We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite Resorts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our favourite Resorts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been to this resort 8 times. We have never been disappointed. The staff are great, the food is fantastic. There is always a great salad bar which would suffice on its own. We like to dive and although these aren't great dive sites, the dive teams have always been good. Couples could invest in a new dive boat. We have stayed in both the beachfront suites and the older veranda suites. We actually prefer the older veranda suites. They are more spacious and often have 2 bathrooms and a walk-in shower. Lots of room to spread out. The balconys are large and great when its raining. The grounds are beautiful. Entertainment has always been good. We never hesitate to return to this resort.

Room Tip: Prefer the veranda suites or a penthouse. If you don't like your room, management have always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    498
    139
    56
    37
See reviews for
26
2,165
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hatley, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Sans Souci from April 15-18. Our trip was cut short due to having to go to a different resort for a wedding. From the minute we left, we missed everything about Couples. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and taken care of from the minute you find the Couples lounge at the airport. The resort was full on these dates but never crowded- very romantic but yet if you were looking for people to chat with, they were there too. The couples we did run into were friendly and of all ages. The food was great, even the buffet-- good luck picking one dessert, they were delectable! We stayed in G9 which was beautiful with a huge balcony. The only thing at this resort that could possibly be a downfall were all the stairs. We loved the layout (we are in our late 20's)- while exploring the resort you never knew if you were going to run into a secluded hot tub or hammock, it was just whimsical. The drinks at the beach bar were always tasty and the bartenders did a great job helping you pick what to try next. Top shelf alcohol and not watered down like other places we have stayed. I would never stay at any resort besides a Couples in Jamaica- it's a totally different vacation at Couples. We are already planning our next trip and want to try out Swept Away but it's going to be hard not to return to San Souci.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at CSS April14-21st with another couple. We stayed in a beachfront suite in the B block on the 3rd floor and had an amazing view! The food was amazing especially at Cassanova and Bella Vista. The lunch time buffet always had a great selection. Room service was great especially the nachos. The grounds at this resort is incredible, loved the hot tub surrounded by greenery. The staff were amazing. They were so friendly and always had a smile! Two lady bartenders Q and Jhanel were awesome! Q with her spicy bloody Marys and Jhanel mixing my vodka cran and ginger ale! We had a wedding at another resort and the salon opened an hour early just to accommodate us! This went above and beyond and I want to thank the two ladies who did hair and makeup that day!!! We will definitely be returning! Thanks CSS for an incredible vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our second trip to Couples Sans Souci: an all-inclusive resort on the north shore of Jamaica. To set some context to this review, my wife and I are in our late 50's, have seen a good chunk of the world, and can pretty much go wherever we want but we tend to choose what we perceive to be good value. We will be back for a 3rd trip and probably a lot more. This property is very interesting in that it never seems crowded even though it was sold out for the week - there are never any issues with getting loungers on the beach (or pools) or getting a table at the restaurants and we never waited for drinks at the bars. The property is just beautiful. The people working there are very friendly and delightful to be around. The age ranges of the guests are from the 20s to 70s - very nice mix of ages. We had a suite in G-block with a beautiful view overlooking the ocean. The suite was huge with a very large lanai, separate living room, huge bathroom with double sinks, and walk in shower, and a lot of closet space. There were two flat screen TVs. The decor is a little dated. If you insist on acres of marble and granite then you should look elsewhere. There are a few step at this resort - about 100 between the beach and G-block but there are also suites at beach level.

There are 3 restaurants and the the presentation, variety, and taste are top notch. The waiters and waitresses are very well trained and delightful. The desserts are first rate. The room service was always on time - we ordered "pre-breakfast" (coffee and fruit) a couple of times. The bars will make you pretty much any drink you can imagine. There are house wines included but if you want something a bit better they have a wine list at an additional cost. We didn't have any of the additional cost wines. The house red was so-so but the house white was good.

There are variety of water sports included as well as several excursions. If you are a diver, you can dive every day. They have several Hobie Cats for sailors as well as wind surfers, paddle boards, etc.They have a very good spa. My wife and I had a couples massage and she went back for 2 other massages and a facial and was very pleased. Tipping at the spa is the only allowable tipping on the property.

This is a very relaxing and interesting place. It is an older resort with a lot of character. There is a lot of variety in the suites as opposed to identical "hotel rooms". There are "hidden" hot tubs and grottoes and lots of places to explore. There is a separate au-naturel beach and pool.

If you read the other reviews you will see a small number of bad reviews. I read most of the bad reviews and you can ignore them all. The only negative aspect is that it is a bit of a trek from the airport - about 90 minutes. However, the Couples lounge at the airport will send you on your way with a Red Stripe beer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to Couples for our honeymoon. It could not have been a better experience. The resort is beautiful. It is very secluded so there is no one bothering you all day to buy item and you do not have to worry about other resorts. The best part about the resort is the staff. They were always friendly and we looked forward to seeing them everyday, Saneta and Sasha were great entertainment coordinators and all of the bar staff at the beach grill were amazing. We cannot wait to return to the resort

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Each morning greeted us with the sun and the surf sure, but the smiles of the staff would lift our spirits the most. And not just the folks tending to the culinary delights in the restaurants or the makers of merriment in the beachside bar, but everywhere. Drivers that seemed to find us every time we wanted a trip up the hill, folks in the gift shop, the wedding planners, the staff tending to the rooms and turning down our bed each evening in interesting florally decorated ways, even the accounting staff dealing with a confused and overbearing customer, always they warm you with smiles. All the little things that Couples gets right and makes this the incredible destination that it is all comes down to the incredible people who know that the smiles they give make you smile all that much more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nothing negative to say about this awesome resort.
Food,drinks ,staff,other guests were all wonderful.
Stayed in B10 which was perfect for us.,close to everything.
Special thanks to Nurse Gayle and Alicia at reception,.Loved it all,can;t wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.