great reggae music - but my idea of a quiet romantic dinner. Would much prefer just listening to the sounds of the ocean.

The rooms - We were in an ocean view room, main floor (would suggest top floor 3rd). We were in A block - overlooking the pool bar.... Perhaps the blocks near the spa would be a better choice - further from the beach, but certainly quieter. Certainly not a 5 star resort, but the rooms were clean and well maintained and a good size. Again, the only NEGATIVE would be the noise of the nightly entertainment, we tend to go to bed early :) And wake up early. Would prefer a peaceful ambience in the room in the evenings. Instead you will have to enjoy a very loud band - from the beach on gala night, and from the bar on other nights. They finish fairly early ? 11 or 12 pm? (Not sure because we are always in bed well before that time),

Activities - There was decent snorkeling right off the beach - with a small reef a short swim from shore. Also very safe in this area with very little boat traffic, no jet skis, and only the occasional hobby cat. Tennis courts were close to a major road - but depending on the wind direction you could hear the traffic, but not breath the exhaust. Nice views around the courts with a large pond on one side, a many tall trees. I heard the tennis lessons were excellent. There were bikes on the resort that you could take around a short jogging track around the pond. Beautiful scenery all around. Hobby cats available, as well as lessons. Twice a day snorkeling excursions by boat are a must. Dunns river falls, also worth spending a morning at, but a bit of tourist zoo. Reggae beach 5 minutes away by car is also a nice way to escape the crowds at the resort but costs 10 dollars to get in.

The resort- What I liked the most is it had a small resort feel, spread over a good sized area with many areas you could explore and escape the crowds. Beautiful, natural setting.

Service - The best I've experienced in the caribbean! Genuinely nice! Special thanks to Kamar at water sports for teaching my girlfriend to windsurf and also coming out on a kayak when he noticed that I ventured too far away on my stand up paddle board. It's beautiful along the coast so very tempting to paddle in either direction away from the resort, but they prefer that you stay close.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,686
    472
    132
    55
    36
See reviews for
24
2054
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our first time to Jamaica and an adult only resort. We went to their dedicated lounge at the airport and then transferred over to the hotel. When we arrived the room wasn't what we asked for but there wasn't an issue and the next day we were offered a choice of 3 different types. This level of service then became the norm, nothing was too much trouble from ordering bespoke smoothies, to staff politeness and water sports teams. The staff certainly go the extra mile and clearly this shows through with the number of repeat couples we met. The rooms need some modernisation which they have started but the rooms were always clean, the mini bars stocked with whatever you requested and the air-conditioning worked well. Entertainment each night was varied with the big gala dinner and disco on the beach a highlight. You can keep as active as you want or head towards the spa and mineral pool for relaxation - it had it all. we had a fabulous time and will certainly be heading back.

Room Tip: For quietness go for F or G blocks, if you don't like steps go for the beach blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was our first visit to Couples Sans Souci. We stayed for 19 nights and we can only say this was the best resort we have ever stayed at in Jamaica. From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome, the Staff were amazi
ng and nothing was too much trouble and always we were surrounded by smiling faces. We could not fault any of the restaurants the food was always of a high standard.
We played golf 3 times and enjoyed the experience. We could do with an earlier bus back to the hotel when instead of waiting 1.1/2 hours we paid for a taxi back.
We are in our 70's and were worried that the resort looked to be placed on a hillside. We did not find this a problem and came home much fitter.
We will definitely be returning.
We will definitely be returning to this resort.

Room Tip: We were in C block to start and found this would be ok for a week but for nearly three weeks we aske...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We spent two weeks at CSS and definitely plan to return. Originally, we had planned a week at CSS then one week at Tower Island where we have spent the last 3 trips to Jamaica. After two days at CSS, we decided to change our plan and the staff gladly accommodated our request to stay. We were in Building B on the ground floor and we enjoyed our room very much. It was very comfortable and suited our needs. If you are expecting a flawless room, you will be disappointed because some minor cosmetic issues did exist. However, most of us have flaws in our own homes and if we go on vacation looking for reasons to complain, you will always find them. The room was very clean and the staff did a great job keeping it that way on a daily basis. Service was beyond fantastic and all staff members went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Food was really good as were all the drinks (and there was plenty of whatever beverage you wanted). Sunset beach is wonderful. During our stay most guests were there ----one day there were only 29 folks on the "prude" side while close to 200 enjoyed Sunset Beach. Management even visited a couple of times to ensure that side of the resort was being well taken care of (an act that was greatly appreciated by guests) Tanesha and Jason both worked extremely hard to spoil us during our days on the beach.
Chefs Edgar and Marlon went the extra mile to prepare meals for us. Maureen and Deon were great waitresses. Both the "Q"s were excellent bartenders. Andre in housekeeping always did a little extra service. All the staff at the front desk and guest services were top notch and very accommodating. A note to management---you must hire trainee Richard. He is a definite asset to your resort.
If you are planning a trip to Jamaica, I recommend CSS, especially if you want great A/N facilities and a warm and friendly staff. If you go with the idea of having fun, you will. However, if you go with a microscope and want to find fault with the resort, you will. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I won't belabor this review too much, since I did an exhaustive and thorough review last year, our first time at this resort. You can check it out by visiting my profile and sifting through my reviews.

After 14 trips to Jamaica we like to reward hotels and resorts with repeat business, and last year's visit was more than good enough for a repeat. After getting through customs and immigration with a breeze, we checked in at the Couples office at MoBay Airport, and within about 20 minutes we were on our way. NOTE: If you want a rum punch or something other than beer, go out the exit of the airport and there's a full service bar. They'll let you back in with "no problems, mon."

We once again got a room in Block A, beachfront on the top floor. Made all our dinner reservations for the week at check in and scheduled a private dinner for Thursday at the Wedding Gazebo. Good to make them soon as you get there to avoid any filling up or not getting the time you want to eat... So we booked two nights at the Cassanova, one night at the Palazinna and our private dinner. The other two nights are Gala and Beach Party. Frankly I'd be ok with one...two maybe is a bit much and it's a lot of work for the folks that work there... If you do a private dinner...Thursday is a good night to do it... The beach and gala events are outdoors and the music and noise echos through the cove and can be a bit disturbing if you're having a private romantic encounter.

Again, the rooms are dated, but when you build right on the Caribbean in the tropics...keeping it looking like new is tough. They were replacing some furniture in the rooms the week we were there.. Keeping in mind we don't spend much time in the room. They are cleaned every day..pretty well too... Like I said in my previous review... this resort is not a five star relative to something like the Ritz Carlton or something...but it comes with a lot of charm. The grounds are stellar and kept in very good shape. The week we were there, they were putting the finishing touches on the revamping of the massage huts, which are poised on a cliff overlooking the Caribbean in a jungle-like setting...gorgeous, if you're into massages, which we are not...

The service is still very, very good, for the most part. Anywhere you'll stay you'll have a couple people that are there for a paycheck...can't avoid that. But if we were asked once, we were asked a hundred times if we were having a good time...is everything good...can we get you anything. Once, I was on my way down the stairs to get ice, and a grounds keeper came and said "let me get that for you mon..what room are you in" and gladly delivered a bucket of ice five minutes later... that's the kind of thing that is good. The water sport equipment looked in good order...hobie catamarans were out every day... I didn't sail this week, as I did last year... just never got around to it...

Got to do the repeaters dinner. It's an actual dinner, unlike some resorts that have a simple cocktail reception. This was a nice dinner, a staff member sat at every table and the GM and Ops Mgr. spoke and it was evident that they truly want to do a good job and get everyone back. Dinner consisted of lobster, steak kabobs and various courses.

We vacation au naturel..and they have made some nice improvements to the A/N beach including removing the giant mountain like "love grotto" water feature from the middle of the pool, resurfaced it...installed an in-ground hot tub and re-make over the swim up bar...Nice job guys and gals. Plenty of new floaties and tables for the beach too..no problem all week...getting them... of course TIP: tipping is not expected by the staff, but we all know that a little something extra goes a long way... we took care of one of the workers and every day the chairs we wanted were reserved for us... Again, I never felt like tipping was expected, but a lot of people do it...especially those that know there's not much of a minimum wage in Jamaica and these kids work really hard to make their money...so I have no problem with tipping for really good service... The A/N pool buffet was good although I'm a jerk chicken guy and we beat cheeks over to the other side for it daily for lunch. At 5pm...they let clothed people on the beach to watch the sunset... so just know that... maybe a handful showed up every day... Other than that, you have to be A/N to use the beach which we like...

Oh..the WIFI situation has been resolved...they must have a dozen routers throughout the resort...Except for one night when it went out...we got good strong connections which made it nice staying in touch with the kids using Facetime instead of expensive long distance calls.

We'll likely repeat there a third time next year... things are looking good at CSS and like I said... we're easy to please...and like to reward good service and resorts/hotels that are making the effort...

Room Tip: Book your restaurant reservations at check in to have the best chance of getting the time and locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband has stayed at Sans Souci over the years many times, since the 1980's, for work purposes--he is an award-winning film-maker and worked out of resorts all over Jamaica doing documentaries and travel specials--this was our first time at Sans Souci since it has been owned by Couples and we were disappointed in the changes. The resort lost a lot of its quaintness, which has been replaced by hideous and embarrassing cruise-ship like events. We came for romance, and what we got were ridiculous events like the gala and starlight dinners, not to mention music from the 1980's american pop, rather than local Jamaican music, which we would have much preferred.
Over all, the service by the restaurant and bar staffs, and the housekeeping staffs were excellent, as was the food. The beach is very nice, and the secluded cove setting of the resort is wonderful and attractive.

We paid extra for a beach view room, (we were on the ground floor) and during our 10-day stay, we had 4 days where instead of seeing our view, we saw workmen and tents--one day for the regular friday starlight gala, and three days for an anniversary party for the resort. We also got to listen to noise from the construction well into the night. The resort also seemed overpriced for the quality of the rooms. The overall resort is very attractive, but basic maintenance of cosmetic things in the rooms was neglected, making it look like the owners are out to save every penny. It was nothing that ruined our stay, but a toilet missing a bolt, a cheap shower curtain that is torn and missing a ring, a rusty clothesline over the tub, skimpy on the soaps and toiletry products--these things make us wonder where our $500 per day goes, as did the fact that the television channels were not high definition. Any mid-level hotel in the US would never have issues like this, let alone a supposedly high class one, and all of these fixes would cost hardly anything.

Further about these "galas"--we did not come to a couples resort to sit at dinner with a bunch of people we don't know--we came for a romantic couples experience. I believe many of our fellow guests felt the same. We also did not like the fact that a whole beach, plus a nice pool and bar, was off limits to paying patrons who choose to leave their clothes on. And, the "famous" balloon bar was closed the whole time we were at the resort. Couldn't renovations wait for the low season?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham I, Owner at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Shura P,

Thank you for trying Sans Souci under the Couples brand. We appreciate your feedback.

Couples Resorts offers a number of activities on-site. However, we always ensure there is ample seclusion for guests to relax. Couples Resorts are still the most tranquil and intimate within the all-inclusive market. Our hotels are also very authentic in the sense that a lot of our furnishings are locally made and soft reggae is played throughout public areas.

We were pleased to learn that you found the food, service, and beach excellent.

Pertaining to rooms, the block you stayed in will be refurbished this year.

Couples Sans Souci still remains one of the highest rated resorts in the Ocho Rios area. It’s untouched beauty and history create a unique vacation experience. Your comments can only help in preserving this. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Abraham Issa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, New Hampshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We traveled to Sans Souci with some friends to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary and we enjoyed every minute of the trip. To be honest, I don't think I would even want to risk staying anywhere else because I will always be comparing it to Sans Souci. We stayed in the B Block of rooms which were well furnished, new, and close to the pool, Palazzina Restaurant, and au natural beach, which we enjoyed. Our friends stayed in A unit.

I think the grounds of Sans Souci were a major high point for me. Around every corner is some hidden delight! Secret stairways wind their ways up and over the rock bluffs and bring you to hidden hammocks, cozy hot tubs and our favorite, the mineral grotto. We walked around the pond every night to see the birds, turtles, crabs and lizards. I even saw some Mongoose prints in the sand!

Albert gave us a wonderful Eco-Tour of the grounds, pointing out rare plants, fruit trees and fielding our dozens of questions. The guys at the water sports office were really helpful! We took quite a few snorkeling and glass-bottom boat trips, went for a crazy ride in a HobieCat with Ray who used to race them and then we learned how to scuba as well! We also had some wonderful waitstaff. One night we were serenaded by Keston and another night we won a riddle-solving game with Martin.

Dining at the resort was wonderful. One of our friends has some serious food allergies and was very worried that food choices would be a problem. She and her husband were so relieved to find that at every meal, the head Chef would come out to talk with her about her options. She never had the same thing twice, and a few times, they even made something special just for her! The lunch and breakfast buffets were superb with local specialties as well as stand-by favorites if you aren't feeling brave. I never thought I'd eat ackee and codfish for breakfast, but it was amazing! We booked dinners at Casanovas, one at Palazzina and enjoyed every one of our meal. I still think about the fish tacos we had at the Beach Grill!!

Room Service was prompt and friendly and our mini bar was always stocked in a timely manner! The housekeeping staff was also so kind! We got some great travel tips from our housekeeper and had wonderful conversation with her. She put little flowers on our bed every night, it was so adorable!

We took full advantage of the bar service, just try the Rum and Ting! All the bartenders we encountered were helpful and friendly, especially Veronique at the Au Natural Beach, which was important because we were very nervous to try it out. We surprised ourselves by heading over there every day! The Sunset Beach had a very laid-back, non-sexual vibe. I felt like a little kid skinny dipping! And no judgement from anyone either. I felt very comfortable (once I got over my own initial nerves) The water from the White River flows right into the sea there and makes for a wonderful swimming experience! In the morning, locals come out with their fishing boats, but they are respectful and friendly. We also met the nicest and most down-to-earth guests over: no high-maintenance complainers on that side of the resort!

We couldn't have asked for a better time! All of us enjoyed every single aspect of this resort and its amenities and staff. This will certainly be a trip that we all plan to repeat!

Room Tip: B block rooms were close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.