We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Christmas Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a warm and friendly staff. Our stay was only a week, but wished it had been longer. The food was awesome, lots of it, was able to try different non acoholic drinks. the scenery and the grounds were beautiful. Really enjoy the entertainment. the excursions that were offered was a nice blend of watersports, horse back riding and seeing the dolphins. As this was my first trip anywhere, Couples San Souci would definitely be a place I would visit every year. It is a smaller resort, but it was enough for me and my husband, to be able to enjoy ourselves without a crowd. We met a lot of nice couples, had a a great time. It was a perfect place for our honeymoon. The staff was very outgoing and friendly and answered any of our questions. The room we had, was nice and spacious and we had an ocean view. Lots of swimming pools, little hideaways, and bars. This resort exceeded our expectations. A definite must go to for a first timer.

Room Tip: the ocean view in the morning, is an awesome sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    500
    139
    56
    37
See reviews for
26
2,167
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

After spending 2 weeks at Couples Sans Souci in March 2012, and another 2 weeks at Couples Negril in March 2013 - it was no contest - we decided to get married at Sans Souci.
We are not a young couple and just wanted a simple wedding so we chose their "One Love" package (free with a stay of 6 days - other than $250 for paperwork). The process was painless - we were able to transfer all necessary documents to Couples wedding co-ordinator via e-mail - then wait for the special day.
On our arrival, there was a bottle of "bubbly" waiting for us in our room. The next day we met with the wedding co-ordinator at the resort (Renae) who had us try a glass of champagne to make sure we liked it, then samples of cake (chocolate, vanilla, Jamaican fruit cake - we chose chocolate) and finally we discussed preferred location (the small wedding gazebo overlooking the ocean),flowers (we picked the purple spray of flowers), what music we wanted, where we would like to eat dinner and finally the vows (decided to go with whatever the Minister chose as long as "obey" was replaced with eith cherish or respect).
Renae gave us a full checklist and said she would be there with her assistants to witness if needed and she would escort Carol down to the gazebo.
Wedding day: perfect weather, a little warm but with a gentle breeze. I was waiting in the games room when the Minister - Rev. Black (a Will Smith look-a-like) walked in, sat down with me to check out a couple of last details (rings, etc) then it was off to the gazebo to wait for Carol's arrival. Note: one thing we loved about the location is that, unlike the beach where anyone can stop and stare at the wedding - they rope off the location so it is quiet and very private. Anyway - Carol came down the stairs just out of sight, then turned towards the gazebo.
I had supplied an Ipod with 4 songs selected (plugged into a small "boom-box" they supplied) and one of the assistants turned it on. As for the ceremony - Rev Black made sure it was perfect, and the vows were better than anything we might have written ourselves. The whole thing was fantastic - with Rev black making sure that we were placed perfectly for photos as well (funny thing is we never even noticed the photographer, or anyone else for that matter).
After the ceremony which only took a few minutes - it was off to a table nearby to sign the register, then after a few more pictures we were led to a table with a beautiful cake for shots of us cutting it. Then we and 2 people we asked to act as witnesses were served cake and champagne, and left alone for about 10 minutes to relax and talk. It was a beautiful touch. Then Carol and I went with the photographer for a free photo session around the resort.
From start to finish - everything took exactly 1 hour, but not once did we ever feel rushed.
When we returned to the room - there was another surprise - a bottle of champagne, 2 champagne flutes (ours to keep) a laminated message from family, 2 T-shirts and a plate of snacks.
The next day, we went to choose our photos and after choosing 20 ot 100 to be put on cd, plus getting 1 8x10 printed - the whole thing came to $400 BUT we had a $200 resort credit + a $200 returning guest "Romance Rewards" credit so even our pictures were free.
In the end - we had a fantastic wedding, were treated like royality and made to feel very special, supplied with flowers, the Minister, a beautiful cake, 2 bottles of champagne, T-shirts, pictures and even 2 free 30 min. couples massages - and other than $250 for paperwork & a tip for the Minister - it cost us NOTHING!!!
I can not say enough nice things about Couples Sans Souci, other than the fact that they made our wedding special beyond expectations, and gave this old couple wonderful memories to last a lifetime.
Many thanks to everyone at Couples Sans Souci.

Room Tip: We love the location of the Evergreen block - close to the lobby and not too far from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in a Beachfront Suite. The room was very spacious and exceeded our expectations. We would live there if we could. The room had everything we wanted with a very comfortable bed, Jacuzzi tub, a terrace with a beautiful Ocean view, fully stocked mini bar and room service. The grounds were beautiful and always seemed clean. All amenities were included, with no hidden charges. If you notify the resort you are coming for your honeymoon a week or two in advance, they will even throw in a free couples massage at the spa, and a bottle of champagne with fruit and cheese plate. The staff was all very friendly. Some of our favorites were Tony the Tiger at the Pool bar, Peter at the Beach Bar, Tanisha our favorite server, and Luna our housekeeper for most of the week, but everybody on staff from the Servers and Chefs to the Spa Staff, the Housekeeping crew, the Activities/Water Sports Crew, and the Mangers were top notch and went out of their way to make us feel at home during our stay. The food was great at all of the restaurants, and the drinks were just as good. Our favorite thing to eat was actually the Mediterranean Pasta station at Palazzina. The Beach Grill/Bella Vista was also very good, and Casa Nova was nice but a little too fancy for our tastes. The bars and entertainment were a a good time as well. There was always something to do, yet no pressure to participate if you just wanted to spend some time alone in your room or on the beach. We could not have asked for a more luxurious and romantic honeymoon.

Top 10 Extras offered for free at Couples that you would most likely pay for at other resorts:
1. Dunn's River Falls Excursion (Awsome time, other resorts charge $80 + per person)
2. Margaritaville Excursion (didn't do this one, but heard great things)
3. Motorized water sports and glass bottom boat (I water skied for free, fun times)
4. Scuba Diving (Beginner's scuba lessons and trip are included in the price)
5. Honeymoon Massage and Champagne Package
6. Free Room Service
7. Premium liquors
8. Shopping Trips to Downtown Ocho Rios a couple times weekly
9. In room Wifi
10. Fully stocked Minibar (pop, juice, water, beer and liquor)

We had a great time overall and will most likely be back every 5 years for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Best bang for your buck - One Bedroom Beachfront Suite Best rates were found at allinclusiveoutlets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

CSS is great value as NO added extras like some other resorts. We have been several times and always good. If you have a problem it is soon sorted. All restuarants are very good, some better than others all depending on your likes.Yes, rooms are a bit dated but it would be ruined if they were to modernize it all. Room serviece very good for early morning coffee if you are too lazy to make it. But overall, great hotel, service and staff. We will be returning again in September and maybe April if we can.

Room Tip: we prefer F block or G block, as better views for us. But those thast prefer beachview, it is A or B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Well I invite you to read my previous review for specifics on the resort (Jan 2013), it was a very detailed description and I fully agree with all that I wrote about our last visit. Below are my thoughts on our return visit, what’s new, improvements and how it felt to return to the same resort (something we rarely do!)

• 10 day stay Dec.8-18, 2013 Celebrated my husband’s birthday during our stay.
• Room –“ A “block again, 3rd level – not an end unit like last time, so smaller balcony and one less window (end unit has a side window next to the bed that allows a bit more air flow and light into the room). Still had amazing views of the pool, beach and resort. Same interior design and furnishings as our previous room in A block.
• Welcome Home! It amazed us how many staff remembered us from our previous stay and greeted us with warm handshakes and hugs – Welcome Home!
• NEW Mini bar – now served by door hanger card, put out by 2am and get delivered at your choice of time the next day. Have to be in room for premium liquor which costs extra to sign for it, but basic restock of red stripe, pop, water, juice etc. can be done now with the door hanger, without being in the room – great improvement by management!
• Repeat Guest benefits – romance rewards, after our last stay we signed up for the “romance rewards” return guests program. After 9 day stay last time we qualified for the “young love” level = room credit $100, 2 t-shirts young love level, repeat guests dinner, exchange visit day to Tower Island Resort, pre order of your in room mini bar prior to your arrival.
• Exchange visit to Tower Island takes place Mon/Wed or Friday from 8:30-4, transfers are included. If you wish to return earlier then it is easy to hire a taxi for the short trip between resorts for a nominal fee. This option to visit the other couples resort was included in our stay, but we were enjoying ourselves so much at San Souci, we didn’t want to give up a whole day to visit Tower Island. Maybe next time......
• Sunset Beach upgrades – new pool, hot tub, new tiles at shower, new swimming marker boys to mark the swimming area and keep area jet skis and tour boats away from swimmers. They have begun the removal of rocks by hand in the swimming area to make a sandier bottom like the main beach has. Also noted grading of beach after hurricane last year – have filled in the area where the river flooded out last year and have planted new palm trees and built a few new palapas.
• Noted this time at the resort that there was no competition or seat saving noticed at the beach in the mornings. Easy to get your desired place at the beach, no towels were left marking spots where people tried to reserve spots and never came back all day. Not sure if this is a new policy that they have been working on and enforcing or just a sign that there were fewer people at the resort during this stay. In either case, it was lovely to be able to sit where we wanted without having to get there by 6am in the morning
• Renovation in progress of B block – sample reno suite which they are working on, you can see they have removed the divider walls, enlarged the bathroom, tiling still to do, decor and painting, but they are looking for feedback once completed before following through with renos for entire A&B blocks.
• Birthday surprise – after enjoying the beach party we came back to the room to find a bottle of champagne & fruit tray compliments of management with a birthday message for my husband on his birthday – very nice – Thank You!
• Used our resort credit ($100 as returning guest with romance rewards) towards the cost of a private wedding gazebo candlelit dinner for 2. Service and food were amazing and the ambiance of a secluded candlelit dinner for 2 with our own waiter was fantastic. Amazing view from the gazebo with overlooks the ocean, sounds of crashing waves, singing tree frogs and fragrances from the lush rainforest vegetation. Pathway and gazebo were decorated with welcoming flowers upon our arrival. Champagne & Wine included with the meal. You have a choice of menu’s to choose from when planning your dinner, so can customize to your liking.
• “Relax at Couples San Souci” through Sunwing vacations – special fall promo booked by Sept. and travelled by mid Dec. – bottle of Champagne in the room, 1 level room upgrade for free, welcome gift of 2 Jamaica t-shirts (Premium men’s polo style t-shirt) This was a special bonus through our Canadian tour operator worked out with Couples resort and it was an added surprise to our holiday. If you plan on coming next fall (2014) and are from Canada check out the Sunwing vacations promo to see if they are offering it again next year, promo is done for 2013.
• Shout out to staff (sorry for any spelling mistakes with your names) – Jenniese at Cassanova restaurant (also saw her at Pallazina and beach party nights as well), Raydean, Vanya (gorgeous smile) and Edgar who makes the best omelets and eggs at Palazzina restaurant, so many staff members at this restaurant helped to make our vacation special since we ate here the most for breakfast & lunch daily. Special thank you to Kenderoy our Wedding Gazebo Private Candlelit dinner waiter – congrats on your upcoming wedding New Year’s Eve! Amazing Bar tending staff and premium selection of liquor – shout out to Tanisha and Bryan (ask him for a “ Great Rush” and Blackberry Martini’s) in the bars
• Shout out and job well done to the Staff who put up and take down the Beach Party & Gala Dinner set ups, as well as the Manager’s cocktail party and returning guests dinners. We were sorry that the Gala Dinner had to be held inside at the Palazzina restaurant due to heavy rain, but staff handled the change in venue well. Enjoyed the Dynamite Brothers return performance at the Beach Party as well.
• Nice Christmas decor – Christmas tree in lobby and Pallazina restaurant, lights everywhere in the palm trees and at front entrance, poinsettias and wreaths, lovely handmade extra large gingerbread house in the lobby with free candy canes and cookies. Happy Holidays everyone!
• Night before we left, we received a customer survey in our room to fill out and hand in upon check out. We also received a surprise gift at departure while waiting for our airport transfer back to Montego Bay, guest services presented us with a mini blue Couples cooler full of treats for the bus ride – 2 water bottles, apple, orange, 2 muffins and 2 granola bars. The water was enjoyed before we passed through airport security and the other treats were great during our 4 hour flight back home. We look forward to using the cooler on future trips to take snacks to the beach with us – thanks couples! Just one more bonus for returning guests.
• Can’t wait to be able to book our next vacation! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We like the upper level rooms as quiet, private and best view of the A&B blocks. One bedroom be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I headed back to Jamaica over Thanksgiving for 10 days for the second consecutive year. This year we decided on Ocho Rios and Couples Sans Souci. We were looking to head to a different part of Jamaica since last year we were in Negril.

Arrival in to Jamaica was no problem as our direct flight out of Philly into Montego Bay was a few minutes early. We were through customs, our luggage was waiting off the belt and we were off into the Couples Lounge. We got checked in, where we were handed tags for our luggage and had 3 much needed and long awaited Red Stripe Drafts each. The staff here were friendly, and helpful. There are small bathrooms here in case you want to freshen up, or change into shorts or bathing suit. We were in the lounge for about 20 minutes before we were told our shuttle would be leaving for Ocho Rios. We were in tranist with 2 other couples, 1 couple heading to Tower Isle and the other heading to Sans Souci with us. Our shuttle van, was air conditioned and comfortable. Our driver asked us if we wanted to stop about half way for a couple more Red Stripes or Snacks. We all agreed to do so, and the Bar we stopped at was really neat. It was an open air bar/resturant where we had about 15 minutes to go to the bathroom and grab a couple more Red Stripes. It is safe, trust me. You do not have to worry at all about getting out of the van. The driver locks it up and it is not out of your sight. The total drive is about 1 hour and 45 minutes. Not uneventful, as our driver kept us updated as to what we were passing. Talked to us about his hometown, and how long he has been employed. Very interesting to hear about the locals and their lifestyle. Ask questions. It is more of a major highway drive to Sans Souci as you drive right along the coast the whole time.

Sans Souci was the first stop, Tower Isle is the Second for those wondering. We step off the shuttle, and were greeted with a Yeah Mon, Welcome to Jamaica and most of all Welcome to Couples Sans Souci. We chatted for a couple minutes with the Bell Hop, and into the Lobby we go. Time wise, it is around 230 pm Thanksgiving Afternoon, a little less than 3 hours after we landed. My wife and I are taken back with how quiet the Lobby is, there are no vacationers around. Resort almost seemed empty. We were greeted with cold towels, and asked if we wanted Champagne, my wife obliged, and I asked for a Red Stripe. Within minutes we had both. The Lobby is beautiful, small, and very homey feeling. A few steps out from the roof of the Lobby, and you are looking over one of the pools, the Cassanova Resturaunt, and through a little bit of the Jungle, you see the blue calm waters of the beautiful Carribbean.

Check in was a breeze, we were explained where everything was, given a map, and told, if we have any questions or issues, please do not hessitate to call. Our bags were then loaded into the van and we were driven to our room. We were in in A Building, room 2119. 2nd Floor, Beachfront Suite. Yes, the first impressions are the rooms are a little bit outdated, but honestly, how often are you in your room. Our room, was clean, and our Housekeeper, Sandy, was great. We enjoyed talking to her everyday in passing, making more than just small talk conversation. The room had a great view overlooking the pool and pool bar, as well as the Beach and water. We had a Jacuzzi Tub in our bathroom that we didn't use. Our shower never lacked pressure and we always had hot water. I can see some people complaining about certain things. There was a spot on the ceiling that had some mold/water stain, damage. Did it affect our stay? NO not at all. There were double sinks, and we always had fresh clean towels. Help the resort out, by using your shower towel out more than once. If you want clean towels, throw them in the Jacuzzi tub. Our air conditioner did break twice, these happend in the middle of the night, when it didn't matter much. Two ceiling fans did just fine. A call to the front desk in the am before breakfast about the air conditioner was all we had to do. They fixed it within an hour or two. No big deal. There is a flat screen tv, with a wicker love seat and chair in a little sitting area. There are 2 entrances to the patio/balcony, out there you have to chairs with a table where you can sit, drink you coffee, eat breakfast, or dinner. We did not use the room service, did not feel the need to. Like I said we were in our rooms only to Shower, and Sleep. The bed, well we will have an issue where ever we go. But it was not too bad at all. Firm, lots of pillows. It was a King Bed and at times I would wake up in the middle of the night almost lost because I could not feel for my wife, haaa.

Pool, very clean, and pool bar never seemed to be to crowded. Always a chair with a float to use. Hot Tub, was a welcome. Although I am not sure people coming from the beach understood that there were showers to rinse off the sand right as you come off the beach before you get in the Hot Tub or pool. There was a lot of sand on the steps getting into the Hot Tub and Pool, but nothing to deter you from going in.

Beach, once again, the resort was supposedly at 95% capacity, but never did we feel crowded, or on top of anyone. Always plenty of room, plenty of beach loungers with pads. The palapa trees seemed a little depleted of palm covering, but once again, nothing to complain about. Little Palm trees also provided enough shade to slide the chair out from the sun for a little break if needed. We found the same spot on the beach everyday next to the Beach Bar/Resturaunt. The water was murky the first couple days there due to some storms that rolled through. Calmed down, and was crystal clear. Another storm rolled through on Thursday Night, and Friday the water was really really rough. Especially for the Carribbean. They have flag service. For those who do not know what flag service is, Couples has Runners, in which you get a Blue Flag on a white stick, you stick it in the ground and within minutes Demar, or Sasskia will be around to get you a drink. Although Demar gave us a flag every day we never used it because him and Sasskia do a tremendous job of keeping your drinks full without even needing to see the flag. The Beach is small, and when I say small, I am not kidding. It might be 75 yards from end to end. Depth from water to back of the beach might be 15 yards. Not deep at all. But it is very secluded. There are no beach vendors walking back and forth selling you anything. We did travel over to the "Au Natural" Beach after 5 pm for the sunsets. They have a saxaphone player there playing as you enjoy the sunsetting behind the mountains.

Food, the breakfast buffet was always good. Fresh Fruit, Omelette Bar, Pancakes as well. I had French Toast every day with Banana Syrup and a spoon full of Cinnamon Sugar. Loved it. Fresh Juices, a Bloody Mary set up, Champagne and Orange Juice Station, Cereal and Yogurt station as well. They serve a buffet lunch here as well that we only ate at once. We found the Beach Bar/Resturaunt very very sufficient and very good. Highly recommend the Jerk Chicken, and the Jerk Burger. If you get the fish tacos, be careful of small bones. My wife found this an issue the last day we were there. But all in all a great spot to hit during the middle of the day.

Dinner, we ate at Pallazina a couple nights, and Cassanova twice. Both of which we never had any issues. Food was great. Never an issue making reservations at all. MEN CASSANOVA YOU NEED TO WEAR PANTS, CLOSED TOE SHOES, AND A SHIRT WITH A COLLAR. I forgot my dress pants, even though I knew I needed them Thank god for the gift shop on the resort. I was able to purchase pants there. Thanksgiving Night we ate at the Beach Hut for dinner, there they had Jerk Turkey in celebration of our Holiday. Absolutely Amazing. Tuesdays is the beach party where they set the tables and chairs up on the beach, and buffet along the grass. The dinner choices were unbelievable. Plenty to choose from. Fridays are the Grand Gala Nights. All I can say about this is WOW. The work that the staff puts in for these events are second to none. The food at the Gala was Great. 7 different stations to choose from. Seafood, pasta, meat, salad, vegetable, dessert, apps. Unreal.

Entertainment, We were awake long enough to see the entertainment at the Gala and Beach Party. The Gala, has a house band with a singer. We saw a group of 3 girls who were there the 2nd Friday Gala, and they were not that bad. After them I believe was a solo guy who covered Inner Circle, Bob Marley, etc. Not bad either. Beach Party Entertainment was Amazing. A little band with an acoustic guitar, a rythm box, and banjo then the Steel Drum band, and Fire Jugglers. Unfortunately they were the only nightly entertainment we saw because we were either to stuffed, and drunk from dinner, or just to tired.

We made our way to the mineral pool one day and it was beautiful, laying on the lounger and hearing the waves crash against the walls. The water was refreshing, and once again, if you put block or sun tan oil on, there is a shower right there to rinse off before you go in. The smoothie bar we had one day as well. There are snacks there for the people that are interested in staying up by the minral pool. Visit Charlie's Cove, stick your feet in the mineral pond. All the fish will swim around your feet and you will feel them nibble on your heels and toes. Very calming in that part of the resort.

We did Dunns River Falls, which is included with the resort. You must schedule in advance before you go. The transfer to and from Dunns River is safe and done by the Resort. There are lockers at Dunns River that cost $8 I believe, but you get $3 back after turning the key in. These lockers are big enough for 2 couples to stick your belongings in. But all you will need is a towel, and water shoes. They have stairs that if you feel unsafe or intimidated to climb you can walk and follow the group. I must admit, this was a blast. Please beware of the vendors as you are leaving Dunns River. You do have to walk through the little shops to leave. We didn't feel threatened at all, but some of the people were a little pressuring trying to sell you their goods. Granted they are trying to make a living and will appreciate some small talk. I did manage to bargain a trade of my water shoes, that were only worn once (Dunns River) for some wood work from one of the vendors. Our group leader though, was full of energy, completely safe and we really really enjoyed ourselves. We also did the glass bottom boat which is also included. They run the tour 2x's daily 1130 am and 1:30 pm. Each tour is about a half hour long. You do have to go to the water sports to reserve the time you want to go. This was a really cool tour as well. They take you and show you different parts of the reef, coral, and see a sunken ship from World War 2 that was brought in.

This resort, is great. Never a crowd in any particular area, Reggae Music playing over the speakers at the beach bar and pool bar. NO KIDS!!!!!! My wife and I never knew the difference of a resort with/without kids until now. And from now on, ADULTS ONLY RESORTS. The Staff, Words cannot express what I want to say about them. Honestly, they really really make you feel important. They work extremely hard, they are dedicated, respectful, and want nothing more to make you feel at home. So do the same in return. Be respectful, let them know how much you appreciate them and how hard they work. Talk to the employees, get to know them, ask questions. Find out about where they are from, how long it takes them to get to work, where their families live. Trust me, you will appreciate your vacation more.

I feel I need to single out some employees here. Demar, beach runner/waiter, One of the best guys we have had the pleasure to deal with. Honestly, we enjoyed seeing him every time he came over to us, during the morning, and night. Truely a hard and dedicated worker. We got to know him well. Exchanged emails and will be in touch with him for sure. Sasskia, once again, always had a smile on her face. Back and forth from the beach to the pool bar. Always made sure to stop, say hello, ask if we needed anything, always wanted to take care of us. Courtney, wait staff, was our waiter more than a handful of times. Always greeted us with a fist pound, a smile and a "YEAH MON YOU HAVIN A FUN TIME MON?" Outstanding service from him, especially at the Gala. Stopped what he was doing, came over to our table and asked if we needed anything. Great Great Guy and even better employee. Melissia, whe was our waitress during our breakfast almost every morning. Always a smile, remebered us by name after our first visit with her. She is OUTSTANDING, and really one of the most genuine people we had the pleasure of meeting during our stay. We got to talk to her, get to know her background, about her family, what she likes doing on her days off. Such a great way to start off your morning and seeing her smile as you walked into the Pallazina. Sandy, our Housekeeper. Spectacular, always had a conversation with her. She was always very helpful with anything we needed. Room was spotless, had flower art a couple days. Turndown service as well. Just a great all around person and employee.

There were a few couple minor issues. Nothing I would say ruined our trip at all, but something I am going to bring up here. Cats, yes there are a handful of wild cats on the resort. They do run the grounds and do seem to hang around the palazina during breakfast, lunch and dinner. My wife and I are not cat people at all. We were a bit disturbed by this, because people do tend to feed them by dropping food on the floor. This is bad, because if the cat/cats are not interested in the food, then it sits on the ground and that is how the bugs become an issue. Once again, not cat people, and requesting to sit inside avoids the cats. Second, was all of the flys at the Beach Hut for lunch. Granted I know we are outside, and there are 10 tables on the deck eating at once, but possibly having some of those glue fly traps hanging around and changed out a couple times a day would help from an over population of them.

All in all, this was a very much needed relaxing vacation. The resort grounds were kept clean, and we always felt safe. The Service and Staff were outstanding.The food, in my opinion was the best food we have come across at an all inclusive hands down. Drinks were never watered down, always an open spot at a bar if you venture to one. I was basically a Red Stripe guy, however I did go a couple mornings where I would have a couple frozen Margarittas and then switch to beer. My Wife was on the Bloody Marys for a bit, during the day, had the Rum Punch, Dirty Banana, Miami Vice. We met some great couples from Canada, Michigan, and New Orleans. Venture around the resort, take a walk around. You never know what you are going to find. Hidden grottos, hammocks, little lizards, mongoose, hummingbirds, and even a Parrot that likes to say Hello, goodbye and will tell you when he wants a cracker. Talk to the employees, find out the history about Charlie the Turtle, go to the pond feed the turtles, and fish. Most of all, enjoy yourself. Thank you Couples Sans Souci, My wife and I really appreciated spending our 2nd Thanksgiving with you. You really made us feel comfortable and enabled us to start calling your beautiful country "Our Second Home". Thank you again, and we are looking forward to next Thanksgiving. Pictures to follow

Room Tip: A and B Block are ground level and do not require to much walking to get to where you need to be. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our 12th all inclusive vacation, 1st time to Jamaica. Couples San Souci does not disappoint. Yes the resort has lots of steps and is dated. If this bothers you don't go as it leaves room for those who want to enjoy a great resort/vacation.

Being a smaller resort it never seems crowded. There are many hidden spots around the resort that are great to explore. The resort has lush vegetation and gardens through out. It is nice to just take a walk and explore.

We had a room in A block. Yes they are some what dated. Everything worked well and the room was very clean and comfortable. Our maid Sandy did a great job and even made sure to clean on our schedule as she noticed we returned early afternoon to clean up.

Staff at this resort are very helpful and personable. The best we have experienced at any all inclusive. Some that stood out to us are as follows. Noxroy, Tanisha, Saskia and Bryan bartenders, Courtney Cranston, and Shawna servers, Juleen the singing cleaning lady and many more.

Shuttle trips to and from the airport are good. It is 1.5 to 2 hours from the airport with scenery all the way. Jamaica is a beautiful country!

We did the included excursion to Dunn's River falls which was very good. We did a couples massage which was very good and the massage room being ocean front was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ocean Front A or B blocks are close to the action. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.