We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Save Saved
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The perfect destination for a romantic getaway, food was fabulous and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.we stayed in G block which I would recommend if you are not a party animal as the blocks further down and on the beach would get full benefit of the music especially on Fridays which is beach barbecue night. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable,they are generous with the towels and will change them twice a day if you let them do turndown. it was nice to have our own iron/ironing board in the room ,and also a percolator but a kettle was instantly supplied when requested.
The grounds themselves were amazing and full of secret little pools and hideaways ,hummingbirds flowers and even a lake full of terrapins so it is worth exploring off the main pathways it is worth mentioning however that this is not a place for the unfit we are talking stairs everywhere (159from the lobby to the beach)

Room Tip: A&B blocks beachfront location,G&F blocks at the top so spectacular views and generally quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,665
    466
    129
    55
    36
See reviews for
24
2026
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Arthur, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary, and were very happy with our trip. We felt like it was a good value for our money.We went on two of the excursions. We spent most of our time on the au natural side. Food was good, staff were wonderful. Veronique is an excellent bartender and very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have knee issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from couples sans souci. We went for our 20th wedding anniversary. This place was just what we were looking for- quiet, romantic, relaxing, but fun. The staff was outstanding - very helpful and always willing to go the extra mile. The food was delicious. With three restaurants to choose from, you had many choices. We met a few very outstanding staff as well, Maurice from the water sports as well as Barrington were extremely helpful. The bartender Ashley (who was in training) went out of her way to make our trip one to remember! The evening entertainment staff did a spectacular job. All of the shows were really fun. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was our friends 40th anniversay and our 15th. We are all over 56 so a wild night life wasn't something we were looking for but they kept us busy with a huge dinner on the beach on tue and another one on fri. The food was amazing and the staff even better. Our rooms were cleaned twice a day with fresh towels and sheets and the bed was turned down every night. The things that were included were unbelievable. Scuba, Dunns fall, glass bottom boat, wind sailing and so much more. Kevin was one of our favorite staff. He was warm and so friendly and helpful I can't say enough about him. I was standing in line at Tuesdays beach dinner at the meat station when one of the chiefs said to me my lady you don't ever stand in line for anything here you are on vacation and with that he took my plate and got me my meat. I was overwhelmed by all the genuine kindness as was my husband and our friends. I know there are some reviews that aren't very good but some people just can't be pleased and expect the moon but in our eyes this place was sheer paradise. Just remember its not so much where you are at but who you are with but you will want for nothing here. It's a smaller compound so your service is wonderful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We always go to Couples Negril, but thought we would try out another couples resort. We knew within 4hrs that we had made a mistake. some good, some things not so good.

The check in went very well. The food was ok, the scenery is very lush, the resort is very spread out. There are a lot of steps. The view from the room was very good, but the room was very musty/moldy as it turned out. It wasn't until the 5th night that we realized how bad the problem was. My wife became sick and had difficulty breathing by the 4th night, she got some medical advice and was able to take an over the counter drug to help. We left after 7 nights and went to Couples Negril, the problem disappeared in 24hrs. Hindsight is always 20/20. We should have requested to move rooms, didn't want to make a big deal out of it....our mistake.

The area where the nightly entertainment takes place, just down from the checkin area, is ridiculously small. Totally inadequate for what they are trying to do, and frankly the singers/entertainers were subpar. The piano bar is another situation where its in a poor location, and lightly attended.
I like to scuba, play beach volleyball and pool volleyball. At the most, there were 3 of us for Scuba all week. The scheduled Beach volleyball, never happened. Pool Volleyball happened twice.

Location is important at this resort, we had 90 steps to climb, almost every night after the entertainment on the beach. During the day, thats not a biggy, but at the end of the night after a full day of beach, sun, drinking, dancing. Climbing those steps to your room at night is not anything we looked forward to. If your going to stay here book beachfront.
If you are looking for a resort that is full of private areas where you will meet few people, then this might be the place for you. But if you like to be social with people participating in activities, then go to couples negril. The resort was 80% full.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Couples Sans Souci. Of course, we were disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us but we do realize that no matter how many guests love our facilities, occasionally we will host a couple who might find a better fit elsewhere. Participation in any of the activities fluctuates based on the personalities of the guests staying at any given time but scuba in particular is one of the most popular activities at Couples Sans Souci and usually very well subscribed.

I was delighted to see that you are a huge supporter of Couples Negril and as you have seen there are differences between the two resorts. This does not necessarily mean that one resort is better than the other - the differences are what make each resort special and may even make one "perfect" for you. It is interesting to note that during a month when we were virtually at capacity, your impression was that we were only 80% full - it is this intimate and welcoming atmosphere that many of our guests crave.

We hope that you will continue to support the Couples brand and look forward to hosting you again in the near future (although it seems that Couples Negril has won your heart).

Warmest regards,

NL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timmins, ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had our honeymoon here last July (2012) and we couldn't have chosen a better place! The resort is outdated, but we didn't mind one bit. Everything was kept pristine. The staff was SOO NICE and accomodating; anything you wanted, you got. The vegetation was beautiful, and the food was great too. If I tried really really really hard to find one single thing to complain about, it would be the fitness lady taking over the mineral pool for her classes. My suggestion would be to use the one pool that is always 100% empty because there are no lounge chairs around it. Then, the customers trying to have a relaxing time at the mineral pool, wouldn't be interrupted. But seriously, that's just me digging really hard to find something to complain about. I 150% recommend this resort if you are looking for romance, and a magical vibe. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the G block... I want to say G8 but I'm not positive. We had a really really great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I traveled here with my partner for a week and we will definitely be returning! We were upgraded on arrival with it being our honeymoon to a suite overlooking the cove. There is a saxophonist who plays around the resort on a couple of the nights which really added to the charm of the holiday. The food was to die for, especially at the gala dinner where there was so much to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.