We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as we remembered!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Save Saved
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just as we remembered!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Couples San Souci for the second time in April 2003. We had a beachfront room in the A building. Our room was A6, and I did not like it as well as the 2nd floor room in the same building 2 years prior. A6 is set back in the building with no view or privacy. The room next and above can actually see in your room from their balcony. We did not ask for a room change, but if we go back and get a room similar to this one I would ask for a room change.
The resort was just as great as we remembered from our last visit. It has such a relaxing atmosphere, and that is what we seek on our spring vacation by ourselves. The staff is as nice and accomodating as anywhere we have been. We had trouble with our room safe one day, and they actually had to drill it open, as it was locked and would not accept any codes or even the master key. It took about 4 hours from start to finish, and we had to stay in the room, as they wanted us there when it finally did open. We did not expect anything for this, as we know things happen beyond anyones control. Clevis from maintenace was such a nice man thru the whole process, and that night he surprised us with a lobster and steak dinner delivered to our room It was such a nice touch, as like I said it was beyond Couples control our safe malfunctioned.
The spa is just amazing!!! We had 3 massages each, and I had a body wrap and facial on our last day. Having a massage on the cliffs with the waves crashing below is paradise!!! The ladies our unbelievable.
My Husband is a super picky eater, and he never complained once about any of his meals at the resort, and believe me that is a major feat in itself to please him!!! He does have a shell fish allergy, and the resort went out of their way to make sure all was well with his food.
Next year we will be going to Couples Swept Away, as we love the beach in Negril, but we will definatley return to Couples San Souci.

Room Tip: We would stay in the beachfront rooms again, but ask and hope we received a 2nd or 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,652
    459
    127
    55
    36
See reviews for
24
2006
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed 3rd May to the 17th May 2013.
This is our 4th time to CSS. It holds a special place in our hearts and we tend to compare other resorts to it & struggle to match it. Its like being bitten by a bug, you just have to go again.

We love the way the staff are professional yet very friendly & give you the feeling they are enjoying your holiday with you and everything is "no problem". The staff have a great sense of humour & makes it easy to have a laugh with them & enjoy their company.

They even remember us each visit which is very touching as they see thousands of guests every year. Great to see some long standing staff there. Lennon, Nicola, Andrew, Neville & Noxroy have recognised us every visit.
Everyone from the gardeners (Kirk is a great guy, very informative about the resort gardens if you take the time to chat), waiters to the bar staff, managers & water sports guys are helpful & attentive.
Even Keshan on the guest service desk is happy, very helpful & entertaining, had a great laugh on the phone booking restaurants.
We couldn't get our safe open one day. Called Keshan, someone came within 15 minutes and sorted this for us straight away.

We adore the lush wonderful gardens, lake & pathways around this resort. Go for a stole & feed the parrots and turtles.
There are quite a few steep steps around the resort so not the best place to go if you struggle to get around.

The food is excellent. All the restaurants are good but we preferred & used Casanova’s restaurant (fine dining) mostly & never had any problems reserving a table as often as we wanted. The steak was some of the best we have ever had. Cut like butter.
The other dishes were good too.
I just cant understand why people complain about small portions, you do get a 5 course meal & I managed to gain 9 pounds this visit!!!!
We also enjoyed the lunch time buffet too, great choice on salads & daily varieties including a great seafood curry, southern fried chicken & Chinese dishes.
We pre-ordered room service for 9pm, it was the Gala Night, we have done this several times now & didn't fancy queuing for food. We just went to the Balloon Bar, had a few drinks & our meal was delivered bang on time & tasted great.

They have some new entertainment staff who are very nice, nick named Spaghetti & Linguine, nice girls who are not to pushy but try to get you involved.
The evening entertainment is relaxed, they have some really good local singers who get you dancing and joining if you desire. Casino night was great fun. They used to do a Mr & Mrs but not any more which is a shame because it was a real laugh.

We stayed in C10 this time. As people have mentioned the rooms are a bit aged (this is true, but we don’t go on holiday to stay in the room so not a problem to us) but they are clean & everything works well including the air con, we had an a/c unit in the lounge area as well as the bedroom. Had no issues with water pressure or temperature.
We had great weather, only a couple of days with a little liquid sunshine.

A great thank you to all the staff for making this another memorable stay here. Hopefully see you all again in the future x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I spent another wonderful 10 days at Sans Souci. When we were planning our trip, I asked if she wanted to go somewhere else. She said we won't find anything as great as Sans Souci, so we went back home. The only down side to the trip were the days went by too fast, could have stayed a lot longer. Everything was excellent, maybe even better than the first time we went in 2012. We were amazed at how many of the staff remembered us by name. The service they give you is 5 plus star. They will do anything to make your stay special. No matter what you want, it's always no problem mon. The food is fantastic. My steaks melted in my mouth. The desserts are to die for. I think you can gain weight just looking at them. The breakfast buffet is endless, there is no way you can try some of everything, you would need a dozen plates. Edgar's omlets, made how ever you want them, are the best! If you want to have some pictures of your trip, you can have a portrait session for free. Cheval does a fantastic job, even if you don't plan on buying any pictures it will be impossible not to once you see what a job he does. The grounds are stunning, flowers and tropical plants everywhere. The grounds are so lush you can't see a lot of the buildings from anyone point. The Couples web site has a lot of pictures and what you see is what you get. We are already planning our next trip. We can't wait to hear the greeting you get when you step off the van, "welcome home", and they really do mean it. If you are planning on a trip, and you aren't sure where you want to go, make it Couples Sans Souci. You will not be disappointed. It is the perfect place for you and your SO to reconnect and fall in love again.

Room Tip: We think the beachfront suites have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We just spent 9 nights at San Souci and had a great time. Our room was in the D building on the 2nd floor, with views of the ocean as well as the resort. Great room! I didn't mind the steps at all, but considered them daily exercise:) We enjoyed the water activities and took advantage of them almost daily. The beach is relaxing with plenty of shade and drink service. The food was good, but I would have liked to have seen a little more variety on the daily buffets. Still didn't keep me from gaining a pound or two! The staff is sincerely kind, helpful, courteous and pleasant. Although we met and enjoyed so many staff members, we'd like to give a shout out to: Monique, Alicia, Antoy, Massel, Connie. Leon, Patrick, Barrington, Derron, Lorenzo, Brian, Crystal, Maureen, Marva. The ones I didn't mention was just because I don't remember their names. All staff members did a great job! I found this resort to be very clean and safe, and has a happy and relaxing attitude. Rooms were very clean as well. Between the wonderful staff and great resort, our chances of returning to San Souci are very high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This review is long overdue. My boyfriend and I stayed at Couples Sans Souci in September 2012 for 8 nights. We are in our early thirties and not big on the party scene and we got exactly what we were hoping for- relaxation, nature, good food, and spectacular service. This is the place to go if you are looking for these things. There is a mixed crowd ranging from mid-twenties and up. Be prepared for a lot of stairs and a good amount of walking when exploring the resort. There are many hidden jacuzzis and romantic spots, so exploring is a must. The best part of this trip was the service. The employees go above and beyond to ensure every guest is well taken care of and happy. We never had a bad meal and there are many dining options, keep in mind dinner reservations are required for some restaurants. We stayed in B block with a great ocean view. The rooms are dated but extremely clean and spacious - this was not an issue for us as everything else far surpassed our expectations. There are many watersports included, and we were never bored. We went on a couple of excursions and always felt safe. The spa was incredible and we highly recommend a massage in one of the secluded bungalows. The mineral pool was relaxing and a good place to enjoy a fresh juice from the juice bar. The beach is private and there are a couple of vendors that are set-up daily, but they never harassed anyone as far as we could tell. We did a private dinner in the wedding gazebo which was a great expletive but this area is in the heart of lush plants and trees so the bugs do come out at night. We would choose a dinner on the beach next time. Tipping truly isn't allowed and they do not want guests to feel obligated or that service will be compromised if you don't tip, but on our last day we discreetly slipped some tips to those who went above and beyond. There is a pond where you can find turtles, birds, and other wildlife. Be sure to take some bread to feed them. There is a blind bird who lives at the pond. If you feed him please extend it to his mouth or he won't be able to find it. There is not one thing we can complain about with this resort, not even the out dated rooms which was something I thought would be. I'm glad I didnt let that prevent us from choosing Couples Sans Souci. We will return to this resort without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our fourth stay and the best to date. All the staff are amazing, they make us feel like family. We had the pleasure of watching the staff soccer tournament which was amazing. The Dive team are special, I did my advanced open water with Patrick and Leon and they made it so much fun. Every time I dive with these guy's I feel more confident and they help me become a better diver.
The resort grounds are a lush tropical paradise with amazing views and wildlife everywhere.
Rooms are old but very clean and well kept, adds to the charm of the place.
The resort was at full capacity but you would not even know it.
Food and drink was excellent as always.
We did get worried when we saw negative reviews just after Hurricane Sandy but these were unfounded - we think the staff and resort management try to improve all the time.
Thanks for welcoming us home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed from May 6 to May 13 and EVERYDAY was PERFECT! The people, the beach, the food, the drinks, the rooms, the service, the activities, the scenery, the weather....I could go on forever.
This was our first trip and we went back and forth for months trying to decide where to go and our friends mentioned Sans Souci. They promise we would not be disappointed and guaranteed we would be hooked going forward. They were 110% right! We already can't wait to return.
This is a very special place almost magical. There were so many times my husband and I just stood/sat/laid there not even saying a word because we were so mesmerized by our surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.