We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute wonderful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolute wonderful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just got back from our third year in a row to this beautiful resort. We love the smaller resort with beautiful gardens, and hidden paths and unique little areas around the resort. The staff are excellent and go out of their way to make your stay pleasureable. There are lots of water sports and actiivities to do or just do nothing but relax. No pressure. All the restaurants are fantastic and the food and beverages are excellent with great variety and plenty of Jamaican foods, seafood or whatever you desire. There are 2 beaches and many pools and we go to all of them. The gala night is a spectular event and the beach night is also excellent with food so good. The resort can be a bit challenging to get around for someone with problems climbing stairs but for us it is a great way to stay in shape with all the great food we eat there. They make you feel very welcome and offer return dinners for repeat guests which is also very good. Great to have a bar in our room and sit on our balcony and watch the waves roll in while relaxing at the end of our day. We are going to be returning again. Love it there! The rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable and spacious.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on upper level just for the extra good views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 6roses18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give Couples Sans Souci such an incredible review. We're looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Nicholas Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room: G block was quiet, not incredibly comfortable, but adequate. Farthest from beaches/retaurants. Nice big balcony with chaise lounge. Huge shower. Beware, there are no designated non-smoking rooms.
Food: Casanova was delicious. Make reservations there. Wasn't impressed with the Tuesday Beach Buffet. Only one restaurant option for breakfast, and it was also buffet.
Beach: Hard to beat our "home" beach in Miami, but we really enjoyed the company and laid back style of the au naturale beach.
Activities: seemed to be hit or miss... mostly miss. Tennis courts closed, low wind for sailing, can't borrow snorkeling equipment to paddle off the beach. Wish we had seen the bikes sooner in our trip!
Probably wouldn't go back, not because of the resort. The staff was incredibly friendly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at Couples Sans Souci although we were disappointed that you did not seem to enjoy your stay as much as some of our other recent guests.

We are currently reviewing the dining options for our theme party nights - at the moment we offer room service in addition to the Beach Party or Gala, we are considering adding another option but are still in the process of finalizing those plans. It is purely in the interest of safety that we do not offer snorkeling within our cove but we apologize if that was not clearly conveyed to you. Your assertion that the tennis courts were closed was curious since our courts are open 24 hours per day, 7 days a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We researched the hotel through tripadvisor and it lived up to all the reviews - we will be returning next year. We have been to Couples Tower Isle & Negril and this surpasses them. We had an oceanview one bedroomed suite with a huge balcony and lounge in G Block which was lovely and quiet with a fantastic view, the only downside was all the steps to climb around the property - we counted over 150 from the beach to our room! Needless to say we didn't go to the gym for the fortnight we were there. Fantastic food, the bedroom was a little tired but was kept spotlessly clean, the public areas were comfortable and clean and without exception all the staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The gala night buffet offered a huge choice of food, and the beach party also offered a good choice, but beware, if you choose a table at the edge of the beach you spend the evening counting the waves and lifting your feet up to avoid wet shoes!! If you are looking for a busy holiday with plenty of nightlife then this is probably not for you. If you want a relaxing traditional carribbean beach holiday then look no further - the number of repeat guests speaks volumes. Yes, the property is a little tired in places but is well maintained and the staff clearly enjoy working there and take pride in the hotel. Look out for the family of cats who frequent Palazzina at mealtimes. To all the staff - thank you for a truly enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: A or B Block are convenient for both beaches, beach grill and main restaurant, however they are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELPHI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Couples Sans Souci for a relaxing, no need to leave, vacation. That is exactly what we got. If you are looking for a quiet, smaller, resort to love this is it.
The only problem we had was on check in they did not give us the room that we had booked and paid for. To their defense they tried to redeem themselves by giving us a Spa credit. We were not happy about that and spent the night in the replacement downgraded room, and we were transferred to the correct grade of room the next day.
The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Since the resort is smaller the personal service was great and they call you by name after a couple of visits to the same area.
The beach is very accessible. Since the resort is smaller it is never difficult to find a chair on the beach, which is clean and well kept.
The food is very good, there is enough choices, but not too many.
The resort is not a modern box, sterile facility, without character. This place has it all it has a garden almost jungle feel in the upper part of the resort, and then you go down to beach area where there are enough trees for some shade when needed.
We did not mind all the steps, there are quite a few but they are worth the traverse.
Great place, watch that you get what you pay for from the check in staff, but after that GREAT we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Building A and B are down by the beach and are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First visit here and will be returning will a party of 6 next year
The food is excellent the Friday night on the green with all the foods of the world was very good my wife has a gluten free diet and the cattering staff went out of their way to help her.
We had a room on the ground floor approx 100 yrds from the sea really good there are variuos pools hidden in the hill side and although there is some step climb both the Ballon bar and the Italian resturant at the top are both well worth it.
There is a free bus into town should anyone wish to shop or do your own thing we have already split our 2 weeks between Sans Souci and another place but wished we hadnt still there will be next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We returned to our favorite Couples resort on 3/2 to 3/9, Although the weather didn't cooperate, we had a great time. We stayed in G block this time with a huge balcony and a fantastic view of the Caribbean. The last time we were here, 11/11, the food was not up to par. Well, let me tell you, our dinners were quite delicious. Lamb, lobster, beef, whatever we had we enjoyed immensely. The grounds were as beautiful as ever. The employees are hard working and will do practically anything you ask of them. The only reason I didn't give a 5 star was the rooms still need some updating. We will definitely return as often as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sun-N-Fun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My spouse and I spent one week at this great resort. Excellent location, 1 1/2 Hour ride from Montego airport. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were efficient and courteous at all times. The two beaches were very clean and fun to be at. The three restaurants served quality food. This was our third trip to Jamaica and our first at this resort. Entertainment was fun every night. We will definitely book next year at this resort.

Room Tip: You have two location choices, beachfront where all the amenities are, or ocean view where we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 400Lou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 991 reviews
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#12 of 87 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,721 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing