We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time at Sans Souci” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Sans Souci to your Saves list
Couples Sans Souci
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Time at Sans Souci”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

WOW! We cannot wait to go back! The property is spacious yet quaint. The rooms were beautiful, clean & relaxing with magnificant views! Even though we went during their busiest season, we never felt overcrowded. The staff were ALL so accomodating, friendly,& professional. The restaurants were amazing!! Food..unbelievable "yummy" We loved the steps and the layout of the whole property and with all we ate and drank we definately appreciated and used the layout for exercise! The entertainment at night was so much fun! We just can't wait to go again! One of the BEST vacays we've ever had! Thanks COUPLES SANS SOUCI!! you made it hard to come back home! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,922
    546
    151
    60
    40
See reviews for
26
2,362
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Couples San Souci-Jamaica

Report

So the main questions is would we stay here again. The answer is doubtful. For the cost of the stay we could easily stay at other nicer facilities and for less money.

Lets start off with the good news.
· The facility grounds are clean and pretty with nice unusual vegetation.
· The grounds have several pools and cater to the “green” guests with a mineral pool and a mineral hot tub.
· The catering staff are very friendly, pleasant-smiling and often singing.
· The food is good with acceptable changes in menu choices.
· The pickup of guests at the airport was convenient and easily accessible.
· The general activities are free
· Good ocean chairs.
· The beach was pleasant though there were areas with sea grass I the swimming area.

Now for the bad news.

· Prior to arrival we had informed our travel agent that we desired ocean level and ocean view rooms. We booked two rooms for 2 couples on the same bill. On arrival at 4 pm we were informed that we had two rooms in separate buildings and that the ocean level rooms were extra change and no available. We complained that the two rooms were not adjacent and were informed they would try to make the accommodation the next day. My wife and my room were not yet ready but they did take our bags to the room. Our friend’s room was ready but they had to get their own bags.
· We asked about eating given our late arrival and were told we should go down to the beach level restaurant. On arrival this restaurant was closed and we had to walk all the way to back up to our rooms and were told we would have to order room service as no restaurants were open.
· The rooms are old and look it. Painted hinges on doors and cabinets show evidence of poor maintenance.
· The toilet in one bath clogged twice. The door to the closet fell off several times.
· There is no food available at the bars.
· The facility is understaffed. Some busy bars had but one bartender.
· The restaurants close from 5-6:30 pm with no food availability.
· There are many steps to get anywhere on the grounds. The steps are not evenly spaced and with different rise dimensions creating a trip hazards. This is not a good facility for those with walking issues.
· The restaurants require reservations (all but the beach grill). The finest restaurant in the Casanova. This restaurant is located above a pool area (not used) and nightly a band plays starting at about 8:30 – 9 am. And continues to 11 pm. It is so loud one has to yell to has a conversation when eating.
· Reservations were difficult to make before 9 PM (we could never obtain one before this time).
· The bars ran out of bananas on several occasions and could not make Mojitos due to a lack of mint. No excuse for this.
· Given the late seating some restaurants did not have some entrees available. Again no excuse.
· Check out time was 11 am. If you desired a later check out, even with prior notice, it would cost $100.

Overall the service was not great as judged against the price. We were expecting more. While those who have never stayed elsewhere this facility may get good reviews. However, having stayed in other facilities I found this wanting.

Room Tip: Not advisable for those with walking difficulties. Try ocean level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Couples Sans Souci, but we were disappointed that you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us.

While we do try to accommodate guests who request nearby room assignments, the nature of our business does make this difficult particularly during the peak months. Of course, room categories purchased will normally dictate proximity to the beach. We certainly apologize for your room not being ready upon your arrival as this is not our standard for 4pm arrivals.

It is unfortunate that your experience with us was not what you anticipated but we will continue to work towards providing the best vacations in the Caribbean.

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were five couples ranging from ages 30-42 who vacationed the week of Jan. 28. I think I can speak for all of us when I say we had an AMAZING time!!! The Couples lounge at the airport upon arrival was a nice touch...check in was quick and the room was nice and spacious. We were all located in the B building, which was right in the centre of the action! We had an ocean view (which we enjoyed while having breakfast on our balcony, and yes, I do recommend trying room service at least once during your stay!), we were steps away from the beach, the pool, the buffet restaurant (forgot the name!), the grill and the pond. The mineral pool and hot tub (which were awesome!) were located up on the other side which gave us an opportunity to climb some stairs, burn a few extra calories and take in the breathtaking views and luscious landscape! If you wanted peace and quiet that was the place to go! We took part in many of the activities available (bingo, fishing derby at the pond, battle of the sexes, beach volleyball and more), as well as the water sports and nightly entertainment. The staff was great everywhere!

I feel as I could go on and on as there's so much more to mention but to summarize it all:

AWESOME staff+ GREAT food +BEAUTIFUL resort = PERFECT vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We vacationed Feb 4th -11th 2013. As others noted the resort is slightly dated, but clean and the food is great. The service is exceptional. Room service is bang on. We ordered breakfast twice at specific times (they have 15 minute increments) if your time was 7:15-7:30 at 7:15 they were knocking on your door. Extremely prompt. The glass bottom boat was fun.
It is hilly, and there are LOTS of steps so if this is not your thing..you may not enjoy the treks up and down. Our room was in section B and was a perfect location for us. Right near everything.
If we had a complaint it would be that we had to get up at 7am to "reserve" a beach chair. At such a small resort I don't think that this should be necessary and that having more chairs available on the beach would be handy. Other than that, no complaints. If you want a nice, laid back, peaceful time. Head to CSS.

Room Tip: I would suggest A or B near the beach, pool and Palazina restaurants. Not so much climbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited Sans Souci again the week of Jan 19-26. Once again a wonderful vacation made possible by the location, staff and good weather. Special shout out to the the Water Sports guys. Amalici, Derron and Christopher made everyday special. My husband took the Scuba Certification course with Patrick and was very Happy with his Professional training. All meals were fantastic and we tried room service this year with no problems. A minor change to the mini bar refill but no big deal. We ordered when we returned from our beach day and it was delivered while we were getting ready for dinner.It was nice catching up with Albert and enjoying his excellent service at Cassanova and our first night there we were well taken care of by Keston. The breakfast buffet was excellent and it was a pleasure to see Vanja's smiling face with my first cup of coffee.
We hope to be back again in 2014 but I see Couples has purchased a property in the Barbados which I may want to take a look at.
Thanks again everyone at our Couples Sans Souci Home for making our week so special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort for his birthday celebration and it was more than we expected. We got an ocean view room with a jacuzzi and it was nice though you could see obvious signs of wear and tear. We loved the entire property despite its hilly terrain. lots of private spots and cool areas.

Check-in: this was not long and we were able to go have lunch and drinks until the room was ready as we arrived earlier than regular check-in time.

Room Service: not sure whether it took long or not because we really weren't checking the time. If you're on vacation time is not an issue. the food was good and we enjoyed every bit of it.

Food and beverage: the jerk chicken tasted like jerk chicken though I wasn't a big fan of the cole slaw at the grill. Dinner was great. we loved the variety of appetizer options, entree and desserts and all were quite tasty; no complains here. The wine wasn't to die for but there are many other options to enjoy. They don't have everything there but this is not home it's a hotel so nothing to whine about.

Entertainment: Didn't really get to enjoy much of the entertainment but the sing along at the piano bar was nice.

Pool/Beach/Activities: The beach and water sports were great. We liked that there were great options here that were available at no extra cost. The beach was also great and relaxing. We enjoyed the pool more and the jacuzzi was our favourite spot. The bar by the gym is absolutely great though I didn't care much for the bartender there. She was not as friendly to me as she was to others who who were obviously from the US by there accent etc. This was most noticeable to me especially since I also work in the hotel industry. The gym was good as well but that was more an attraction to my bf. The nude beach was also a great option for those who are comfortable being nude.

Overall we enjoyed it very much and I will go back again.

Room Tip: A higher floor room with a nice view is great but going on vacation is not really about spending all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I went here for our 20th wedding anniversary.
We booked a Garden view room. Upon arrival we were quickly brought to our room.
Unfortunately we could smell a bit of cigarette smoke. I don’t blame the hotel for this. People are going to smoke even though they are not supposed to and I’m sure the hotel does its best to eliminate the smell.
We went back to the front desk to see about changing rooms. All the Garden View rooms were full. So I asked about an upgrade, and was prepared to pay.
During the conversation the fact that we were there for our anniversary came up.
The reservationist walked away to talk with someone. When she returned she told me they were going to upgrade us to an ocean front suite at no charge.
Fantastic. Couldn’t thank them enough.
Trip was all perfect the rest of the time.
Yes there are some steps, but all the secluded spots make it worth the walk.
The resort itself was very nice. Quiet, relaxing, good food, great beaches.
Never a problem getting drinks or something to eat.
I would highly recommend this resort to couples looking for a vacation away from the giant resorts. I think in 90% of our photos we are the only two on the beach or in the pool (up the steps). Checkout my pictures.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Sans Souci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.