We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for better ! We Willl be Back !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Save Saved
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Ocho Rios
COLUMBIA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for better ! We Willl be Back !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the time we arrived at the resort to the time we left it was perfect ! Everyone on staff were very attentive to our every need and want, it was two months after our wedding and a delayed honeymoon but the staff still made sure that we received a bottle of champagne and a nice platter as a congratulations. Bryan at the beach bar was incredible, he remembered us from the first time we walked to the bar, his demeanor and love of his job make him a true compliment to the staff. We had decided to get a massage and after spending the time with Ruth and Karrie Ann we decided to 3 days later go back for the hot stone massage, again it was excellent. Overall this is the perfect location for anyone that wants to relax and have no children running around, the views of the ocean and mountains just puts you in the perfect state of island mind. Thank you to all the staff for the wonderful events, it gace us many incredible memories and convinced us that we will be back next year !
The only one small downfall was poor internet signal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,681
    471
    132
    55
    36
See reviews for
24
2048
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our 21st trip to Jamaica and our first stay at CSS. A very beautiful resort in and of itself, but it was the staff who made our stay so special. Everyone we met----from reception to groundskeepers to maintenance to food service to bar staff to housekeepers to watersports---all treated us with so much kindness and respect---and big smiles! Upon arrival, my husband needed distilled water for a medical device and it was procured immediately. Our room was always clean and the view from the top of the cliff was spectacular! Likewise, the grounds and common areas were always immaculate. We were lucky to be staying at the resort during the annual in-house, departmental football (soccer) tournament. What a blast to watch! Already talking about our next visit "home"!

Room Tip: Depends upon whether or not you are willing and able to climb lots of stairs. We are, and we greatly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all Let me start by saying, I would give CSS an excellent review if it weren't for a few hiccups! My husband and I had a beautiful wedding there over-looking the water. We have wonderful memories from that day!.
The grounds are beautiful, our room was the BEST in the house. It was a perfect location to the hammocks, bars, beach, and dining.....we stayed in D7!! We stayed for 10 days and for the most part had a good time. I do think the resort needs more lively entertainment like Couples Negril has. The entertainment is a bit Cabaret.

Our second day at the resort, we walked into our room ( while the housekeeper was still cleaning )and our bags were unzipped. She was rummaging through our luggage while we went to lunch. Yes, the resort tells you to put valuables in the safe, but unfortunately my husband forgot to put his watch and 2 diamond bracelets in the safe ( one of which was the first piece of jewelry I'd ever given him). We did not discover the thievery until after she left the room. We called security and they proceeded to do an investigation. They did not compensate us with anything but a free night on our NEXT trip to CSS and the housekeeper was not reprimanded bc we did not catch her in the act.

On another occasion, my husband and I were sleeping and there was a knock on the door. I took too long to answer obviously because two men proceeded to enter the room and when they saw that the room was occupied, they said that the SILENT fire alarm went off and they were checking on us. Thank GOD there wasn't a fire because we would have burned in our sleep with that loud SILENT fire alarm...lol I called the front desk and the attendant confirmed that there is no such thing as a silent fire alarm on that resort. The men were probably entering to steal something.

Not to be such a Debbie Downer, but it did put a damper on the trip. So, I suggest you put the do not disturb sign on the door at ALL times and call when you need a linen change so you will be present when a stranger is in the room.

The kicker is.......I will return bc that is where I made my life partner and I had so many other good memories there. Other than the stealing, the service was excellent and food was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are investigating this review in detail and have of course be asked TripAdvisor to remove it immediately. We have not been able to identify a single shred of truth in the review and it is truly unfortunate that anyone would use a community forum like this for their own purposes.

The facts are as follows:

1. None of our wedding couples from last May stayed in the room that was refernced in the review.
2. We have no Loss or Theft report even remotely matching the review’s assertions.
3. We have no report of security officers ever entering a guest room without permission, nor are they equipped with the keys to do so.
4. We do not issue complimentary return stay certificates to compensate for lost items, nor did we issue a return stay certificate to anyone from South Carolina during that period.

Couples Sans Souci is a small, intimate resort – things of this nature cannot occur without coming to the attention of either myself or our General Manager. We are more than ready to accept responsibillity for shortcomings but we cannot do so in this instance. The events as described in this review simply did not occur and I’m sure that you can see how out of place it looks in the context of the many positive reviews from genuine guests.

Regards,
Nicholas Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We simply have don't have any negative remark because it simply couldn't be better! The food and beverages were delicious, the rooms were spacious and having good beds, the people who work in the hotel are very kind and helpfull and we could do a lot of activities all inclusive such as beginners course of diving (with with dive in open see) water ski, snorkeling, catamaran (thank you Christopher for your explanation and assistance) and all other kind of boats, even a trip do the waterfalls and a shopping trip to Ocho Rios!

Room Tip: When you choose the one bedroom beachfront suite you are near to everthing and you have a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I have been to CSS three times and consider this resort and JA., our home away from home. It never disappoints! We were there the first week of April, it is the first time we've been to JA during this time and I must say our only complaint is that it was hot! The resort is well kept, intimate, and romatic... The staff is so happy to go above and beyond for all their guests. We stayed in room B12, at first I was disappointed we were on the ground level. But, it actually worked out to our benefit because we had quick access to the beach and main pool. Not to mention we had the most amazing view of the beach! The food was delicious and because I am five month pregnant I couldn’t partake in the drinking but was not disappointed with my specially made non-alcoholic concoctions! The bartenders were all so accommodating!
If your looking for delicous food, great service, a beach and or pool, CSS is for you! We'll be going "home," again for sure!

Room Tip: "B," block is closest to the Au Natural beach, if your interested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is our second trip to CSS. Resort is beautiful. Full of lush foliage, great views from the cliffs and beautiful secluded beaches. Friendly staff that provides great service. Beach view rooms are a little out dated, but comfortable. Food was excellent. We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Couples San Souci the 1st week of April. We are no strangers to Jamaica this being our 6th trip to the island but this resort has set the bar so high we can't imagine how it could get any better. We were in room B26 and had the most incredible view and were close to 2 restaurants, 2 bars and the beach and pool. The room was large and clean and had a real British plantation feel. This is a smaller older hotel but has charm and beauty everywhere. The food was the best we have had in Jamaica better than the cruises I've been on.
The staff were so friendly, helpful and polite. The entertainment was excellent. If you want a laid back romantic holiday in paradise this is definately the place. We can't wait to return and are already planning for next year. Susan R. Hamilton, Canada

Room Tip: Rooms in building B on the third floor have great ocean views. Building A is the same but some said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.